top of page

'The Forever Home' by Sue Watson


Book Description:


You thought you’d always be safe there… you were wrong. Carly had thought they’d always live there. The beautiful Cornish cliffside house they’d taken on as a wreck, that Mark had obsessively re-designed and renovated – a project that had made him famous. It was where they’d raised their children, where they’d sat cosily on the sofa watching storms raging over the sea below. It was where they’d promised to keep each other’s secrets… Until now. Because Mark has fallen in love. With someone he definitely shouldn’t have. Someone who isn’t Carly. And suddenly their family home doesn’t feel like so much of a safe haven. Carly thinks forever should mean forever though: it’s her home and she’ll stay there. Even the dark family secrets it contains feel like they belong to her. But someone disagrees. And, as threats start to arrive at her front door, it becomes clear, someone will stop at nothing. Because someone wants to demolish every last thing that makes Carly feel safe. Forever. An utterly unputdownable psychological thriller about what lies are hidden in the most beautiful homes. Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl and The Woman in the Window.








BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Forever Home' by Sue Watson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sue Watson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 4th June 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'First Date' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Date Night, Gone Girl and The Woman in the Window'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sue and if this is half as good as 'First Date' it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a 39 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the Cornwall, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in Cornwall so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Carly. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.



Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly.


The storyline was fast paced and filled with drama, lies, twists, family, shocks, deceit and suspense. A sadly very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Sue Watson. I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! I loved the fact that everything was tied up and explained at the end and there were no loose strings. An absolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me.


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? You just have no idea who to trust and wow was I blindsighted! They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly. I had completely mixed feelings for Carly although I would definitely say I mainly felt sorry for her. I was screaming at her to tell her story but at the same time when you feel someone has a hold on you it's a different story. Mark was an absolute douche bag and I could not stand him from the moment I met him, I mean seriously??? His attitude!!! Is he for real!!?? Sadly, though that is the reality of some relationships and some people will always twist things to suit them. Erin was a right brat and I couldn't stand her. I loved Jake and Phoebe and the fact that they were so grown up about everything, I felt so sorry for what they had to grow up with though. Ryan? I'm not sure what I thought of him, did he have a hidden agenda? I guess that's the cliff hanger that will keep me guessing. Overall a very realistic, well defined and strong character line up.


Sue I hope your busy writing your next explosive page turner as I cannot wait!!!


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of C. L Taylor, Carol Wyer, Shalini Boland, 'Gone Girl' and anyone looking for an epic page turner.


391 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SueWatson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Sue Watson was a journalist on national magazines and newspapers before becoming a TV producer with the BBC. Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue explores the darker side of life, writing psychological thrillers with big twists. Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her family in leafy Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – and procrastinating. Her hobby is eating cake while watching diet and exercise programmes from the sofa, a skill she’s perfected after many years of practice. http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/ https://www.facebook.com/sue.watson.39501 https://twitter.com/suewatsonwriter



Buy Links:



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentarios

Obtuvo 0 de 5 estrellas.
Aún no hay calificaciones

Agrega una calificación
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page