top of page

'The Do Over' by Sharon M. Peterson

Updated: Aug 2, 2022


Book Description


“Look, you’re a nice girl but I don’t think we should see each other anymore.” The voicemail ends and I freeze in the dentist’s chair as I realize… I’ve just been dumped on live radio.


It took the most humiliating break-up for me to see that my life is in serious need of a do-over. Cue my anti New Year’s resolutions that even I can’t fail at:


  1. Stop dating. (Men are the worst.

  2. Stop trying to lose weight. (I’m never giving up chocolate.)

  3. Stop working so hard. (Selling mortgages is not my dream career.)

  4. Stop trying to live up to unrealistic expectations. (Start living my best life.)

  5. Stop trying to please my mother. (It’s not possible.)


But it turns out number five is harder than I thought, as she begins her campaign to get me back with my ex. So, what’s the perfect solution to keep her out of my love life? An imaginary boyfriend—at least he was supposed to be imaginary until I blurted out my neighbor’s name…


Nate, the bad boy next door with gorgeous hazel eyes, a razor-sharp jawline and a mysterious scar, might be hot, but he’s definitely not my boyfriend. Now all I need to do is stick to my resolutions while also keeping my interfering family away from my non-existent lover who has no idea that we’re fake dating. What could possibly go wrong?


A completely addictive, feel-good rom-com perfect for fans of TikTok sensations The Love Hypothesis, The Unhoneymooners, and Sarah Adams. An absolutely hilarious page-turner for anyone who feels they need to start living life to the fullest.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Do-Over' by Sharon M. Peterson. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sharon M. Peterson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 1st August 2022.


This is Sharon M. Peterson's debut novel. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its  eye catching unique cover and intriguing as well as hilarious sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A completely addictive, feel-good rom-com perfect for fans of TikTok sensations The Love Hypothesis, The Unhoneymooners, and Sarah Adams.' I am a huge fan of Sarah Adams so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 48 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸 


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Perci Mayfield. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.  


OMG!!!! I CANNOT REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I LAUGHED SO MUCH AND FELT SO GOOD BECAUSE OF A BOOK!!!


What an absolutely page turning, refreshing, laugh a MINUTE, emotional and amazing read!!!! It is perfectly written to hook the reader in and the title, cover and synopsis is perfect for the storyline. 


I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this book which got me hook, line and sinker!! I absolutely devoured it in one reading and was completely absorbed throughout!! I loved that it feels that Perci is talking directly to me over a cup of tea at the kitchen table. I couldn't stop laughing from the first page to the end. I adore the fact that although there are quite sad moments and emotional times that within minutes Perci or Mimi has you laughing until you are in tears again. This book is a complete breathe of fresh air and is the perfect mix of 'Bridesmaids' and 'The Hangover' and 'Bridget Jones Diaries' but funnier!!!! I genuinely couldn't recommend this book any more!!!! This is the most hilarious book I have read this year. If you are looking for a light hearted read filled with romance, alcohol, love, comedy, friendship, family and so, so much more you are in the right place!! I absolutely adored the quotes/sayings from Mimi some which made me laugh out loud and others that had me deep in thought! I thought the plus size body representation and inspiration of being happy in your own body was absolutely fantastic and much needed in these times when all we see around us are adverts and programmes with slimmer ladies and not enough representations of larger sized people in romances especially. This book is thought provoking and feel good filled with positive vibes and humour!!! I loved the way it ended and it is such a heart warming page turner I'm tempted to read it all over again!!!


It is shocking to think this is Sharon's first book when it is an absolute page turner and written perfectly!!! I was devastated when I came to the end of this book and really hope that Sharon is writing her next success as I am writing this!! 


I read approximately half of this book on kindle and listened to approximately half on audio book. I must also give a huge congratulations to the narrator Elise Roth who not only brought the storyline to life by really portraying the emotions through his voice but by doing absolutely fantastic impressions of males and females with different accents so a HUGE congratulations Elise!! I cannot imagine that this was anywhere near an easy feat!!! I am looking forward to discovering more books read by yourself as you definitely have a perfect "book" voice!! I sometimes struggle to absorb the storyline through an audio book but if you are the same as me I can promise you will not have that problem with this amazing narrator!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them especially Perci who I thought was absolute hilarious and who I absolutely LOVED getting to know!!! Perci teaches women everywhere to live life to their fullest and to love themselves as they are. I loved watching Perci's personality transformation and character growth throughout the book and she is definitely a character I won't be forgetting anytime soon. I adored her relationship with the Sal who, even though he is a fish and can't talk, made me laugh on several occasions just by swimming in his bowl!! Brent and Joel Allen were both absolute ends of bells!! I could not stand the low life idiots who didn't have dress senses, loved themselves and don't deserve a relationship with a flea let alone any of the fantastic women in this book!!! I absolutely LOVED and ADORED Mimi who was larger than life and reminds me such of my beautiful Gran who was also larger than life and would say it as it is!!! Her quoted were hilarious and thought provoking and I'm tempted to print them up and put them all over my house!!! Mathias was another absolutely amazing larger than life character who was an amazing friend at times and then others was a right div but still a huge lovable one!!! My heart went out to him at times. Whether you love them or hate them each of these characters come together perfectly to make this an absolutely epic page turner!!!


If you have never read this book you, my friend, are SERIOUSLY missing out!! This is a book you will never forget and will have tears streaming down your face in laughter and will make you feel amazing!! 


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Sharon on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more of your future books. I would love to see this turned into a series along with becoming a top hit movie!! Congratulations you are now one my favorite romcom authors!! Here's to your next success 🥂 


Overall a laugh a minute, thought provoking, heart warming, feel good and addictive genuine page turner that will have you crying with laughter and happiness. 


Genres covered in this book include Women's Fiction, Romance, Humour, Romantic Comedy, General Humourous Fiction and Comedy amongst others. 


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Love Hypothesis', 'The Unhoneymooners', Sarah Adams, Mark David Woollard, Bridget Jones and anyone looking for a feel good, heartwarming page turner!!


335 pages/ 9 hours 18 minutes audiobook reading time. 


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! This book is £18.29 on audionook. 


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 



@TheDoOver @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @SharonMPeterson









Author Bio


Sharon M. Peterson is a former middle school teacher and has the personality to prove it. One of her favorite quotes is from Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath: “It was her habit to build up laughter out of inadequate materials.” She strives to tackle life that way and create characters who do the same. She lives in Washington with her husband and four children, including two autistic sons. She has one cat, two dogs, one tattoo, and an intense fear of poodles (don’t ask). She can usually be found hunched over her computer, creating characters and stories she hopes you’ll love as much as she does.


AUTHOR SOCIAL MEDIA


Twitter:@stone4031


Instagram: @stone4031


Facebook: @SharonMPetersonAuthor








Purchase Link













56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page