top of page

'The House Sitter' by Ellery Kane

Updated: Jun 20, 2022


Title: The House Sitter

Author: Ellery Kane

Pub date: 14/06/22


Description: ‘You’re just the girl I’ve been looking for,’ Iris told me, her blue eyes sparkling, when she offered me the job as her live-in helper. Little did she know, I thought the exact same about her. And she was wrong to trust me... As I clean Iris’s large, old house in Pacific Heights, my boyfriend Seth works outside, tending to the lawn and fixing the broken gate. I can’t help but notice Iris’s steely eyes watching our every move. Does she know why we’re really here? Most days we live in perfect harmony, but today Iris is confused. She thinks we moved in uninvited. I pass her a tablet from the medicine cabinet, knowing she’ll soon calm down and remember how lucky she is to have found us. Later that night, the police arrive to find Iris’s perfect house turned upside down, the telephone lying on the floor, its cord severed. They walk through each room, calling out, but the house remains totally silent. You will think you know what happened that night, but when the police discover something unexpected hidden amongst the wreckage in Iris’s bedroom, you’ll find you don’t know a thing. This heart-stopping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Minka Kent and Lucinda Berry. As soon as you start reading The House Sitter, you’ll be hooked!


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The House Sitter' by Ellery A Kane.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ellery A Kane, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th June 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author I have previously read 'Watch Her Vanish' (book one in the series) and 'Her Perfect Bones' (book two in the series) and 'One Child Alive' (book three in the series) which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'This heart-stopping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Minka Kent and Lucinda Berry.' I am a huge fan of Mark Edwards so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Ellery and if this is half as good as 'Watch Her Vanish', 'Her Perfect Bones' and 'One Child Alive' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 43 chapters set over 2 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in San Francisco, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Iris Duncan, Officer Maureen Shaw and Lydia McKay. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Another very well written and gripping novel by Ellery Kane. The vivid descriptions fitted the settings perfectly. The cover and synopsis worked perfectly with the storyline.


The storyline itself was quite a unique one and filled with action, mystery, suspense crime and drama which kept me reading until late at night and on the edge of my seat. Ellery completely emerges the reader into the storyline. There were loads of red herrings throughout to keep the reader guessing. I never did guess who did what which is a huge achievement for any author for me as I have read so many crime novels it's getting harder and harder to surprise me. I had mixed feelings on how the book ended in regards to a certain character but I won't say more as not to spoil the book for future readers. I am also glad that the book was based on vulnerable people and how they can be easily targeted and hopefully it will help certain readers become more aware on the way they could possibly be targeted. I absolutely LOVED the twist which I was not expecting!! What a bombshell!! . The only other books I have read by Ellery are from her 'Rockwell and Decker' series (which I would highly recommend) so I wasn't sure how I felt about reading a standalone but well done Ellery you did yet another fantastic job and I can't wait for your next guaranteed success!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were all strong and realistic and I had mixed feelings on each of them. I was completely invested in each of them. It is so hard to say how I feel about them without giving too much away. I shall try my best though. I really liked a Irene and my heart really went out to her as I previously mentioned it is so easy for vulnerable people to be targeted. I absolutely loved Maureen and the fact that she took things into her own hands when she realised that her hands were tied by people above her in the police department. She trusted her instincts and I loved her even more for what she did at the end. Well done Maureen!!! I'm not sure how I felt about Lydia, at times I felt sorry for her because of the way Seth treated her but at others I couldn't stand her because of the way she spoke about Irene. I could not stand Seth and thought he was a nasty peace of work and I'm pleased with his outcome. I hope I have portrayed my feelings of the characters sufficiently enough without spoiling anything for future readers.


A huge congratulations to Ellery on yet another fantastic novel!!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall an action packed and suspense filmed psychological thriller that will keep you on edge and guessing throughout and then ends on an absolute bombshell which you'd never suspect!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Crime Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Minka Kent Lucinda Berry Melinda Leigh, Lisa Regan and Kendra Elliot


298 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ElleryAKane @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86






Author Bio:

Forensic psychologist by day, novelist by night, Ellery Kane has been writing--professionally and creatively--for as long as she can remember. Just like many of her main characters, Ellery loves to ask why, which is the reason she became a psychologist in the first place. Real life really is stranger than fiction, and Ellery's writing is often inspired by her day job. Evaluating violent criminals and treating trauma victims, she has gained a unique perspective on the past and its indelible influence on the individual. And she's heard her fair share of real life thrillers. Ellery lives in the San Francisco Bay Area of California, a picturesque setting that provides the backdrop for many of her novels. If you don't find Ellery interviewing murderers behind prison walls or pecking away at her latest novel, she is probably at the gym landing a solid jab-cross to a punching bag; riding bicycles with her special someone; or enjoying a movie the old-fashioned way--at the theater with popcorn and Milk Duds. Ellery was previously selected as one of ten semifinalists in the MasterClass James Patterson Co-Author Competition, and she recently signed a three book deal with Bookouture for her new Rockwell and Decker mystery thriller series. The first book is scheduled for release in 2020. If you'd like to receive a notification when new books are released, please sign up for Ellery's newsletter at ellerykane.com. Ellery also signs e-books on authorgraph.com. FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/TheLegacyBooks TWITTER: https://twitter.com/ElleryKane BOOKOUTURE EMAIL SIGN UP: https://www.bookouture.com/ellery-kane




Buy Link:






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page