top of page

'The Family Across The Street' by Nicole Trope



Book Description:


Sometimes, the most perfect families are hiding the most terrible secrets. How well do you know the people next door…? Everybody wants to live on Hogarth Street, the pretty, tree-lined avenue with its white houses. The new family, The Wests, are a perfect fit. Katherine and Josh seem so in love and their gorgeous five-year-old twins race screeching around their beautiful emerald-green lawn. But soon people start to notice: why don’t they join backyard barbecues? Why do they brush away offers to babysit? Why, when you knock at the door, do they shut you out, rather than inviting you in? Every family has secrets, and on the hottest day of the year, the truth is about to come out. As a tragedy unfolds behind closed doors, the dawn chorus is split by the wail of sirens. And one by one the families who tried so hard to welcome the Wests begin to realise: Hogarth Street will never be the same again. A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and Lisa Jewell.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Family Across The Street' by Nicole Trope.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Nicole Trope, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 6th August 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girl Who Never Came Home' which I also recommend. This book was previously titled 'Home Sweet Home' .



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A completely gripping, twist-packed psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Lisa Jewell.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Nicole Trope and if this is half as good as' The Girl Who Never Came Home' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 47 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Sydney, Australia 🇦🇺.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Logan, Gladys and Katherine . The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


'The Family Across The Street' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Nicole discusses/includes threats to children.



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT HAVE I JUST READ!?!?!? Nicole Trope you are a writing legend!!!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all listening to the cicadas scream and feeling the sweat run down their backs. This book was previously titled 'Home Sweet Home' but I think 'The Family Across The Street' suited it perfectly along with the cover and synopsis.


This book has got to be the most heart racing books I've read I a long time, of not ever!!! It had be hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx 2am, read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!! I loved that you got to see everything that was going on from Katherine who was in the middle of it all, Gladys who was a concerned neighbour and Logan who is an ex con minding his own business doing his delivery drops. It really does make you think how life can change so quickly and different decisions can change a life. It also makes you think how looks can be deceiving. I really liked Logan from the start and along with Logan all the characters were realistic, well developed and had strong characteristics and personalities. I did absolutely NOT expect that humongous bombshell at all. What an absolute twist!!! I can hand on my heart say that I cannot remember when I was so gobsmacked by a book twist but Nicole you have done just that!!! This book is rammed with suspense and tension and will keep you biting your nails, on the edge of your seat with your heart pounding while your flipping the pages because you just cant stop.


If you read one book on your life, make sure it is this!!!! I would love to see this turned into a movie and Nicole I really hope you are working on your next psychological thriller at this moment because this book will go far!!! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on what promises to be a MASSIVE success!!!



Overall an absolutely heart racing, nail biting, unputdownable psychological thriller with a bomb shell you will not see coming!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, anyone who has read any of Nicole's previous books AND YOU, YOUR FRIENDS, YOUR FAMILY AND JUST EVERYONE!!! .



224 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@NicoleTrope @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Nicole Trope went to university to study Law but realised the error of her ways when she did very badly on her first law essay because, as her professor pointed out, ‘It’s not meant to be a story.’ She studied teaching instead and used her holidays to work on her writing career and complete a Masters’ degree. In between raising three children, working for her husband and renovating houses, she has published six novels. She lives in Sydney, Australia. https://www.facebook.com/NicoleTrope/ https://www.instagram.com/nicoletropeauthor/ https://twitter.com/nicoletrope



Buy Links:







53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page