top of page

'The Girl Across The Sea' by Noelle Harrison

Updated: Nov 12, 2021

Book: The Girl Across the Sea

Author: Noelle Harrison

Pub Day: Nov 10th 2021



About the Book:

Ellen looked into her daughter’s green eyes. Her chest felt tight, and her heart was cracking. If only she could be sure her secret was safe. If only she could go home to Ireland… New York, 1933. Ellen looks at her sleeping husband and precious daughter for the last time. They have longed to return home to Ireland for many years, but now the time has come, and the boat is ready to leave. But Ellen knows the dark secret she hides means she can never go back. Heart breaking into a million little pieces, she kisses her little girl goodbye and lays a precious turquoise necklace down beside her head, before fleeing into the night. Ireland, years later. Mairead’s world is falling apart. Recently separated, she has returned home to nurse her dying mother, Brigid. As Brigid passes, she calls out for her mother, Ellen, a woman Mairead knows nothing about. All alone in the world, Mairead is stricken with guilt that she couldn’t honour her mother’s last wish. She travels to New York, the last place her grandmother was seen, clutching all that she has of her – a stunning turquoise necklace and a small black-and-white photograph. Mairead’s search leads her across America to Arizona where she discovers that Ellen was on the run, a wanted woman, accused of a terrible crime. Mairead can’t believe that the young woman with laughing eyes and an innocent smile could have such a dark past. But as she uncovers the secrets and lies that forced her grandmother to abandon her only daughter, will Mairead’s own future be ruined by the shadows of her family’s secrets? Be transported to the wild west coast of Ireland by this beautiful read about the sacrifices a mother will make to protect her child. Fans of The Light Between Oceans and Lisa Wingate will adore this heart-breaking book.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Girl Across The Sea' by Noelle Harrison.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Noelle Harrison, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 10th November 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of The Light Between Oceans and Lisa Wingate will adore this heart-breaking book.' I am a fan of Lisa Wingate so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 31 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in New York and Chigaco USA 🇺🇸 and Ireland 🇮🇪, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Mairead and Ellen. The benefits of third person perspective with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



'The Girl Across The Sea' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Noelle discusses/includes war, sexual scenes, rape, drugs, abuse and death. Recommend for 16 years plus.



It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions that leaves you tasting the ocean scene and feeling the sand in your hair. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


This book is completely engage, captivating and makes you travel through time. It felt like I packed my case and went on a journey from Ireland to New York, California, Arizona and more until u returned to Ireland and then sadly it came for me to unpack my case and return to Wales. It felt like I had been on a trip of a lifetime and not only around the world but through time. I loved reading the history of Ellen and being drip fed information bit by bit until it came to the shocking reveal!!! I was NOT expecting that twist so well done Noelle!!! It's getting harder and harder to shock me and you've managed it so congratulations!! This storyline is filled with love, family, heartbreak, romance, sadness, war, suspense, history and so much more!! I became completely engaged and captivated throughout.


The characters are strong and each had their own strong personalities. I loved going on a journey with Ellie and discovering what happened, where she went and what led her there. I also enjoyed meeting Mairead and her family and going on her journey of discovery for her gran. I felt hearrtbroken for both Brigid and Ellen although I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I also felt sorry for Mairead and what she lost out on because of the past. However I do think the story ended beautifully!!!


Well done Noelle on an absolutely stunning yet heartbreaking story of love, family, loss and so much more. I'm looking forward to reading more of your books!!!



Overall a heartbreaking but beautiful story that will take you around the world and though time, filled with love, loss, romance and so much more.




Genres covered in this book include Historical Fiction and Historical Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Light Between Oceans' and Lisa Wingate.



378 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@NoelleHarrison @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio and Social Media


Noelle Harrison is the Irish author of nine novels and five plays and has been translated into over 13 different languages. Her short stories have been published in Lines of Vision, Irish Writing on Irish Art, & Gutter Magazine of New Scottish Writing. In 2016, Noelle co-founded Aurora Writers' Retreats building on 20 years’ experience of teaching creative writing in Ireland, Scotland, Norway and England. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NoelleCBHarrison











Buy Links:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page