top of page

'The In-Laws' by Laura Wolfe

Book Description


I peered over the ledge with my heart in my throat. A pop of color caught my eye – I would recognize that jacket anywhere. The body I knew so well lay still, torso twisted one way, head facing the other…


I’d planned this trip to the gorgeous, remote Michigan woodlands as a last-ditch attempt to help Pete and our families’ bond before the wedding of our dreams. Instead, it has turned into a nightmare that I can’t seem to wake up from. Anger, resentment, and heated arguments weren’t at all what Pete and I had imagined, even less so the horror of discovering a dead body…


Looking around the campsite at my terrified family and future in-laws, I realize that someone on this trip has been keeping secrets from me. What could be dangerous enough to kill for? But then again, I also have secrets of my own, something that if known, could be deadly. The only thing I know for certain is that the murderer is ruthless enough to do anything to keep their story hidden.


Who will be next to pay the ultimate price?


An utterly gripping psychological thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door, The Woman in the Window and Behind Closed Doors.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The In-Laws' by Laura Wolfe. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Laura Wolfe, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 23rd January 2023.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Best Friend's Lie' and 'We Live Next Door' which I highly recommend. 



I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A completely and utterly gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Marriage, and The Silent Patient.' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Laura and if this is half as good as 'Her Best Friend's Lie', 'The Girl Before Me' and 'We Live Next Door' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 34 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Michigan, USA 🇺🇸. 


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Abigail Cates, Liam and Darla Mitchell. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.

 


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back. 


Another huge success by Laura!!! This book had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx 1am, read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!! I loved that you got to meet such a a mix of personalities and so many suspects!!! It keeps you constantly guessing who did what!! It is filled with family, romance, lies, secrets, twists, turns and everything you could want from a psychological thriller along with some MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS which will leave you absolutely shocked!!! I haven't read a book with a storyline like this one and I loved the creepy atmosphere throughout the story and the fact that you jist can't trust any of the characters so your guessing and changing your mind constantly. I for one was NOT expecting that at all!!! I also loved how the book ended. This book would make a fantastic movie!! 


As previously mentioned there is such a large mix of characters which makes it a realistic residential setting. All the characters were strong and realistic as well as hiding their own secrets. I really can't say anything about them without giving anything away now that I know who did what but I didn't trust any of them  muchfrom the start and even less the more I read. This book is rammed with suspense and tension and will keep you biting your nails, on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding while your flipping the pages because you just cant stop.


I would love to see this turned into a movie and Laura I really hope you are working on your next psychological thriller at this moment because this book will go far!!! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on what promises to be a MASSIVE success!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Laura's 'We Live Next Door' which is just as addictive as this book and I would highly recommend reading it!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nail biting, unputdownable psychological thriller with twists you will not see coming!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Domestic Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 

 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Couple Next Door' ,'The Woman in the Window', 'Behind Closed Doors', Lisa Jewell, 'Gone Girl', 'The Silent Patient', 'The Marriage', Shari Lapena, Gillian Flynn and ANYONE AND EVERYONE LOOKING FOR AN EXPLOSIVE READ!!! 

 

302 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 


 



@TheInLaws @LauraWolfe @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Netgalley @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited 



  




Author Bio and Social Media


Laura Wolfe is an Amazon charts bestselling author who writes twisty, fast-paced psychological thrillers and suspense novels published by Bookouture. Her indie titles have also been shortlisted for multiple book awards. Laura is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found hanging out with her husband and two kids, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan


Get Laura's FREE short story (a mini psych thriller), The Perfect Escape: https://t.co/RTGEoz9VgY


Social Media Links




Twitter: https://twitter.com/LauraWolfeBooks




Purchase Link






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page