top of page

'The Houseshare' by Carla Kovach


Book Description


Behind closed doors is a secret someone is willing to kill for.


I walk into the bright, open living room of my new apartment, and I know this is the fresh start I’ve been dreaming about. As I double lock my pretty red door each night, I feel like I can finally be happy. I can finally be safe.


But when I’m woken one night by the sound of my neighbours arguing through the wall. I swear I hear one of them saying my name. Why would they be talking about me?


Michaela and Kirsty seem so nice, always stopping to chat when we pass in the hallway, and inviting me round for a glass of wine after work.


I know I’m being paranoid, but then my favourite hair clip goes missing and I start to feel like someone’s watching me.


Nobody was meant to know where I am. And I was careful. I did everything right. But I can’t help but fear my past has caught up with me and this time, I might not escape…


If you love gripping psychological thrillers like Gone Girl and Mark Edwards’s Here to Stay, you’ll be blown away by The Houseshare. Addictive, tense and with an ending you won’t see coming, you’ll be up all night turning pages


The Houseshare is a rework of To Let, which was previously published by the same author.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Houseshare' by Carla Kovach.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Carla Kovach, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th August 2022.


This is the eighth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Their Silent Graves', 'The Broken Ones', 'One Left Behind', 'Find Me', 'Her Dying Wish', 'One Girl Missing' and 'What She Did',which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'If you love gripping psychological thrillers like Gone Girl and Mark Edwards’s Here to Stay, you’ll be blown away by The Houseshare. Addictive, tense and with an ending you won’t see coming, you’ll be up all night turning pages.' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Carla and if this is half as good as 'One Left Behind', 'The Broken Ones', 'Their Silent Graves', 'Her Dying Wish', 'One Girl Missing', 'Find Me' and 'What She Did' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists a prologue, 49 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Birmingham, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the main protagonists are Libby Ricardo and an unknown narrator. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



WOW!! Where to even start?!? Firstly I must say yet again I was NOT disappointed by the very talented Carla Kovach !!! I started reading this book this morning and finished it in a day. MIND BLOWN!!!


This book is extremely well written as is every book I have read by Carla with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The blurb and cover work perfectly with the storyline. Every single time I told myself I'd finish the chapter and then put it down and every single time I was left with a sort of cliff hanger refusing to allow me to put it down. If your planning on reading this I would recommend clearing your schedule!!!


Don't even read the first page without clearing your schedules as this gripping psychological thriller will just drag you straight in!!!


Absolutely gripping storyline which I got completely sucked into. A great unputdownable page turner filled with suspense, friendship, twists, tension, mystery and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I absolutely loved the storyline, especially the shocking plots that I would never have seen coming! There's nothing worse than when you have worked everything out and your not even half way through a book so a massive well done for that!! I definitely did not even have the person involved in my suspect list AT ALL, wasn't even close to working out what was going on, soooo many red herrings. I haven't been that shocked in a book in a while so WELL DONE Carla! I don't want to say too much as I don't want to spoil it. I really could not compliment this book any more it is an absolutely gripping, addictive and shocking page turner.

Carla I hope your busy writing your next book ready to whisk me away again!!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this page turner developed into a movie as I can guarantee it will be a best seller!!!



The characters were all well rounded and realistic with their own personality traits, strengths and weaknesses. I must say my heart was in my throat in several occasions when it came to. Einstein (Libby's cat). I am always a huge lover of animals in books and although I probably shouldn't say as much but they tend to be my favourite characters 😂. Is it bad that if there is a risk between a human character and an animal I always worry more about the animal!!! However, that's not to say I didn't enjoy getting to know the humans too but I'm just a HUGE animal lover (comes with the territory of running an animal rescue and strangely enough in this case, a cat one!) The fact that one of the characters shares my name Kirsty does give extra points to the humans, plus the fact that we are both Welsh and she "lived" left than an hour away from me in the beautiful town of Tenby. I haven't said much about the characters as I don't want to give anything away but it definitely makes me want to avoid flats and house shares in the future!! Another fantastic mix of characters who worked perfectly well to bring this explosive page turner to life!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Carla Kovach for another absolutely fantastic success!! I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work!! I really would love to see your books on the big screen one day, I can guarantee they will be a success if they are even half as good as the books you write!!! THIS is EXACTLY why you are one of my favourite authors and here is to your next guaranteed success 🥂


Overall a page turning, epic psychological thriller that will keep you thinking about it long after you have finished. I would love to see this turned into a film.



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Crime Fiction, Noir Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, 'Here To Stay', 'The Wife Between Us, CL Taylor, Lisa Jewell and of course Carla Kovach and just anyone looking for an epic read with a twist. What are you waiting for?? Go grab your copy now!!!



328 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon, at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@CarlaKovach @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio


Carla started writing more seriously ten years ago after having flirted with musical theatre and occasional writing in her youth.



Since then she has written & produced several stage plays, has four self-published books, has acted in several independent films and is currently in the final stages of production of her feature horror film, Penny for the Guy.



She now writes full time as well as co-owning a film, photography & video production company located in the heart of Redditch town centre.




Social Media






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/carla-kovach






Purchase Links
























30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page