top of page

'The Helpdesk' by S.A Dunphy

Book Description


It's the calm voice at the other end of the phone. Someone there to help in your hour of need. An innocent chat.

But once they're inside your computer, there's no escape . . . The Helpdesk is a gripping, fast-paced thriller that will have you at the edge of your seat


SHE TOOK CONTROL OF HIS COMPUTER. NOW HE'S LOST CONTROL OF HIS LIFE . . .


Someone is always watching


James Fitzpatrick is a high-profile lawyer at a successful City firm. He's married to Bella. She's beautiful and clever, a teacher at a prestigious private school.


They have the perfect lives.


But then, one night, James loses a file for a multi-million pound deal he's working on and in desperation contacts the company's IT helpdesk. A woman named Charlotte answers his call, setting in motion a series of events set to shatter James' and Bella's lives.


In the weeks after, James is accused of more mistakes at work, ones he doesn't remember making and can't explain. Meanwhile Bella finds herself the target of vicious rumours at school - and no one seems willing to believe her side of the story.


Everything started with that one phone call.


Who is the woman at the other side of the computer screen? And why do Bella and James suddenly find their privileged existence in peril?





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Helpdesk' by S.A Dunphy.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for S.A Dunphy and Hatchette Ireland Books.


Publication date 19th January 2023.


This is the seventh book I have read by this author but his fourth book by S.A Dunphy.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing eye catching cover, synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Shane Dunphy and if this is half as good as Shane's previous books it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Hatchette Books. I have yet to read a book published by Hatchette that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists 49 chapters and set over 2 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. The fact that this book is based in England is even better as I have visited London and holidayed in England in many times so may even recognise some places Shane has set the book around.


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists being James Fitzpatrick, Bella Fitzpatrick, Detective Sergeant Harvey Brennan and Charlotte Odette. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. When there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'The Helpdesk' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Shane discusses/includes sexual assault and some strong language.


LOVE, LOVE, LOVED IT!! Well I must say Shane you are very talented man!!! What another absolutely addictive read!! I am already eagerly awaiting your next book regardless of the genre!! You are a man of many talents!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that places you write in the heart of the storyline and leaves you hearing the traffic of London and feeling your heart race. The title, cover and synopsis work perfectly with the storyline.


This is the fourth crime novel I have read by Shane and he is one of those rare authors who books are fantastic and yet also keep getting better and better. I have read most of his non fiction books from when he was working as a child protection worker and loved them all. They were heartbreaking and I shed many tears but they were fantastic books. Shane then started writing crime novels and was intrigued by the change of genre. This isb the first standalone crime novel I have read by him (I believe it is the first he has written but may be wrong) and I cannot wait for him to bring his next one out!! I am very pleased to say that Shane writes fiction just as fantastically as non fiction!!!


This storyline is definitely unique which I loved. I'm a big fan of crime but it can be tedious reading similar storylines so this one was a nice refreshing change. It is such a thought provoking book that left me thinking about it says after reading it and considering how much we rely on technology and also on strangers to help with this technology. It is extremely paced and addictive. I was completely absorbed from page one until the fantastic explosive ending which I most definitely was not expecting!! . It is ram packed with suspense, adultery, tension, humour, obsessions, plots, mystery, romance, control, and everything you want in an unputdownable page turner. I was constantly trying to work out who the "good" and "bad" characters were and my mind kept flipping from one to the other throughout as each secret was revealed. Every single chapter ended on a point where I just had to know what happened next and I just could not put it down which ended up with me devouring it in one sitting!! I absolutely love the multiple points of views as it gives us so much insight into who was doing what and what they were thinking it brings the whole story to life leaving you feeling like you are sitting in front of each of them while they tell you their story. The only criticisms I have is that the ending did seem to be slightly rushed and I would like to have known more about what happened with Caleb but neither of these spoilt the storyline as a whole for me so I will be rating this amazing book a 5/5!!

There were so many twists and turns throughout leading you to one red herring and then another whilst constantly questioning yourself who is actually behind everything all along and if you can trust any of the protagonists. The book wrapped up with everything explained (it's a pet hate of mine where a book ends and vital parts seem to have gotten lost in the storyline and never mentioned again). One of the best things about this series too is that although it is predominantly a crime mystery it has sprinkles of humour scattered throughout which lightens it up from time to time and Shane does it well. I was shocked when I did discover who was behind everything that had been going and and the reasons behind everything. I had genuinely believed it was for other reasons by other people entirely so well done Shane on shocking me, not an easy feat considering how many crime books I have read!! I really couldn't recommend this book to anyone and everyone more and I would absolutely love to see this made into a movie!


The fact that Shane has obviously either done some research or knows alot about technology, law and police procedures shines through so another congratulations is deserved. I have read several books where the author either has not done enough or hasn't done any research into their chosen topic and the book is then littered with unnecessary mistakes which spoils the storyline.



Clear your schedules before even turning a page in this book as it is utterly addictive and you will not be able to put it down!!


Each of the main characters were strong, realistic and their own unique personalities and I was intrigued by each one of them. The storyline is very character focused and it drip feeds you just enough information for you to try and work out what each of them is up to without giving too much away. I went from feeling sorry for some of them to being disgusted a few pages later then to annoyed and so forth. There were several times where I felt positive towards one character and completely disliking another just for the feelings to be flipped a few chapters later. I wish I could go into more details about how I felt about them but now that I know who was doing what and why I would be too worried about letting anything out and spoiling things for future readers so I will have to leave it there but if you have read this book and are up for a chat about it please pop me a message!!


Congratulations Shane, a man of many talents, on yet another absolutely fantastic explosive addition to a very addictive series. This is why you are my favourite male author!! Here is to yet another success 🍻!!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, unique and unputdownable crime mystery that you will devour in one sitting!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Crime Thriller, Crime Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Modern Fiction, Mystery, Suspense and Thriller amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shalini Boland, 'Gone Girl', Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer anyone and EVERYONE!!! What are you waiting for? Grab your copy now!!



343 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheHelpdesk @SADunphy @HatchetteBooksIreland @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Netgalley @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited














Author Bio


Childcare expert, author, teacher, journalist, broadcaster, musician, nerd, husband, Dad, Grandad.


Shane Dunphy (S. A. Dunphy) was born in Brighton in 1973, but grew up in Ireland, where he has spent most of his life. A child protection worker for 15 years, he is the number one bestselling author of 20 books. His first nine titles dealt with his time on the frontline of social care work, and include the number one bestseller Wednesday’s Child. His bestselling series of crime novels (written under the name S. A. Dunphy) feature the emotionally damaged criminologist David Dunnigan. Stories From the Margins, his series of True Crime books written for Audible, has been critically acclaimed as well as being an audio-bestseller. He has also ghost written two biographies. Writing as S. A. Dunphy his exciting new series of crime novels, set in Ireland, feature Criminal Behaviourist Jessie Boyle and detective Seamus Keneally.


Social Media Links


Author website: Shandunphyauthor.org


Facebook: Shane Dunphy - S. A. Dunphy


Instagram: shanewritesbooks


Twitter: @dunphyshane1







Purchase Links










10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page