top of page

'The Holiday Home' by Daniel Hurst

Book Description


The Holiday Home: A completely unputdownable and addictive psychological thriller


The perfect holiday or the perfect nightmare…


I sit sipping champagne in the warm water, bubbles frothing around me as I admire the breathtaking view of gorgeous blue skies and mountains. I can’t believe I’m here, at this stunning holiday home. It’s to die for…


My best friend and her husband have invited me and my family to their lakeside property for the weekend, to experience their luxury lifestyle. I’m not envious of their wealth, although I know my husband Ryan is. All I want is to escape from our recent troubles and get my marriage back on track.


Then I overhear Ryan having a whispered conversation late one evening, and he says something that sends a shiver down my spine. In this beautiful paradise my whole world is turned upside down.


Just when I think things can’t get any worse, I discover a second secret. The truth is even more shocking than I imagine, and now I have no idea who to trust.


This was meant to be the perfect holiday, but someone isn’t going to survive it…


A twist-filled psychological thriller that will keep your heart pounding until the very last page. If you love Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Housemaid, you’ll be gripped by The Holiday Home.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Holiday Home' by Daniel Hurst.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Daniel Hurst, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 1st March 2023.

HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY DANIEL HURST AND HAPPY SAINT DAVID'S DAY EVERYBODY, FROM Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 !!!


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Doctor's Wife' which I would also highly recommend!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is "A twist-filled psychological thriller that will keep your heart pounding. If you love Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl, and The Housemaid, you’ll be gripped by The Holiday Home." I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' and 'The Housemaid' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a HUGE fan of Daniel Hurst after reading his 'The Doctor's Wife'. If this book is even half as good as that one was it is guaranteed to be a page turner! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 34 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the Scottish Highlands, Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually holidayed in Scotland previously so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise any areas Daniel has based his book on!


This book is written in first person perspective and the protagonists are Nicola (main narrator and Ryan's wife), Ryan (Nicola's husband), Cole (Kim & Lewis' son) and Lewis (Kim's husband and Cole's Dad). The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Well done Daniel on yet another absolutely heart racing and page turning psychological thriller!!!


AN ABSOLUTELY INTRIGUING, THOUGHT PROVOKING, UNPUTDOWNABLE HEART RACING AND EXPLOSIVE BOOK THAT WILL KEEP YOU UP LATE AT NIGHT UNTIL YOU TURN THE LAST PAGE!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.



I absolutely loved this unique page turning explosive page turner. I was absolutely absorbed throughout this psychological thriller. It is filled with tension, drama, family, suspense, lies, secrets, deceit, murder, romance, love, and omg the twist!!! I DID NOT see the twists coming at all and there were more than one!!! Just when I think everything had been worked out and things were settling down BOOM there was another bombshell!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Daniel!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books in this series. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! I loved that the book is told from so many different perspectives and each of their stories/chapters were perfectly weaved together to show us everything that is going on and how each of the characters are thinking and feeling throughout. The storyline is filled with crime, shocks, suspense, tension, deceit, and murder. There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The surrounding atmosphere was absolutely perfect and the narrative ensures you are completely absorbed into the storyline with the characters coming to life all around you thanks to Daniel's evocative writing skills and Zoe and Richard's amazing narratives. This book is absolutely addictive and I read it in one sitting. I absolutely loved the cliff hanging explosive twist at the end that leaves you wanting more! It kept me on the edge of my seat, biting my nails with my heart absolutely pounding throughout especially at the end! I really am looking forward to the next book by this extremely talented author. A gripping, all consuming addictive page turner!!!


Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrators Zoe Mills and Richard Burnip who both did an absolutely amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life. I have previously listened to Soraya Lane's 'The Italian Daughter' on audiobook that was also narrated by Zoe Mills and I would highly recommend listening to or reading it as it is an another fantastic page turner from another great author!! I would listen to it and this book in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Daniel but also to listening to more books narrated by both Zoe and Richard!!!!


.

The characters were all strong and realistic and thanks to Daniel's absolutely fantastic writing skills and Zoe Mills and Richard Burnip's amazing narrative skills they all come to life when you are turning the pages. My heart went out to Nicola for what she went through and what happened to her. She is an amazing mother, likeable character and strong woman. I also felt sorry for another character and although I was not a fan of them at the beginning I did feel for them as they didn't deserve what happened to them at all. I was not a fan of two of the characters and thought it was a disgrace what they did and then continued to do throughout the book. My heart also went out to Emily and Cole who are just innocent children but are affected by what goes on throughout even though they haven't done anything to deserve any of it. It just goes to show how much what adults and parents do can effect their children for life. It is hard to say too much about the characters as I am worried I will give too much away and I really don't want to spoil it for future readers so I wont say anything else and let other readers make their own minds up about how they feel about the characters.. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all worked perfectly together to make this an addictive and explosive storyline!!!


This is exactly why you are one of my favourite male authors Daniel! An absolute must read author!! I cannot wait to read all your previous and future books!! Here's to your next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first chapter of Daniel's absolutely addictive 'The Doctor's Wife' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, suspense filled, unputdownable addictive page turner psychological thriller filled with twists with a shocking ending!!


Genres covered in this book include Domestic Thriller, Domestic Fiction, Women's Psychological Fiction, Family Life Fiction, Murder Thriller, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Women's Psychological Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Domestic Thriller,Mystery, Suspense, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'Behind Closed Doors', 'The Housemaid', Shari Lapena, Karin Slaughter, Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan, Paula Hawkins, Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn, Freida McFadden, Rachel Abbot and anyone who loves an explosive ending!!!



253 pages/ 6 hours 49 minutes


This book is just £1.99 to purchase, £7.99 on paperback and £16 for the audiobook via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheHolidayHome @DanielHurst @Audible @Bookouture @BookoutureAudio @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @Audible


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86



About Daniel Hurst


Daniel Hurst writes psychological thrillers and loves to tell tales about unusual things happening to normal people. He has written all his life, making the progression from handing scribbled stories to his parents as a boy to writing full length novels in his thirties. He lives in the North West of England, returning to his roots after several years away exploring the world and garnering plenty of ideas for future books!



Social media






Author newsletter sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/daniel-hurst/




Purchase Link








17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page