top of page

'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station' by Tilly Tennant


Author: Tilly Tennant


Book: The Hotel at Honeymoon Station


Publication Day: June 18th 2021


Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟



Description:


Run away to the Dorset countryside, to the sleepy village of Honeymoon, where rose-adorned thatched cottages soak up the sunlight and Emma is risking everything for a brave new start on life and love…


When Emma’s useless fiancé tells her a lie she cannot forgive, she decides enough is enough. She leaves him, quits her dead-end job and travels hundreds of miles away to the ancient village of Honeymoon in the Dorset countryside, to help her friend Tia turn the old train station into a boutique hotel.


Tia has told Emma that it will be a project, but when Emma arrives in Honeymoon and sees a weed-choked crumbling ruin, her vision of an idyllic life in Dorset begins to disintegrate. But when she meets twinkly-eyed builder Aiden in the village shop, and sparks fly between them, she can’t help but feel that the stars have for once aligned.


As work begins on the hotel, Emma and Aiden grow closer, and on sun-dappled evening walks, he tells her the secrets of the village. But there are some villagers who wish that Emma had never arrived in Honeymoon… And when Emma is involved in a terrible accident on site, and then discovers what Aiden has been keeping from her, it feels like the universe is telling her to leave Honeymoon for good. What if she was wrong to say goodbye to all that was safe and familiar? Will she ever be able to find her happy-ever-after in Honeymoon?


A completely gorgeous and romantic read about being brave and taking chances on love and life. Fans of Shari Low, Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will be enchanted by The Hotel at Honeymoon Station.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station' by Tilly Tennant.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Tilly Tennant, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 18th June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Shari Low, Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will be enchanted by The Hotel at Honeymoon Station'. I am a huge fan of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 29 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Dorset, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited Dorset on many occasions which will be including this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Emma. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Aww what a beautiful read this was!!! I'm off to Dorset myself in September but really enjoyed this early "mini break"!!! Its very well written with fantastic descriptions that really set the scene. The cover, title and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


The storyline was lovely and set at a relaxed pace. I really enjoyed visiting Honeymoon and it really felt like I was there myself. It was filled with love, loss, sadness, friendship and a very light hearted and relaxing read. The setting was ideal and I'm just gutted it's not a real place. However, I loved it when I came across places that were real especially Cerne Abbas Giant "Carved into the hillside with his great big willy hanging out.’ That made me laugh out loud along with several other places. It ended perfectly and I really hope that this is just the first book in a series based around Honeymoon station!!!


I became really invested in the eclectic mix of characters which is true of any village!!! I enjoyed watching Emma's character develop from strength to strength and her relationships with Tia and Aidan grow. I also thought it was lovely how close she was to Patricia and Dominic. Dougie was just absolute low life scum and I was glad she had some sense when it came to him. I also thought Tia's relationship with Blake was sweet. It wasn't just the main characters who captured my heart though and I really enjoyed getting to know Nell, Darcie and even Sid!!! I really hope to meet them all again soon. Hint, hint Tilly lol!!!


Congratulations Tilly on an absolutely gorgeous read. I know where to come if I'm looking for a light hearted, heart warming beautiful escape!!!


Overall an absolutely adorable, light hearted and romantic escape to Dorset.


Some of my favourite quotes in this book include the following:


"‘The Cerne Abbas Giant. Know it?’‘Not really. Is it a real giant or just a field where a giant used to live? Because if it’s that, you could be showing me fields all day and I’d have no clue whether you were making any of it up.’ ‘It’s a real giant alright. Carved into the hillside with his great big willy hanging out.’ Emma laughed. ‘Seriously? This I’ve got to see!’"


Genres covered in this book include Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Domestic Fiction and Holiday Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jill Mansell, Milly Johnson and anyone looking for a lighthearted page turning escape.



354 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@TillyTenant @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop assistant, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and hasn't stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor and part-time lecturer.


Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia. In 2016 she signed to the hugely successful Bookouture and is currently working on her fifteenth Tilly Tennant novel. Christmas bestseller A Very Vintage Christmas has just been made into a movie for Lifetime Channel.


Tilly also writes young adult fiction as Sharon Sant.



Author Social Media Links








Buy Links:





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page