top of page

'The House Swap' by Jo Lovett

Updated: Apr 22, 2021

Title: The House Swap

Authour: Jo Lovett

Publication date: 19th April 2021


Description:


Island house off coast of Maine, with private beach, sea views and the occasional farmyard animal, seeks super swanky Central London penthouse overlooking Holland Park, complete with concierge service and spurned ex-lovers… When thirty-somethings Cassie and James find each other on a home swap website, it feels meant to be. City hotshot James needs a bolthole after a relationship goes sour and Cassie needs to leave the comfort of her little island to research her new book. Soon, James is living in Cassie’s cute but ramshackle beachside cottage, and Cassie’s living in James’s luxurious London apartment. It’s the perfect solution. Except James didn’t imagine he’d be sharing his home with eleven chickens and three alpacas, not to mention the unusually friendly neighbours, who seem to find any excuse to drop by. And Cassie is less than impressed when James’s ex-girlfriend turns up at his door, demanding to know where he’s gone. The more Cassie and James talk, the more the tension between them mounts. But as the insults fly so do the sparks, and when the time finally comes to swap back, Cassie and James find they aren’t quite ready to give each other up. But there’s more than just distance between them – and when Cassie makes a surprising discovery, the pair are forced to confront their feelings and decide what kind of life they really want. An utterly heart-warming love story that will make you laugh and cry, fans of The Flatshare, The Hating Game and movies like The Holiday will fall head over heels for The House Swap.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The House Swap' by Jo Lovett.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jo Lovett, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 19th April 2020.


This is the second book I have read by this author. The first book I read is called 'The First Time We Met' which I highly recommend!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its interesting title which reminded me of the film 'The Holiday' and its intriguing synopsis. I loved Jo Lovett's 'The First Time We Met' and am hoping this will be just as good. It also stated in the synopsis 'fans of The Flatshare, The Hating Game and movies like The Holiday will fall head over heels for The House Swap.' I am a huge fan of the movie 'The Holiday' so am looking forward to see if it loves up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 32 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧 and Maine, USA 🇺🇸. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are James and Cassie. The benefits of third person perspective especially with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well done Jo you have done it yet again!!! Absolutely fantastic and you are definitely my go to author for when I'm looking for an uplifting and heartwarming read!!!! I hope your busy working on your next success, cannot wait to see what you come up with next!!!!


This book is very smoothly written and very easy to read. The style kind of reminded me of Bridget Jones at times. Brilliant descriptions and captivating writing style which really had me hooked. The cover and blurb complimented the storyline well.


I absolutely LOVED this book. It was a very realistic storyline which absolutely captured my interest and heart and kept me sucked in until the end. It was an amazing and beautiful story of friendship, love, loss and a very true account of how complicated things can become when you fall in love with someone who wants the opposite of what you do !!! I loved the settings which fitted the plot perfectly. I was in complete breath stopping suspense on several occasions and many times I felt like screaming at James and Cassie. I loved how it ended, absolutely perfect! I also loved the city mouse and country mouse vibes. If you loved 'The Holiday' then what are you waiting for??? Grab your copy of 'The House Swap' now!!!!


I absolutely loved James and Cassie's down to earth and realistic characters. I could have strangled them both on a few occasions mind but their personalities were excellent and they will stick with me for a while. I also loved Dina, Laura, Anthony and Juliet who were both such fantastic characters and all made me laugh on several occasions, especially Anthony and Julie's big reveals. All of the characters had such amazing personalities and were larger than life, I would have loved to meet them in real life and of course I can't forget the alpacas and chickens!!!


This would make an absolutely fantastic movie and I am looking forward to reading more of Jo's books. A very talented author who is definitely on par with the likes of JoJo Moyes. Congratulations on yet another very successful novel!!


Overall a very easy to read, heart warming, cosy, page turning romance which will captivate your heart.


Genres covered in this novel include

Romance, Contemporary, Women's Fiction and Adult Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jojo Moyes, 'The Holoday' movie and Bridget Jones along with anyone looking for a heartworming cosy story.


337 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JoLovett @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Jo Lovett lives in London with her family. She worked in Corporate Tax before taking a longer-than-expected career break to have more-than-expected children (five). She started writing romantic comedy when she realised that she was regularly begging her oldest son to let her do his English homework but she wasn't actually that interested in haunted houses or Macbeth. Jo was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping/ Orion First Novel Competition 2018 and shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Award 2019. Her first novel, 'The First Time We Met', was published by Bookouture in November 2020 and her second, 'The House Swap', comes out in April 2021. When she can escape from her laundry mountain, she enjoys reading, tennis and wine. https://twitter.com/JoLovettWrites




Buy Links:






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page