top of page

The House Guest by Alison James. Review


Book Description:


The House Guest: A completely unputdownable psychological thriller with a shocking twist


She thinks she can steal my perfect life. But I know her secret


I open the creaking oak front door of my beautiful country house to see a woman with glossy red hair and flawless make up. She introduces herself as Alexis and tells me she’s a distant relative. My husband Hugh welcomes her in. Because everything has been so tense between us lately I feel I can’t say no…


We drink wine and Alexis shares the truth about her sad childhood. Her green eyes are mesmerising and I can see Hugh is being drawn in by her story. Then she asks for our help. I should feel sorry for her but I don’t trust her. There’s something about her perfect smile that makes my stomach flip. Before I can speak, Hugh invites her to stay. I’m suspicious. Why does he want her here?


I’ve never completely felt at home in this luxury world that’s so different to my old life. But Alexis seems made for it – swimming carefree in our outdoor pool and cosying up to Hugh. She’s pushing me out and making me feel like I’m stranger in my own home – in my own marriage. Did she plan this all along?


But nothing is as it seems. And Alexis has underestimated me. Because I’ve uncovered her secret. I’m not just going to let her steal the life I’ve worked so hard for. I’ll do whatever it takes to stop her…


An absolutely addictive and unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. For anyone who loves Ruth Ware, Freida McFadden and Claire McGowan.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The House Guest' by Alison James.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Alison James, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 1st November 2023.



This is the sixth book I have read by this author. I have previously read Alison's 'Her Sister's Child' , The Exile (with James Patterson), 'The New Couple', 'The Woman In Carriage Three' and 'The Guilty Wife' which I highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue, 39 chapters and an epilogue and is spread over 6 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS FAST PACED PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER!!!



WOW!!! If you are looking for a psychological thriller filled with twists then this is the book for you. It starts of as a slow burn and then builds up into a fast paced, intriguing, page turning psychological thriller that will have you hooked. I just could not put it down and ended up reading it in one sitting!! It is absolutely ram packed with secrets, lies, romance, deceit, twists and so much more. A HUGE WELL done to Alice on the plot which is absolutely unique as well as intriguing. I was able to picture everything perfectly thanks to Alice's vivid descriptions and evocative writing skills and she created the scenery perfectly. The fact this book is written from so many perspectives gives us a huge insight into what is going on but still doesn't give too much away to guess what is going on and what the truth is, which I was not expecting at all so a HUGE well done to Alison!! Alison's fantastic story telling ensures you are really sucked into the storyline from the start to the very end and I cannot wait to get stuck into more books written by this amazing author!!



Clear your schedules and get ready for a rollercoaster ride of drama, secrets and twists!!



The characters were well realistic, well defined and jumped out of the pages. Alison's descriptions really brought them to life. One of the things that shocked me the most is that I actually really didn't like the majority of them!!! Now when this normally happens I just cannot get into the book but Alison has managed to cram a fantastic book full of unlikeable characters while ensuring the reader still loves the storyline!!! It is very rare for me to find a book like that so yet again I have to say a huge well done to Alison!! There are typical stereotypes from airheads to country toffs and Alison's evocative descriptions bring each of them to life. I can't say much at all without ruining it for others but there was a great mix and every single one of them had a unique if unlikeable personality. Regardless of how I felt about them they were perfect characters for this fantastic page turner!!!


Well done Alison on another successful psychological thriller and here's to many more 🍷🍹 🥃!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Alison''s 'The Man She Married' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall a unique psychological thriller that will have you up until 2am finishing it!!!


315 pages


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheHouseGuest @AlisonJames @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited

















Author Bio:


Alison James was born in the Cotswolds but spent most of her formative years abroad. She studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after her two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, she worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.



Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Alison James here: 




Buy Link: 



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






--

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page