top of page

'The Doppelganger' by Cole Baxter

Updated: Mar 19, 2023


Book Description


All is not as it seems. And neither is Jeffrey.


Emmeline Hopkins-Keller is in paradise, sharing a luxurious holiday on a tropical island with her husband Jeffrey and his family. But it’s hard to relax and enjoy it when she knows her marriage is in deep trouble.


One fateful night, a cataclysmic argument between Emmeline and Jeffrey sends him fleeing into the deep, dark forest. A day later he is still missing, leaving everyone shocked and bewildered.


Then, a miracle. Jeffrey turns up unharmed and wants to reconcile. But something is horribly wrong. He looks and sounds like Jeffrey, but Emmeline is 100% sure he's not the man she married. Even if everyone in his family is welcoming this stranger with open arms.


Which leaves her wondering, who exactly is this imposter? And how can he deceive everyone around him? And most of all – what are his plans for Emmeline?


Struggling to believe that everyone around her is lying, Emmeline begins to doubt herself, to lose her grip on reality. Only one thing is certain – when she finally uncovers the terrifying truth, her life will be changed forever.


Dripping with intrigue, The Doppelganger is an enthralling psychological thriller that will surprise you at every turn.









BLOG TOUR REVIEW 



Review for 'The Doppelganger' by Cole Baxter. 



Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Cole Baxter and Inkubator Books. 



Publication date 8th March 2023.



This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Perfect Suitor' which I would highly recommend. 



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and unique cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am a huge fan of Cole and if this is half as good as his 'The Perfect Suitor' then it is guaranteed to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator Books. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). 



This novel consists of 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in the fictional Paradise Island. 




This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Emmeline Keller. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



WOW!!! I WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT TWIST!!! 



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly. 



The storyline was captivating from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of family, secrets, shocks, deceit,  tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. The atmosphere of Paradise was absolutely stunning and seeing how "the other half" live. This is one of those books that you just cannot put down!! Each and every time I said just one more chapter something happened and I had to read another and then another until next thing I know I had completely devoured the whole book in one sitting. I don't think I have ever read a book where I am constantly questioning myself and wondering what on Earth was going on and who was telling the truth as much as I did in this book. Cole's evocative writing skills puts the reader in the middle of the Island with all the characters coming to life around them. 

The book began with a shock and ends in another one and I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie. I was absolutely disgusted about what a certain character was doing to another and how they thought there was nothing wrong with how they treated them was absolutely mind blowing but sadly also realistic. I don't want to say too much as I don't want to spoil anything for future readers but I do want to say congratulations to Cole on bringing a certain "topic" to light and show it doesn't just happen one way. Arggh!! So annoying I can't say more but you'll just have to grab your copy today and find out what I mean!!  



Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!! 



The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in them throughout. Unfortunately I am unable to say anything on how I feel about any of them without giving any of the storyline away. Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!! 



Congratulations Cole on yet another huge success. This is EXACTLY why you are one of my favourite male authors!! Here's to your next success 🥂!! 



Overall an absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with an explosive twist!! 




Genres covered in this book include Domestic Thriller, Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Thriller, Women's Psychological Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Mystery, and Suspense Thriller and Psychological Fiction amongst others. 




I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Mark Edwards, Cathryn Grant, Daniel Hurst and anyone looking for an explosive psychological thriller with a shocking twist!!! 



366 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £10.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews#TheDoppelganger



@TheDoppelganger @ColeBaxter @inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @Booksprout @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @Netgalley 


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86














Author Bio


Cole Baxter loves writing psychological suspense thrillers. It’s all about that last reveal that he loves shocking readers with.


He grew up in New York, where there crime was all around. He decided to turn that into something positive with his fiction.


His stories will have you reading through the night—they are very addictive!


Sign up for Cole’s VIP Reader Club and find out about his latest releases, giveaways, and more here http://eepurl.com/dqL8yT




Social Media Links


Facebook: https:// www.facebook.com/ ColeBaxterAuthor/


Instagram: https:// www.instagram.com/ colebaxterauthor/


Goodreads: https:// www.goodreads.com/ book/ show/ 122782457-the-doppelganger





Purchase Link


Amazon: https:// geni.us/ adnA8el











11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page