top of page

The Girls Left Behind by Emily Gunnis. Review.


Book Description


NO ONE WANTED TO END UP AT MORGATE HOUSE. BUT THE GIRLS HAD NOWHERE ELSE TO GO . . .



'The thrilling, heartbreaking, and shocking story of dark secrets, twisted lives, lies, and manipulation. The twist! OMG!' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


-----

1985. Separated from her little sister at the children's home where they are taken as orphans, Holly Moore is a troubled teenager in need of love. When she meets a man who promises to take care of her, she hopes her luck has finally changed.


2015. The clock is ticking for Superintendent Jo Hamilton when the discovery of a young woman's remains takes her back to an unsolved case from the past. As a constable, Jo was often called out to deal with runaways from Morgate House, but when Holly Moore disappeared - after another female resident fell from the cliffs - Jo was convinced the home was hiding something. Now, with only days before her forced retirement, Jo decides to track down Holly's sister and re-open the case. But will the trail lead her disturbingly close to home?


A girl disappeared, a terrible wrong, and powerful people with something to hide . . . Discover the brand new emotional and thrilling novel from the bestselling author of The Girl in the Letter




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Girls Left Behind' by Emily Gunnis.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emily Gunnis, Clare Corbett and Headline publishers.


Publication date 9th November 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!!!



This novel consists of a prologue, 31 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



An absolutely epic read from the very talented Emily Gunnis!!! Absolutely rammed full of twists, tension and turns!! Congratulations Emily on a fantastic page turner!!


This is an extremely well written book with vivid descriptions that will suck you straight into the storyline and captivated from beginning to end. The synopsis and cover worked perfectly with the storyline.


I had never read a book by Emily before this one but I am definitely hooked after and have already added all her books to my wish list. I was absolutely hooked throughout, a true page turner from beginning to end. Emily is one of those amazing authors who writes these epic books that when you are reading them you promise yourself one more chapter and then you'll go to sleep but each time she ends her chapters in a way that has you hooked so you have to read just one more, but then another and before you know it you have walked around all day with the book glued to your hands or your earbuds stuck in your ears in my case and have devoured it in one sitting!!! The fantastic Clare who narrates this book also brings the book to life with her dramatic voice that really brings the suspense to life perfectly with Emily's descriptiosn.The storyline was in depth and packed with suspense, history, murder, twists, family, tension, hate, grief, intensity, heartache, shocks and everything you could ask for in a page turner!!! It is an edge of your seat, nail biting and heart racing psychological thriller. Emily does a fantastic job of weaving the chapters written from different protagonists points of views and the ones from different timelines together perfectly to slowly drip feed the reader just the right amount of information they need to understand what is going on without giving too much away to allow the reader to work it out too quickly!!! There are also not one but several very clever and very unique storylines that are all weaved together perfectly so there is something constantly happening but not too much as to confuse the reader. I was absolutely hooked from start to finish. I read this book in less than 24 hours and I'm looking forward to reading more books by this fantastic author as well as listening to more books by the brilliant narrator. This book is an absolute rollercoaster ride filled with twists, action, murder, heartbreak, suffering, suspense and everything you could ask for in an absolutely thrilling page turner. I was mind blown when the killer was revealed so a huge congratulations Emily!! After reading hundreds of crimes and thrillers it's getting harder and harder to shock me but at no point did I even consider them!!! If you want to know more about this absolutely epic page turner which you will have to grab your copy today to get them!!! It is one of the best books I have read this year and I really enjoyed and loved the ending!!! Emily ensures there were no loose ends at the book and that everything was explained and tied up. It is one of my pet hates having loose ends at the end of a book so well done Emily!! I won't say more as not to spoil it for future readers. It is a true page turner that will leave you biting your nails on the edge of your seat with your heart racing. Hope your busy typing your next book up Emily as I cannot wait!!! Thankfully I can get stuck into your previous books while I'm waiting!! This book would make an absolutely amazing and box selling movie that I would be first in line to see!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


Clear your schedules as you will not be able to put down this heart racing thriller!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Clare Corbett who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Clare did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Emily but also to listening to more books narrated by Clare!



I loved meeting all the characters who were all strong, well defined and unique. I become completely invested in Detective Jo Hamilton and her mother Olive along with Holly and Daisy Moore Amanda plus all of the other amazing characters. I would absolutely love to see Detective Jo Hamilton to have her own series from when she was younger as I would love to meet her and her mum Olive again and get to know them more!! Hint, hint Emily 😉!!! In this book Jo is due to retire but is determined to solve the last case before being taken over by the males above her. That is one thing I loved about her is her fierce determination and the fact she refuses to back down when she knows the truth is waiting to be revealed!! She is one kick butt lady but also a compassionate one and a woman who is being pulled from all sides from the work she is being pushed out of to her family who want her home to babysit their children to her own mother who is being cared for in a home by Daisy Moore. My heart broke for both Daisy and Holly Moore who suffered greatly as children but I won't go into any further details s I don't want to spoil it for future readers. Emily's fantastic writing skills and Clare's brilliant narrative really do bring each of the characters to life and I won't be forgetting them anytime soon!! A fantastic group of intriguing, realistic and solid characters all brought to life by Emily's fantastic evocative writing skills along with Clare's narrative!


This is exactly why I would like to welcome you to my favourite authors Emily!! Here is to your next guaranteed success 🥂!!


I could not praise this book enough and highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. Emily I cannot wait to read more of your very successful work!!! I would also love to see this book turned into a movie. Another absolutely addictive, compelling and gripping true page turner!!!


Overall another absolutely captivating, engrossing page turner that is compelling and addictive by an extremely talented author!!!



366 pages/10 hours 23 minutes



This book is just £4.99 to purchase on kindle, £8.27 in paperback, £11.37 in Audible and £2.99 in Audible with membership via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheGirlsLeftBehind @EmilyGunnis @ClareCorbett @Headline @headlinepg @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Audible
















Author Bio


I’ve wanted to be an author since my mum, Penny Vincenzi, got her first book deal when I was 13. We’d spend hours walking and talking in our favourite place, The Gower Peninsula, about the worlds her characters inhabited and unpicking any plot dead ends she’d found herself in. I absolutely loved it - this is what I wanted to do!


Fast forward 30 years and I’ve discovered it’s a great deal harder than my mother made it look! But still, here I am.


After graduating I wrote scripts and had two episodes of BBC Doctors commissioned but didn’t like all the input from Script Editors and Producers. So, while I worked in various PA jobs I decided to go for it and just kept learning as much as I could until I sold my debut novel, The Girl in the Letter, which has sold nearly half a million copies worldwide and been translated into 17 languages! This was closely followed by The Missing Daughter and my new novel, The Midwifes Secret is out now in Kindle and Hardback - and in paperback in April this year. I would love to hear what you think via my website www.emilygunnis.com!


I live in Sussex with my husband Steve and our two beautiful, crazy, girls, Grace and Eleanor.




Social Media Links


If you’d like to get in touch please also try me at


Twitter: @EmilyGunnis


Instagram: @emilygunnis


Facebook: @emilygunnisauthor.


I love hearing from my readers and I’d love to know what you think of The Girl in the Letter and The Missing Daughter and The Midwife’s Secret, so please get in touch.


Keep reading!


Love Emily x



Purchase Links








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page