top of page

'The Girl She Wanted' by K. L Slater

Book Description:


What if my sister is unstable and everyone can see it but me? What was she really doing standing over Florence’s cot in the middle of the night?


Alexa has always looked up to her older sister Carrie. Carrie lives in Alexa’s family home, and adores her one-year-old niece Florence. Alexa doesn’t know how they would cope without her. So when Carrie is suspended from her job as a senior nurse, accused of the most terrible crime, Alexa reels in disbelief. Alexa knows how caring Carrie is, and as she watches Florence gurgling and cooing whenever Carrie is around, she knows her little girl is in safe hands.


Alexa’s husband doesn’t trust Carrie. He wants her out of the house, unable to ignore what people are saying about her. But when he suggests that Carrie could be a danger to their daughter, Alexa shuts him out. Nobody will ever come between her and her sister.


Then Florence is hurt while in Carrie’s care and Alexa at last starts to wonder. Alexa has always wanted to protect Carrie from the past they have hidden. But does Alexa know what Carrie wants? And will the secret that has kept the sisters together now destroy her little girl?


A completely gripping rollercoaster of a read about the darkness families hide behind closed doors. Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be hooked on The Girl She Wanted.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Girl She Wanted' by K. L Slater.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 22nd October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most definitely won't be my last!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful and colourful cover and intriguing sounding blurb. The write up also stated that 'fans of Gone Girl will be hooked' . I am a big fan of 'Gone Girl' so I am interested to see if this book lives up to it's standard. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 61 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 UK 🇬🇧. I always seem to get on with books that are set in the UK better as I am from Wales and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book.


This book is written in a mix of first and third person perspective and the main protagonists are Alexa and Carrie. I tend to really enjoy books written with a mix of perspectives as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters while also bonding with the protagonists more. There are also inputs from Perry (Alex's husband) Amanda from child protection services and Adam from the police investigating.


A fantastically written and very descriptive compelling novel by one of my new favourite authors!! Well done K. L Slater you made the list!! I loved the fact that there are many characters that you see their perspectives from without being too many and making it confusing.


The storyline was captivating from page one and kept me turning the pages as quick as I could until the shocking finalé, I most definitely did not see that one coming so a huge congratulations for that!! I have read many psychological thrillers and it's getting harder and harder to surprise me but you managed to do it!! There's nothing worse than working out what's going to happen when your not even half way through the book but I was wrong about who did what on all points!! This book has a unique storyline and packed with suspense, tension, drama, red herrings and many surprises to keep you hooked!!


THE characters were portrayed perfectly and suited the storyline. I was very wrong in thinking certain things about certain characters but can't say any more as not to spoil the storyline for future readers. Each of the characters were well defined with their own individual personalities which all worked well within the storyline.


Overall an explosive psychological thriller that will shock and surprise you throughout. A true page turner!!


Genres covered include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as EVERYONE looking for a good read.


357 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KLSlater @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.


Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’


Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.







Buy Links:





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page