top of page

'The Crash' by Catherine Miller

The Crash: An absolutely unputdownable and heartbreaking page-turner by Catherine Miller


Book Description


A split-second decision can change everything… At the edge of a forest, a husband and wife are driving through the winding lanes. When a song comes on the radio, the song that brought the high-school sweethearts together on a dancefloor forty years ago, they turn to each other. That split second – a stolen glance as memories wash over them – is one of their last. Moments later, their car crashes. Yet from tragedy, comes hope… Two strangers lie in hospital, their lives hanging in the balance. After a near-fatal accident, it’s a miracle that Zach survived. And with a life-long heart condition, Chloe didn’t think she would make it past her twenties. But that day, Chloe and Zach’s lives are saved when they each receive a heart. Gifted a rare second chance, it’s up to them not to waste it – to make the most of every moment. They don’t know it, but they are inextricably linked. And until Chloe and Zach find one another – two hearts searching for their missing part – their new lives can never begin… Will they be able to find each other before it’s too late? An absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking tale that will make you reach for the tissues but ultimately leave you with a smile. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will fall head over heels for this emotional and unforgettable story about making every second count.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Crash' by Catherine Miller


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Catherine Miller, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 30th March 2022.

This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read Catherine's 'The Missing Piece' and 'The Girl Who Couldn't Leave' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will fall head over heels for this unforgettable story about making every second count.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Catherine and if this is half as good as 'The Missing Piece and' The Girl Who Couldn't Leave' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 52 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Catherine has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Zack, Chloe, Mike and Susan. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Congratulations Catherine on yet another fantastic page turner!!! An absolute must read with vivid descriptions that set the scene for you. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Grab the tissues and clear your schedules as you will not be able to put this down!!!


I think one of the things I enjoyed most about this storyline is that although it was both heart warming and heart breaking it actually carries an extremely important message on how important donations are whether blood, marrow or organ and how your donation can save someone's life. I regularly donate blood and am on the list for marrow and although several people do this many more are always needed. Congratulations Catherine, I don't belive I've ever actually read another book that highlights the importance organ donations before especially during such an enjoyable storyline. If you can get yourselves booked in to donate blood, marrow or sign up to be an organ donor!!


The storyline is realistic and filled with love, loss, heartbreak, tears, important messages, fun, tragedies, romance, family and more. I was completely absorbed from the first page until late at night when I could only put it down because I'd finished it. A light hearted full of love and hope page turner with a serious message. It is a gorgeous book and can be read in the sun or curled up next to the fire. I was completely invested in the storyline throughout and on several occasions my heart was in my throat with what was happening. Make sure you read to the end where you will disciver Catherine's personal story that was extremely touching especially as I also have twins myself. The moment where several people met up (I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers) was extremely touching and definitely had me reaching for the tissues.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. I love the fact that we could see what both Susan and Mike were doing previously and what led them to what happened.


This would make an absolutely stunning movie that I would love to watch!!


I was completely invested in the characters and I loved Zack, Chloe, Mike and Susan's characters. I also really enjoyed meeting Larry, Alice and Leona. They were all larger than life, realistic, strong and very likeable. I really enjoyed watching their friendship and relationship between not only Chloe and Zack grow but also Zack's friendship with Larry and Chloe's relationship with Alice and Leona. Larry was an amazing friend to Zack throughout and it was lovely to see such a close male bond between friends. Chloe was also very lucky to have such amazing sisters in Alice and Leona who stood by and supported her every step of the way. I would love to have a sister half as amazing and supportive as they were. I adored Chloe and Susan immediately but I must admit there were several moments were both Zack and Mike needed a stern talking to with some of the things they both did. However, they both realised their mistakes and I grew to enjoy their characters more afterwards. I really enjoyed Chloe and Zack's development throughout the book and loved watching them grow from strength to strength. A great eclectic mix of characters who worked perfectly for this storyline.


ABSOLUTELY loved this book Catherine and here's to hoping you've started on your next page turner. Watch out JoJo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks and Diane Chamberlain you have some serious competition here!!


Overall an unputdownable addictive emotional rollercoaster drama with a sprinkle of love, heartbreak, friendship and a serious message.



Genres covered in this novel include Fiction, Romance and Contemporary Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of JoJo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, Nicholas Sparks, Diane Chamberlain and anyone who loves a good read.




297 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CatherineMiller @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








About the author


When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.

Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.

Author social media




Buy links




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page