top of page

The Hotel by Emily Shiner. Review


Book Description:


As we welcome the Rowe family to our beautiful clifftop hotel, a shadow passes over my husband’s face. In that moment I see it: my husband is hiding a terrible secret. Has he put us all in danger?


Mark and I pride ourselves on giving visitors to our hotel, high on the rugged Maine cliffs with views of the ocean, a vacation they won’t forget. But the Rowes arestrangely over-familiar when they arrive with their teenage daughter. The wife puts a hand on Mark’s forearm and her husband meets my eyes with a knowing look as I hold my little son tight. They gush that they loved their previous stay here… But I’m certain I’ve never seen them before.


Mark reassures me that the Rowes are just being friendly. We have so many visitors, maybe we forgot meeting them. When I am locked in the master bedroom for over an hour, he later soothes my panic and says it was just an accident. But I know one of the Rowes was out in the hallway listening to me cry for help. I hear one of them whispering a lullaby to my baby on his monitor. I cannot trust these people.


But as the relentless icy rain gives way to the biggest blizzard of the season and we become cut off, I realize my son and I are trapped. Mark knows more about the Rowes than he’s letting on. I’ll do anything to protect my gorgeous baby boy. But how far will I have to go, to keep him safe?


The Hotel is a totally twisty locked room thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Fans of Shalini Boland, Freida McFadden and Jeneva Rose will be glued to the pages!







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Hotel' by Emily Shiner.


Read and reviewed for Bookouture, Bookouture Anonymous NetGalley, Emily Shiner and Bookouture Audiobooks.


Publication date 7th September 2023.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Caretaker', 'You Can't Hide', 'Her Husband's Secret's, 'I'm Following You' and 'The Wife In The Photo' and I would highly recommend each and every one of them!!



This novel consists of a prologue and 52 chapters.. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




Emily does it yet again!! I genuinely don't think she can make a book that I don't love!! Love, love, loved this book!!!! Absolutely gripping edge of your seat page turner!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating and addictive from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of lies, secrets, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not stop reading this absolutely addictive book from the first word to the last. Emily's extremely talented and evocative skills really brought the book to life and I was completely absorbed throughout. I lost count of the amount of times I promised myself one more chapter but that one finished in a way I just HAD to know what would happen next so I said just more and this went on and on until I ended up finishing it in one sitting!!! It was absolutely ram packed with mystery, secrets, deceit, hidden agendas, turns, mind blowing explosive twists, tension, suspense, and absolutely everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. The location and atmosphere was absolutely perfect for this gripping thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I absolutely love Emily's books and am guaranteed to be shocked every time I pick one up which is not an easy feat considering how many books I read a year so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Emily!!! One of the things I love about her books is that they can also be quite thought provoking and always end with MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS that I absolutely love and never do see coming. Emily's evocative writing drags you deep into the storyline from the first sentence to the very last and will keep you up until the very last word! THAT ladies and gentleman is a true sign of an absolute must read. I absolutely loved the ending which was definitely an unexpected twist which is just one of the reasons I love Emily's books, she manages to get me every single time!! I've said it before about Emily's books and I shall say it again!! I would absolutely LOVE to see this turned into a movie and would wait up all night to get tickets to watch it!!


I hope your busy writing your next book Emily as I just cannot wait to see what bombshell twist and explosive storyline you have up your sleeve for us next!!!!



Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. I love the fact that we got to see what was happening from the points of view from not just the main protagonist Abi but also from her husband Mark along with the guests who stay at their hotel, Lottie (the Mum) and Chelsea (Lottie's daughter). Emily weaves all of the chapters together with perfect timing until it all comes together with an explosive BANG!! It also explains absolutely everything which leaves no question unanswered at the end which is a pet hate of mine!! This also really helps the reader understand them more making them more realistic to the reader. Although I found most of the characters unlikeable I was still invested in them and Emily's evocative descriptions really makes them jump out of the book and come to life in front of the readers eyes. All of the characters were multi layered with complex personalities which definitely made them all the more interesting to read about!!! Unfortunately, I really can not say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I had no idea who to trust, what was really going on or where it was all leading which just goes to show what a talented author Emily is and I cannot wait to get hooked into her next psychological thriller which is guaranteed to be another page turner!! Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!




Congratulations Emily on yet ANOTHER huge success. This is why you are in my favourite 5 authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first two chapter of Emily's 'The Wife In The Photo' which is just as addictive as this book and another amazing book by Emily that I would highly recommend!!



Overall an absolutely unputdownable, action packed, intriguing psychological thriller that will keep you up at night on the edge of your seat with a pounding heart!!



303 pages


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and 8.10 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheHotel @EmilyShiner @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @BookoutureBooks @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Netgalley @KindleUnlimited











Author Bio:


Emily Shiner always dreamed of becoming an author. After spending years devouring stacks of thrillers, she decided to try her hand at writing them herself. Now she gets to live out her dream of writing novels and sharing her stories with people around the world. She lives in the Appalachian Mountains and loves hiking with her husband, daughter, and their two dogs.





Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Emily Shiner here: https://bookouture.com/subscribe/emily-shiner/



Buy Link:



Audio:





You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page