top of page

'The Fragile Ones' by Jennifer Chase


Description

“Please Mommy, can Tessa and I go play on the swing by the creek?” the little girl begs, pushing a blonde curl from her eyes. “We’ll stay together, and we promise to be safe.” Hours later, their mother waits anxiously for her darling girls to arrive home with a list of reasons why they are late. But the front door never opens… When the bodies of eleven and twelve-year-old sisters, Tessa and Megan, are found at the bottom of a ravine—dressed in matching pastel summer outfits, their small bodies broken from the fall—Detective Katie Scott is called to one of the most shocking and heartbreaking crime scenes of her career. Carefully picking through the fragile remains, Katie makes the first of many disturbing discoveries: the girls were not biological sisters. The youngest, Megan, is a DNA match to a kidnapping case years before. The tiny number burnt into her skin the mark of a terrifying killer intent on keeping count of his collection. Her PTSD from the army triggered, Katie is left reeling as she maps other missing children in the local area. Has this twisted soul found a way to stay nearby his victims? Could he be watching now as Katie hits one dead end after another? A wild storm building, matching a fiber found during the autopsy to a nearby boatyard is the break Katie needs. But when another girl goes missing, just as lightning strikes and the power goes out, Katie only has her instincts, her team and her service dog to rely on. As time runs out for Katie to finds the stolen child alive, who will become the next number on this monster’s deadly list? Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh, you better buckle-up for the ride of your life! BEWARE – this gripping crime thriller is guaranteed to keep you up all night! Readers love The Fragile Ones: Wow!!!... a page-turning, nail-biting crime thriller!!... absolutely fantastic… had me completely hooked… filled with nail-biting suspense… keeps you on edge.’ Bookworm86, 5 stars Had me biting my nails. 5 stars.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars My heart was in my throat… kept me tapping my e-reader screen.’ Robin Loves Reading, 5 stars Oh, my goodness!… non-stop!’ Diane is Reading, 5 stars










REVIEW


Review for 'The Fragile Ones' by Jennifer Chase.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th March 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the fifth book in the 'Detective Katie Scott' series. I have read the fourth book in this series 'Last Girls Alive' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and beautiful cover and its intriguing synopsis. The synopsis stated 'Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh, you better buckle-up for the ride of your life!'. I am a fan of Melinda's books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I have also previously read 'Last Girls Alive' by Jennifer which I loved so am hoping this will be just as good. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 43 chapters. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Calofornia, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Detective Katie Scott. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Wow!!! What can I say about this page turning, nail biting crime thriller!! It was absolutely fantastically written and had me completely hooked from the first page until the last. Fantastic descriptions that really painted the picture throughout and put me in the book.


The storyline itself was unique, fast paced and filled with nail biting suspension. It was packed with action and very importantly the storyline was believable. Unfortunately, I thought I worked out the killer at approx 15%, I was wrong in who it was but not far off and then worked it out correctly by about 50% However, I have read so many crime thrillers it is getting harder and harder to shock me, it may surprise you so please don't let this put you off. There were many red herrings throughout which did make me doubt myself at time. It kept me hooked throughout and I cannot wait to read more in this series, not only the ones after but the ones I have yet to read.


I really enjoyed meeting all the characters again especially Katie and Gav but also getting to know Chad a bit more. The characters were well defined and realistic. I loved the fact that there was a strong female role model, being female myself. Katie is definitely a very likeable character who is suffering ptsd and is a force to be reckoned with. I loved her relationship with her partner Gav who is also another great character. I cannot wait to read more about the them all and follow their relationships!!


Overall a nail biting, suspense packed action crammed thriller that keeps you on edge.


Genres covered in this novel include

l, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Crime Fiction, Hardboiled, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Police Procedural amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Melinda Leigh, C. L Taylor, Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and anyone who has read any of Jennifer's previous books.


299 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


I wasn't entirely sure what to rate this as normally if I work out the perp I automatically rate the book 4/5. However my 4/5 means 'I enjoyed the book' whereas I loved it!! I decided to rate it 4.5, losing half a mark for me working out the killer. I am unable to give half ratings so will bump up to 5 as it deserves more than 4.


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JenniferChase @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










About Jennifer Chase


Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master's degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers. Jennifer Chase was born and raised in California and still lives there with her husband, dogs and cats. In addition to writing and consulting, Jennifer enjoys spending time outdoors, both at the beach and hiking, and engaging in some amateur photography. www.authorjenniferchase.com


Everyone is talking about Jennifer Chase:


THERE WAS NO WAY I WAS PUTTING THIS BOOK DOWN!!!!!… I was literally holding my breath… I HAD TO KNOW!!!!! As for the explosive ending? WOW definitely not what or who I was expecting.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


One hell of an unpredictable rollercoaster rideI almost had to read through my fingers as I feared what was going to happen next.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars


Brilliant! Brilliant! Absolutely freaking brilliant!!Shalini’s Books & Reviews, 5 stars





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page