top of page

'The Girl At The Last House Before The Sea' by Liz Eeles


The Girl at the Last House Before the Sea: An absolutely addictive and heartbreaking page-turner (Heaven's Cove Book 3)


The girl stands on the clifftop, feeling the soft breeze lift her shining red hair and dry her tears. She can almost hear Ireland calling her home across the wild sea. But she can never go back. And in that moment, she swears no-one will ever find out why. Freya is desperate for escape from her messy break-up when she’s offered a job caring for elderly Kathleen in the seaside village of Heaven’s Cove. Kathleen’s once-red hair is now a brilliant white, but there’s always laughter in her Irish lilt – until the day Freya finds her weeping, her gaze fixed on Driftwood House, perched on the cliffs above the village. She refuses to say what’s wrong… Kathleen’s son Ryan, quiet with striking emerald eyes, resents that a stranger is caring for his mother. But as Freya presses him for answers on a long walk across a windswept beach, Ryan finally admits that Kathleen breaks down in the same way, on the exact same day every year – never telling anyone what is causing her pain. Finding a photo of Kathleen as a young girl standing outside Driftwood House years before she says she moved to the village, Freya is determined to find the source of Kathleen’s heartache. But as she gets closer to Ryan, and to the sad, forgotten history of the house, Freya is faced with an impossible decision… Should she share this heartbreaking secret with Ryan and risk their chance of happiness together? And will facing the truth bring Kathleen peace in her final years – or will it tear them all apart? An absolutely breath-taking and heartbreaking page-turner about healing old sorrows and finding new joys. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Barbara O’Neal, and anyone longing to escape to the rugged Devon coast.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Girl At The Last House Before The Sea' by Liz Eeles .


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Liz Eeles, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th February 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author and it is the third book in the 'Heaven's Cove' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in this series 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea' and the second book in this series 'A Letter To The Last House Before The Sea' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Barbara O’Neal, and anyone longing to escape to the rugged Devon coast'. I am a fan of Debbie Macomber so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a fan of Liz and if this is half as good as 'Secrets At The Last House Before The Sea' and 'A Letter To The Last House On Before The Sea' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 43 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Devon, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited Devon on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Freya, Ryan and Chloe. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Well done Liz you have done it yet again!!! Another absolutely stunningly written book whose vivid descriptions completely arrested my attention. I could feel the sand in my toes and the wind in my hair. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself is captivating and heart warming but also devastatingly heart breaking in a way. A perfect summer read filled with mystery, romance, deceit, love, family, secrets and is perfect for anyone looking for an escape. I was absolutely hooked from page one until 2.30am in the morning when I finished having not being able to put it down. The overall atmosphere worked perfectly with the storyline and I felt myself surrounded by the sea and sounds of Devon and most definitely wanting to go back. The plot was very realistic making it all very easy to picture. I am so glad the way it all turned out and for me it ended perfectly. An absolutely stunning book that would make an absolutely gorgeous movie!!!


Although this is the third book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely loved meeting some of the characters from Haven Cove again especially the fact that we got to learn more about Driftwood house and his history this time. Another very sad history that was quite heartbreaking!! The characters were vivid, strong and realistic and I loved the community surrounding the area. The author captured a typical village lifestyle perfectly. I loved getting to know Kathleen, Ryan, Chloe and Freya along with meeting Belinda, Liam, Rose and many of the other lovely characters again. It was great watching how all the characters developed and bonded throughout the book and I think some of them will stay with me for a long time. It's always great seeing strong female leads in books and Freya was definitely memorable!! It was lovely seeing a different side to Belinda than what I've been used to seeing and I'm looking forward to seeing where their relationship leads.


Congratulations Liz on yet another addictive, stunningly beautiful book. This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and I cannot wait to read the next book in this stunning series as well as checking out your other books.


Overall a heart warming, stunning charming page turning and addictive novel in a gorgeous series.



Genres covered in this book include Womens Fiction and Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Debbie Macomer, Summer and beach reads and anyone looking for a relaxing heart warming read.



367 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@LizEeles @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author bio


Liz writes heart-warming and uplifting women's fiction about families and relationships, and romantic comedies full of love and laughs.

She worked as a journalist for years and brought up a family on the south coast of England, all the while writing fiction on the quiet. After being short-listed in a couple of national novel-writing competitions, her dream of being a published author came true when she was signed by Bookouture.

When not writing, Liz likes walking by the sea, catching up with friends and binge-watching box sets. She also loves hearing from readers and can be contacted at www.lizeeles.com, or on social media.

Author social media


Twitter:@lizeelesauthor



Instagram: @lizeelesauthor





Buy link


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page