top of page

'The Family Home' by Miranda Smith

Updated: Oct 7, 2022

Book Description:


There’s a dead man in my apartment. Only me and my ex have a key. But neither of us would have done this. We have too much to lose...I wake on the sofa, my head throbbing. How did I get here? In the darkness, I make my way to my bedroom. I turn on the lights. And then I scream.There’s a body in my bed. And I know this man: we went on two dates together. Who could have killed him? And how did he get in? Only two people have a key to the house: me and my ex-husband Matthew.I trust Matthew. With what we’re hiding, I have to. And I can’t risk the police digging into our past, or learning about the night when we drank champagne on the cliff and ruined everything.Someone knows our secret. We have to find out what they want. But am I wrong to believe Matthew, when I know how well he can lie? And how can I save myself, when the truth might destroy me?An absolutely gripping thriller that will keep you reading late into the night, unable to put the book down for a second. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Family Home' by Miranda Smith.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Miranda Smith, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 3rd October 2022.


This is the fifth.book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The One Before', 'The Killer's Family', 'His Loving Wife' and 'Not My Mother' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An absolutely gripping thriller that will keep you reading late into the night, unable to put the book down for a second. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Miranda and if this is half as good as 'Not My Mother', 'His Loving Wife', 'The Killer's Family' and 'The One Before ' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 56 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective with the main protagonists are Lillian and Matthew. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.



WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fairplay!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MIRANDA SMITH!!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! Extremely well written book which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline.


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoilt it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and I really do think this one is definitely in the top 3 when it comes to dropping bombshells. I am, in fact still shell shocked!! Just brilliant fairplay and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! I found the storyline to be unique as I have yet to read any other books about 'nesting'. In fact, this is the first time I've ever heard of the idea and, apart from in this page turner, I think it is an absolutely fantastic idea and that many couples could learn by doing this or at least by putting effort in!! I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!


THE plot throughout is rammed with suspense, romance, family, mystery, lies, surprises, tension and did I say surprises!!! Well done Miranda this is exactly the reason you are on my favourite author list!! I am looking forward to reading more of your books and when oh when is this going to be turned into the movie of the year!!! Gone Girl and many others have NOTHING on this one!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I loved getting to know every single one of the characters and thought they were portrayed perfectly with great character development. They were all realistic with their own little quirks and I liked each (well almost each) one for different reasons. I was completely invested in them and thought they were all unique with their own quirks. I was completely shocked when it came to the reveal but I can't say anything else without spoiling it for others!!!


Congratulations Miranda on yet another explosive success!!! This is why you are one of my favourite psychological thriller authors. Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! "


Overall an absolutely page turning, explosive must read that will leave you shocked!!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Suspense, Domestic Suspense, Murder Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Women's Psychological Fiction and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, fans of Miranda Smith's previous books, Sheryl Browne, Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!!



320 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £7.99 in paperback which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MirandaSmith @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Miranda Smith writes psychological and domestic suspense. She is drawn to stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. Before completing her first novel, she worked as a newspaper staff writer and a secondary English teacher. She lives in East Tennessee with her husband and three young children



Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Miranda Smith here: https://www.bookouture.com/miranda-smith




Purchase Link



Audio Links:



Listen to a sample here: 


You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love athttp://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo








18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page