top of page

'The Ex'by S.E Lynes


Author: S.E. LYNES


Book: The Ex

Publication Day: August 26th 2022


Book Description:

The love of your life… or a deadly mistake?


It’s hard, meeting your ex after so much time apart. You remember the tears and accusations, the desperate look on his face as he punched the wall, but you try not to show it. You smile politely, even while your heart beats faster.




You watch as he looks down into the stroller, at the beautiful blond-haired blue-eyed baby kicking his little legs in the sunshine, whose innocent smile lights up your world.




You see his face change. You know what he’s thinking.




The next day he calls. His voice is shaking. He wants the truth. Is it his child?




You hesitate, your throat dry, good and bad memories swirling in your mind. You’ve missed him so much… but can you ever trust him again?




You decide that the most important thing is doing what’s right for baby Tom. But months later, when the sirens wail in the night, you have to admit: you never thought either of you would go this far…




A brilliantly twisty psychological thriller from no.1 bestselling author S.E. Lynes about a relationship full of secrets and lies. Fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell and Gillian Flynn will be gripped by The Ex.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Ex' by S.E Lynes.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for S.E Lynes, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 26th August 2022.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Housewarming', 'Can You See Her?', 'The Baby Shower'and 'Her Sister's Secret' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell and Gillian Flynn will be gripped by The Ex.' I am a huge fan of Lisa so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of S.E Lynes and if this is as good as 'Can You See Her?', 'The Housewarming', 'The Baby Shower'and 'Her Sister's Secret' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 64 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Lyme Regis, Dorset, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and holdayed in Dorset on many occasions including going there on holiday last and this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Sam Moore, Joyce Naomi Harper and Miranda Clarke. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


'The Ex' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book S.E Lynes discusses/includes domestic abuse amd gaslighting.


OMG!!! JUST WOW!!! Yet another fantastic psychological thriller that will keep you hooked and on your toes throughout!! Well done S.E Lynes!!!


This book is extremely well written with descriptions that leave your heart pounding and feeling the hairs on your arms raise. The storyline is filled with suspense, friendship, deceipt, love, secrets, loss, lies and some shocking twists and turns!!!


I was completely gripped throughout this page turning thriller. I enjoyed seeing what was going on through both Sam, Joyce and Naomi's eyes and I love at the end how everything is wrapped up neatly for the reader I must admit a pet hate of mine with books is unnecessary loose ends. I absolutely loved the explosive ending which I was not at all expecting!!! I was completely invested throughout the storyline and addicted throughout. Considering this book is a psychological thriller I must admit that I think it took me through every possible emotion from anger to horror, happiness to devastation, suspense to dispair. I was absolutely devastated by several actions/twists in this book and I wish I could go into more detail but I really don't want to spoil any of the twists and bombshells for future readers. I have absolutely loved every sing book that I have read by this extremely talented author and the fact that she not only writes unputdownable books but intricately weaves in such vital topics I really wish every one would pick up one of her books to see just how amazing she is and how much they have lost out on by not picking one up yet !!!


S.E. Lynes covers so many topics in this book and she has done it extremely well weaving them perfectly through the storyline. I will try to cover some of them in this review without giving too much away. I believe the first one that was pointed out really was COVID and all the different effects it had on different people . Susie really couldn't have put it more perfectly in this book than how she does. Some people now stay in a lot more after lockdown after becoming used to the isolation,others went out partying the second they could, others suffered with anxiety, many suffered from loss. As Susie says it affected everyone in one way ot another. She managed to capture the devastation of COVID and describe it perfectly. The next topic she covers and the main one really is toxic relationships and whether it is a good idea to go back to one. Can people change? The book also covers topics of domestic abuse and gaslighting by females which, again, are topics not often found in fiction or even non fiction books yet should be spoken about more regularly to help the victims of these events. A HUGE congratulations to S. E. Lynes for covering these topics and for the research that would have gone into them. I am sure your book will make a few readers feel better or seek help needed after reading this and maybe coming to the realisation that what has happened to them can be talked about and help is out there. Again to cover such unique topics in books and weave them into an addictive storyline could not have been an easy feat but SE Lynes has done it perfectly!!! It also covers in how our pasts and personalities can change and mould our futures and how we can sometimes linger on something that has happened which then fester into a posion or even anger. I've said plenty in how many great topics have been covered in this book so I won't say anymore as I don't want to bore you but it definitely leaves you with food for thought and is a book that will stay with you for a long time after!




AN ADDICTIVE BOOK THAT I WOULD ABSOLUTELY LOVE TO SEE MADE INTO WHAT WOULD PROMISE TO BE A BLOCKBUSTER MOVIE!!!


The characters were all very strong and realistic and there was a good range of personalities throughout. I became completely invested in Sam and my heart absolutely tore in half for everything that he was going through. He was such a hard working man and you could see him falling into a crevice of depression and heartbreak which was just absolutely heartbreaking. Joyce was such a perfect and sweet Gran to Sam and their relationship was absolutely beautiful. To see an older man look after and help his Gran the way he did is something that I miss seeing in real life. Miranda was such an amazing friend to Sam and I'm very happy with certain things. Well, as for Naomi.......

I think I best leave my character evaluation here as a) what I have to say may get me removed from a few places and b) will probably give too much away so you'll just have to pick up a copy to fill in the gaps won't you!! A great mix of characters to love and hate that made the book perfect.


A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS SUSIE ON AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE MUST READ. YET ANOTHER SUCCESS AND HERE'S TO YOUR NEXT ONE 🥂



THIS IS EXACTLY WHY YOU ARE ONE OF MY FAVOURITE AUTHORS. EACH BOOK IS UNIQUE AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOUR SECRET IS BUT YOU JUST KEEP GETTING BETTER AND BETTER!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!



Overall a must read, absolutely addictive gripping thriller filled with friendship with an explosive ending that will stay with you for a long time.


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn , Shari Lapena and anyone who loves an addictive book with an unexpected twist!


367 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or £9.99 for paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SELynes @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:

A former BBC Producer, S.E. Lynes has lived in France, Spain, Scotland and Italy and is now settled in Greater London. After completing her MA, she taught creative writing at Richmond Adult Community College for ten years. She now combines writing, mentoring and lecturing in Richmond Borough.



Author Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/se-lynes




Buy link(s)











17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page