top of page

'The Ex Boyfriend' BY Rona Halsall

Author: Rona Halsall

Book: The Ex Boyfriend

Publication Day: 30/09/20


Description:


He promised to love her until her dying day…

When Becca’s first love shows up on her social media feed, she can’t help but smile fondly. Once upon a time Connor was the love of her life, and though it was over ten years ago, he’s always held a place in her heart.


Then he sends her a message. He sounds happy – still kind and funny, still living across the world in Australia. But he wants to know everything about her life now. How can Becca tell him the truth? About her workaholic husband, her stressful job, and the challenges of caring for her elderly father and her longed-for, adorable but exhausting three-year-old daughter Mia?


Becca hesitates, knowing she shouldn’t even reply. But Connor lives on the other side of the world. Just how dangerous can becoming friends again be?


It feels harmless. Until Mia gets sick – in a way that no one can explain. And it starts to become clear – someone will do absolutely anything to make sure Becca never escapes her past…


A completely unputdownable psychological thriller – perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Girl on the Train, and The Woman at the Window.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Ex Boyfriend' by Rona Halsall


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 30th September 2020


This is the second book that I have read by this author. The first book I read by her is called 'Her Mother's Lies' which I really enjoyed and Rated 5/5.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and beautiful cover and interesting sounding blurb. I was also drawn to the fact that I have already read one good book by this author so am hoping this will be just as good I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 40 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so ideal to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Becca. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters.


This book is based in Llandudno, Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK and even more so when they are set in Wales as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. In this case I have visited Llandudno so this should make it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times.


Wow!! Well what can I say!!! Well done Rona, you've done it again!!! Another cracking unputdownable psychological thriller!!! The book sucked me straight in from the first gripping chapter to the fantastic finalé. Very well written with fantastic descriptions that really kept me in the pages.


The storyline was scarily realistic and the authour has definitely done her research!! I liked the fact that mental illness cases are being written about more now and that the research is actually going into them. The story was written in both the presebt and had flashbacks from the past which tied in nicely and worked smoothly with the storyline. I LOVED the fact that I thought I knew what was going on just to have that bombshell thrown in. I was not expecting that!! Plenty of red herrings, action, drama, suspense, lies and tension to keep any reader hooked and guessing away. There's nothing worse than guessing what's going on when your not even half way through a book. I thought I had it sussed but not until about 70% and even then I was wrong.


I loved the different range of characters presented and how realistic they all were all with their own personalities, strengths and flaws. I loved watching how Becca's character developed and strengthened throughout the novel and the different relationships she had with friends and family.


This would make an excellent movie and I am looking forward to reading more of this very talented author's books. Well done Rona you have got on my favourite authour list!!


Overall an unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you hooked and guessing throughout.


Genres covered include , Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Police Noir Fiction and Crime Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Gone Girl and anyone who loves a good page turner.


297 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED IT! ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RonaHalsall @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she's actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true.


She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she's plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because... well, you can't be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.


She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!


Social Media Links:


To find out more about Rona's novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.





Buy Links









2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page