top of page

The Doctor's Widow by Daniel Hurst. Review



The Doctor's Widow: A completely unputdownable and addictive psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist (The Doctor's Wife Book 2)



Book Description


She trusted him. Now she’s paying the price…


I loved my husband, Doctor Drew Devlin, but he betrayed me. And now he’s dead.


As I put the key in the lock and open the door to the luxurious new home I’ve purchased with Drew’s life insurance money, I’m certain the worst days are behind me. My secret is safe, and I can’t wait to enjoy my new wealth and freedom.


Then I meet handsome Roger. I wasn’t looking for a relationship but as we spend our evenings drinking wine on my sunny terrace, I realise he’s just what I need right now. Roger is nothing like Drew, he’s spontaneous and romantic. And most of all, he’s honest.


He thinks I’m a rich, lonely woman. He’s wrong of course, there’s so much more to me…


But then one night, when we’re curled up in bed together, Roger says something that makes my blood run cold. I think he knows the truth about my life as the doctor’s wife.


I will do anything to stop my past from catching up with me… But is Roger really who he says he is? Or is my life now in danger?


An absolutely gripping psychological thriller packed with jaw-dropping twists from the number one bestselling author of The Doctor’s Wife. If you love Behind Closed Doors, Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train you’ll be hooked on The Doctor’s Widow.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Doctor's Widow' by Daniel Hurst.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Daniel Hurst, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 23rd August 2023.



This is the fourth book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in 'The Doctor's Wife' series. It can be read as a standalone but I would recommend you read it after 'The Doctor's Wife' to get a better picture of the characters and storylines. I have previously read the first book in this series 'The Doctor's Wife', 'My Daughter's Boyfriend' and 'The Holiday Home'.


This novel consists of a prologue, 36 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVE, THRILLING, UNPUTDOWNABLE HEART RACING AND EXPLOSIVE BOOK THAT WILL KEEP YOU UP LATE AT NIGHT UNTIL YOU TURN THE LAST PAGE!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.



I absolutely loved this unique page turning explosive page turner. It is the absolutely perfect follow on from 'The Doctor's Wife' and just as addictive!!! I was so glad when I found out about this book and it definitely exceeded my expectations. However I can't say I'm surprised as Daniel is an extremely talented author!! I was absolutely absorbed throughout this psychological thriller. It is filled with tension, suspense, lies, secrets, deceit, romance, love, aand omg the twist!!! I DID NOT see the twists coming at all and there were more than one!!! Just when I think everything had been worked out and things were settling down BOOM there was another bombshell!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Daniel!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! I absolutely LOVED how it ended and I am on tenterhooks waiting for the next book in this series 'The Doctor's Mistress ' to come out. I only found out today that there was another one coming out and I am absolutely landed as when I finished this one I shouted out No Way it can't end there and although Daniel has left us on a cliffhanger at least there's another book coming. Oh and yes I did get a few strange looks when I shouted that out considering I had wireless earbuds in listening to the audiobook 😂!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! One of the others is 'The Doctor's Wife'. Daniel, You have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books!!! I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! I loved that the book is told from Fern, Alice, Greg and Tomlin's perspectives and each of their stories/chapters were perfectly weaved together to show us everything that is going on and how each of them are thinking and feeling throughout. The storyline is filled with crime, shocks, suspense, tension, deceit, and murder. There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. This book is absolutely addictive and I read it in one sitting. I absolutely loved the cliff hanging explosive twist at the end that leaves you wanting more! It kept me on the edge of my seat, biting my nails with my heart absolutely pounding throughout especially at the end! I really am looking forward to the next book by this extremely talented author. A gripping, all consuming addictive addition to an absolutely amazing series!!!


Although this is the second book in the series I would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened to 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrators Sarah Durham and Luke R Francis who both did an amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life. I have previously listened to Liz Lawler's 'The Nurse's Secret', 'The Doctors Wife' and 'The Family On Smith Street' that were all also narrated by Sarah Durham and I would highly recommend listening to or reading them all as it they re other fantastic page turners from other great authors!! I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Daniel but also to listening to more books narrated by both Sarah and Luke!



The characters were all strong and realistic and thanks to Daniel's absolutely fantastic writing skills and Sarah Dunham and Luke R Francis's amazing narrative skills they all come to life when you are turning the pages. I loved meeting Fern and Alice along with meeting several new characters. When I came to the end of 'The Doctors Wife' I just HAD to know what was going to happen with them both next so I was over the moon when I found out that it was going to be turned into a series and it definitely lived up to my expectations and I just KNOW that the next book in this series 'The Doctors Mistress' is going to be just as epic and I can't wait to get stuck into that too!! Daniel's creative and evocative writing skills ensured all the characters came to life and along with getting to know more about Fern and Alice I enjoyed getting to meet and learn more about the other characters which included Greg and Tomlin. Fern has become the sort of character that I love to hate and part of me wants her to get caught while the other is trying to warn her what is going on to let her get away!!! It is amazing how much emotions Daniel's characters evoke in the reader!!! It is hard to say too much about the characters as I am worried I will give too much away and I really don't want to spoil it for future readers. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all worked perfectly together to make this an addictive and explosive storyline and series!!!



This is exactly why you are one of my favourite male authors Daniel! An absolute must read author!! I cannot wait to read all your previous and future books!! Here's to your next success 🥂



Overall another absolutely heart racing, suspense filled, unputdownable addictive page turner psychological thriller filled with twists in this EPIC series!!




236 pages/ 6 hours 54 minutes



This book is just £1.99 to purchase, free with kindle unlimited, £7.99 on paperback, £16 for the audiobook and £7.99 for the audiobook with Audible via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@TheDoctorsWidow @TheDoctorsWife @DanielHurst @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook
























Author Bio


Daniel Hurst writes psychological thrillers and loves to tell tales about unusual things happening to normal people. He has written all his life, making the progression from handing scribbled stories to his parents as a boy to writing full length novels in his thirties. He lives in the North West of England, returning to his roots after several years away exploring the world and garnering plenty of ideas for future books!





Social media





Author newsletter sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/daniel-hurst/







Purchase Link








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page