top of page

'The First Time We Met' by Jo Lovett

Book Description:


What if you met The One on his wedding day?


Izzy doesn’t believe in love at first sight, but when Sam walks into the cafe where she works one winter’s morning, she knows without a doubt that he’s The One. Too bad Sam’s getting married. Today.


Nearly a year later, Izzy still can’t stop thinking about Sam, the one that got away, but she knows it’s time to move on: he’s a married man and probably wouldn’t recognise her if he passed her on the street.


But Sam has never forgotten Izzy, the funny, gorgeous woman who asked him out on his wedding day. If the timing had only been better, he knows they could have had something wonderful.


When Izzy and Sam’s paths finally cross again, everything has changed. But with the Atlantic Ocean and decades of baggage between them, they are about to find out whether some obstacles are too big for even true love to overcome.


An unforgettable love story about what happens when the stars finally align. Fans of One Day in December, The Day We Met and Jojo Moyes will fall head over heels for The First Time We Met.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The First Time We Met' by Jo Lovett.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 10th November 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing synopsis and the fact that I wanted something different to read from my usual crime and this looked perfect. The synopsis also stated that fans of JoJo Moyes will fall head over heels for this book. I am a massive fan of JoJo Moyes so it will be intriguing to see if the book lives up to that statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a 37 chapters and an epilogue set over 4 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in both London, UK 🇬🇧 and New York, USA 🇺🇸. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Izzy and Sam. The benefits of third person perspectives with several protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book is very smoothly written and very easy to read. The style kind of reminded me of Bridget Jones at times. Brilliant descriptions and captivating writing style which really had me hooked. The cover and blurb compliment Ted the storyline well.


I absolutely LOVED this book. It was a very realistic storyline which absolutely captured my interest and kept me sucked in until the end. It was an amazing and beautiful story of friendship, love, loss and a very true account of how complicated things become when you have children!!! I loved the setting which fitted the plot perfectly. It was in complete breath stopping suspense on several occasions and many times I felt like screaming at Sam and Izzy. I loved how it ended, absolutely perfect!


I absolutely loved Sam and Izzy's down to earth and realistic characters. I could have strangled them both on a few occasions mind but their personalities were excellent and they will stick with me for a while. I also loved Emma and Rohan who were both such fantastic characters who really worked well together. I could not stand Izzy's so called family but again, sadly, they are the realistic version of some 'parents'.


This would make an absolutely fantastic movie and I am looking forward to reading more of Jo's books. A very talented author who is definitely on par with the likes of JoJo Moyes. Congratulations on a very successful novel!!


Overall a very easy to read, heart warming, cosy romance which will captivate your heart.


Genres covered in this novel include Romance, Contemporary, Women's Fiction and Adult Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as Jojo Moyes and Bridget Jones along with anyone looking for a heartworming cosy story.


356 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JoLovett @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Jo Lovett lives in London with her family.


She worked in Corporate Tax before taking a longer-than-expected career break to have more-than-expected children (five). She started writing romantic comedy when she realised that she was regularly begging her oldest son to let her do his English homework but she wasn't actually that interested in haunted houses or Macbeth.


Jo was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping/ Orion First Novel Competition 2018 and shortlisted for the Comedy Women in Print Award 2019.


When she can escape from her laundry mountain and childcare, she enjoys reading, tennis and wine.






Buy Links:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page