top of page

The Homemaker by Miranda Rijks. Review.


Book Description

Maria always wanted a family. Now she's found one.


Imogen has never been so busy – she’s juggling two jobs, has a young family and now she’s pregnant again.

Enter Maria, the perfect housekeeper. Hard working and capable, she seems like the ideal solution to Imogen's chaotic life. But Maria isn’t at all what she seems – she has a sinister agenda of her own.

Little by little, she installs herself at the heart of Imogen’s family – doing the school run, cooking meals, caring for Imogen’s little girl.

But once she has won the family’s trust, Maria starts to do some digging. And discovers that Imogen has been keeping a terrible secret, a secret which Maria threatens to reveal unless Imogen starts to run this home the way Maria sees fit.

Caught between a rock and a hard place, Imogen has no choice but to comply.

A terrible mistake. Because as the full scale of Maria’s horrifying plan becomes apparent, Imogen realises that everything she holds dear – her marriage, her family, her friends – all may fall victim to The Homemaker.

The Homemaker – the chilling psychological thriller from the best-selling author of The Visitors and What She Knew.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Homemaker' by Miranda Rijks.



Read and reviewed for Netgalley, Miranda Rijks, Inkubator Books and Zooloo's Book Tours.



Publication date 22nd October 2023.



This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Forget Me Not' and 'The which I also highly recommend.



This novel consists of a prologue and 28 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! My heart is still absolutely pounding and I read the last page over an hour ago!!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


Miranda does it yet again with this absolutely gripping, hair raising and nerve shredding page turner!!! I'd you love psychological thrillers then you will absolutely love this or any of Miranda's books!! This book certainly makes you think again about who you trust and to be very careful about who you let into your life and your home!! Just be warned you need to clear your schedule before even turning the front cover of this book as once you start you will be hooked from the first word to the last!!! I lost count how many times I told myself one more chapter before bed just to find out I had to read just the one more again as it kept on ending in a way I could not put it down!!! In the end I devoured it all in one sitting, going from having my kindle glued to my hand in the evening to staying awake until 2am as there was no way I was going to sleep without finishing it!!! Miranda takes her readers on an absolutely addictive, adrenaline fuelled rollercoaster ride of tension, suspense, terror, drama, stunning settings and so much more!!!! Miranda's evocative writing skills just brought everything to life around me!! I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense and omg the twists!!! I DID NOT see them coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Miranda!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! The storyline is filled with shocks, suspense, drama, tension and so much more! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout and there is absolutely nothing left of my nails now!! Miranda writes her story with multiple perspectives here are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.

Another absolutely gripping, must read success by this extremely talented author!! Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! I was absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!



Congratulations Miranda on yet another absolutely gripping true page turner! This is exactly the reason why you are one of my favourite authors!!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Miranda's 'The Other Mother' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!



Overall an absolutely captivating, gripping, heart racing, never wracking, unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!



270 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.74 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@TheHomemaker @MirandaRijks @MirandaRijksAuthor @InkubatorBooks @Inkubator @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited






















Author Bio


Miranda Rijks is a writer of psychological thrillers and suspense novels. She has an eclectic background ranging from law to running a garden centre. She’s been writing all of her life and has a Masters in writing. A couple of years ago she decided to ditch the business plans and press releases and now she’s living the dream, writing suspense novels full time. She lives in Sussex, England with her Dutch husband, musician daughter and black Labrador.




Social Media Links:








Purchase Link









3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page