top of page

The Inheritance by Samantha Hayes. Review


Book Description:


I thought he took my secret to the grave. But the truth can’t stay buried forever…


In the wake of my darling husband’s death, I am so lucky to have my three beautiful, grown-up daughters by my side at our holiday home in Scotland. We need some time together, to recover from the shock. But I also need to set some things straight about their beloved father…


I’ve always known this house was the perfect place to bury secrets – remote, isolated, surrounded by nothing but miles of dense forest.


But this time I’m not here to hide more of my lies. I’m here to expose one.


I promise everything I’ve ever done has been to protect my daughters. I just hope they understand that too…


By the end of the trip, nothing will ever be the same again. I knew revealing the truth about the inheritance would have consequences, but I could never have imagined we wouldn’t all survive it.


And now the truth is out, am I in danger too…?


A totally gripping psychological thriller from an Amazon No1. bestseller that will have your head spinning and your jaw on the floor with every twist. Fans of The Housemaid, Gone Girl and The Family Upstairs won’t be able to put this down!





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Inheritance' by Samantha Hayes.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Samantha Hayes, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 10th August 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Trapped Wife' and 'The Engagement' which I would highly recommend!!



This novel consists of a prologue, 54 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! I DID NOT EXPECT THOSE TWISTS!!! MIND BLOWN MUCH!!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense, lies, secrets and omg the twists!!! I DID NOT see any of them coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Samantha!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! The storyline is filled with shocks, suspense, regrets, lies, family, tension, deceit and family. It was intriguing to see the dynamics between the family members which were intricate and complex. Another gripping and addictive storyline from this fantastic author not to be missed!! A wild family drama reunion that will keep you on the edge of your seats!!! There were at least not one, not two but several explosive bombshells I did not see coming!!! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The storyline is scarily realistic and what happens in the book. Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!



I was completely invested in both the storyline and the characters. Each of the characters had their own unique personalities and I felt differently about each of them. I loved how Samantha ensures the reader sees what is going on and how the different characters are feeling through writing this fantastic book with multiple protagonist perspectives which were all weaved together perfectly. Samantha has excellent evocative writing skills that ensure that each of the characters come to life in front of your eyes and you feel like you can reach out and touch them. I had no idea who to trust and who were hiding secrets . There was definitely mixed feelings with some of them and some major shocks to be had!! Regardless of whether I loved them or hates them they all worked perfectly together to create an absolutely gripping and tension packed storyline!! If you want to know more you will just have to click the link below to get a copy!! All in all a great mix of characters that worked well with this storyline.


This is the EXACT reason that you are one of my favourite authors Samantha!! Bring on the next one!!! I cannot wait!!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of Samantha's 'Date Night' which promises to be another explosive page turner and one I am looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nerve wracking, compelling and unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!



389 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.75 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheInheritance @SamanthaHayes @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



























Author Bio:


Samantha Hayes grew up in a creative family where her love of writing began as a child. Samantha has written eight thrillers in total, including the bestselling Until You’re Mine. The Independent said “fantastically written and very tense” while Good Housekeeping said “Her believable psychological thrillers are completely gripping.” Samantha’s books are published in 22 languages at the last count.


When not writing, Samantha loves to cook, go to the gym, see friends and drink nice wine. She is also studying for a degree in psychotherapy. She has three grown-up children and lives in Warwickshire.



Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Samantha Hayes here: https://www.bookouture.com/samantha-hayes




Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page