top of page

'The Guilty Wife' by Alison James


About the Book


At a luxury resort in the Maldives, two newlywed couples are on honeymoon. On the surface, they seem to have it all. But behind the filtered photos and fake smiles is the truth…


Tansy isn’t really in love. Daniel is trying to escape the biggest mistake of his life. Nikki’s past is catching up with her. Arne’s heart is about to be broken.


They all have secrets. And before the honeymoon is over, their happiness will be shattered.


Because one of them is going to die…


This dark, addictive thriller will have you gripped until the final, shocking twist. Fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Guest List and The Wife Between Us will be hooked by the latest page-turner from US top five bestseller Alison James.


(*Previously titled: Happily Ever After)








BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Guilty Wife' by Alison James. Previously titled 'Happily Ever After'.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Alison James, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 22nd June 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read Alison's 'Her Sister's Child' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Guest List and The Wife Between Us will be hooked by the latest page-turner from US top five bestseller Alison James.' I am a fan of 'The Guest List' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Alison and if this is half as good as 'Her Sister's Child' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 46 chapters and an epilogue and is spread over 5 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the Mauritius 🇲🇺, Africa, Melbourne, Australia 🇦🇺 and London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Pippa and Daniel. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is extremely well written and will take you on an unforgettable holiday!!! I wasn't quite expecting the storyline I got after reading the synopsis and if I'm being honest I definitely think the previous title of 'Happily Ever After' suited the storyline better. However, these two niggles are the only reason I decided on a 4/5 rather than a 5/5. The storyline itself was very well written and the descriptions made the atmosphere and characters come alive. I was quite surprised when I was being taken all over the place as I actually expected the story to be set in one place while the investigation was going on. However, the way Alison did it definitely made it more interesting if unexpected. The storyline was filled with love, loss, secrets, tension and suspense and it kept me hooked from the first page until the last. An absolutely addictive psychological thriller.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


The characters were well defined and realistic and I liked Pippa's character the most. I enjoyed watching her stand up for what she believed in which made her such a strong and unforgettable character. I could not stand Tansy who just reminded me of a spoilt little Daddy's girl!!!! It would have been good to see what became of her at the end and I hope she got her come uppance!!! I was actually quite surprised by a reveal about a certain character and I actually felt quite sorry for them, I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for others.


Well done Alison on another successful psychological thriller and here's to many more 🍷🍹 🥃!!


Overall a fast paced psychological thriller that will take you all over the world



Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Psychological Fiction and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Guest List and The Wife Between Us 



283 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AlisonJames @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Born in the Cotswolds, Alison spent most of her formative years abroad. She studied languages at Oxford, then became a journalist and author, returning to university after her two children to take a law degree. After a three-year stint as a criminal paralegal, Alison worked as a commercial copywriter and then a TV storyliner, before coming full circle to write fiction again.


Author Social Media Links:


Website: n/a







Buy Links


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page