top of page

'The Girl Before Me' by Laura Wolfe

Updated: May 5, 2022

Book: THE GIRL BEFORE ME

Author: Laura Wolfe

Pub Day: APRIL 29TH 2022


About the Book:

I switched on the bedroom light, casting a glow across the apartment. No one was there. But then the locks on my front door caught my eye. I thought I’d locked them both, but now one was open… When I moved into the apartment with my little daughter Lily, it was meant to be a new beginning for us. Now we are right in the heart of downtown, in a building with its own doorman. For the first time in a long time we are safe, away from my ex-husband. But just as we settle into our new lives a letter arrives for someone called Annie. The neighbors tell me to ignore it. She’s just the woman who lived here before me, who moved out one day without a word. Curious, I open it anyway and am shocked by what I read. It says Annie wasn’t safe. It said she needed to get out. Now, I can’t escape the idea that someone is watching us. I feel I can’t trust my neighbors. And I can’t help but think… Something happened to Annie. Something bad. And Lily and I are not nearly as safe here as I thought we were… A totally unputdownable gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena and Gillian Flynn.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Girl Before Me' by Laura Wolfe.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Laura Wolfe, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th April 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Best Friend's Lie' and 'We Live Next Door' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A totally unputdownable gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena and Gillian Flynn.' I am a huge fan of all three of these authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Laura and if this is half as good as 'Her Best Friend's Lie' and 'We Live Next Door' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 38 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Chigaco, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Rachel Gleason. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Girl Before Me' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Laura discusses/includes


OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT HAVE I JUST READ!?!?!? Laura Wolfe you are a writing legend!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back.


Another huge success by Laura!!! This book has got to be the most heart racing books I've read in a long time!!! It had be hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx 2am, read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!! I loved that you got to meet so many of the neighbours/residents in Rachel's apartment and that there was such a a mix of personalities and so many suspects!!! It keeps you constantly guessing who did what!! It really does make you think how life can change so quickly and different decisions can change a life. It also makes you think how looks can be deceiving. It is filled with friendship, romance, lies, secrets, twists, turns and everything you could want from a psychological thriller along with some MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS which will leave you absolutely shocked!!! I for one was NOT expecting that at all!!! I also loved how the book ended. This book would make a fantastic movie!!


As previously mentioned there is such a large mix of characters which makes it a realistic residential setting. All the characters were strong and realistic as well as hiding their own secrets. I really liked Rachel from the start and along with her daughter Lily who was adorable , all the characters were realistic, well developed and had strong characteristics and personalities. I did absolutely NOT expect that humongous bombshell at all. What an absolute twist!!! I can hand on my heart say that I cannot remember when I was so gobsmacked by a book twist but Laura you have done just that!!! This book is rammed with suspense and tension and will keep you biting your nails, on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding while your flipping the pages because you just cant stop.


If you read one book on your life, make sure it is this!!!! I would love to see this turned into a movie and Laura I really hope you are working on your next psychological thriller at this moment because this book will go far!!! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on what promises to be a MASSIVE success!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nail biting, unputdownable psychological thriller with a bomb shell you will not see coming!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Couple Next Door' ,'The Woman in the Window', 'Behind Closed Doors', Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena, Gillian Flynn and ANYONE AND EVERYONE LOOKING FOR AN EXPLOSIVE READ!!!

323 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LauraWolfe @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio and Social Media


Laura Wolfe is an Amazon charts bestselling author who writes fast-paced and twisty psychological thrillers and suspense novels. Her recent titles published by Bookouture include WE LIVE NEXT DOOR, HER BEST FRIEND'S LIE, SHE LIES ALONE, and TWO WIDOWS. Laura's YA mystery series and adult suspense novel, TOP PRODUCER, have been shortlisted for multiple indie book awards. Laura is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found hanging out with her husband and two kids, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan Website: https://www.laurawolfebooks.com/




Buy Link:




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page