top of page

The Couple Next Door by Cole Baxter. Review



Book Blurb


A hotshot lawyer with the world at her feet. A stranger determined to destroy her.

 

Hotshot defense lawyer Amber Dennis has it all. She's a successful attorney and the proud owner of a luxurious new condo, an expensive car, and a fat bank account. Not to mention a blossoming relationship with the gorgeous David Grant.

 

Amber's perfect life is shattered when she starts receiving threatening emails. At first, she brushes them off. After all, she can't help but make a few enemies in her line of work.

 

But when the threats become more real, she can no longer ignore them. Someone out there wants to destroy her. Who could it be, and why are they targeting her?

 

As her world implodes, Amber decides she's not going down without a fight. She's determined to find out who is threatening her and why.

 

What she doesn’t realise is her stalker is a lot closer than she thinks. And convinced that Amber has wronged them terribly, they'll stop at nothing to make her pay the ultimate price.

 

The Couple Next Door is a nail-biting psychological thriller that packs a powerful punch.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Couple Next Door' by Cole Baxter.



Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Cole Baxter and Inkubator Books.


Publication date 28th May 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Perfect Suitor' and 'The Doppelganger' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and unique cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am a huge fan of Cole and if this is half as good as his 'The Perfect Suitor' and 'The Doppelganger' then it is guaranteed to be a page turner!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Inkubator Books. I have yet to read a book published by Inkubator Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based Los Angeles, California ,USA 🇺🇸.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Amber Dennis. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and put you in the storyline. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.



Another fantastic read by this brilliant author!!!The storyline was captivating from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of drama, shocks, tension, twists, suspense and everything you could ask for in a page turning psychological thriller. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. We are sucked straight into Amber's story through first person perspective which Cole ensures the reader feels like Amber is speaking to the directly. Amber is a hotshot defence lawyer that seems to have everything in life. She has a fantastic successful career, a brilliant relationship with the gorgeous and charming David Grant and a stunningly luxurious condo!!! What's not to love about her life??? How about the threatening emails she starts to receive that start to escalate from bad to worse? Amber isn't concerned at first as she knows she has made plenty of enemies being a lawyer, I mean what lawyer hasn't?? They wouldn't be a very good one if they didn't have several angry enemies. However when they become more threatening she realises it's more serious than she first thought and she can no longer ignore them. She knows someone is out to destroy her but she won't go down that easy and is determined to find out who is stalking her and why. Will she find them before they get her? What has she done to cause all this hate? Will her world come crumbling down around her? Well, I could tell you, but what would be the point in that? However, grab your copy today and find out all this and much more in this gripping and addictive psychological thriller today!!! This book has me on the edge of mt seat and guessing throughout. Did I work out what was going on? That I am happy to say (but don't tell my partner) I didn't have an absolute clue!!! I absolutely loved the twists and turns this book took me on and loved being absolutely gobsmacked!!! I have read many books and it gets harder and harder to shock me but Cole managed it hook, line and sinker so a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS Cole!!! This is one of those books that regardless how many times I promised myself just one more chapter I just had to keep going until I found out the truth and before I knew it I had devoured it in one sitting!!! An absolutely gripping, nail biting and addictive psychological thriller that will keep you addicted from the first page to the last!!

Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!



This is one of those very rare books where I actually did not like the main protagonist very much at all yet it didn't put me off the book. Usually any dislike towards the main characters and I struggle with a book but in this case that didn't happen which just goes to show how talented Cole is to keep me invested in characters I do not like!!! They were all realistic and strong but Amber was not very likeable at all!! I struggled to conjure up much sympathy for her especially when she still didn't seem to come away with any lessons from what had been done!! I found her to be rude, abrupt and contradictory. She annoyed me on several occasions and it actually got to the point where I was shouting at my kindle which seemed to get me a few strange looks 😂!!! Unfortunately I am unable to say anything on how I feel about any of them without giving any of the storyline away. Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this page turning psychological thriller!!!



Congratulations Cole on yet another huge success. This is EXACTLY why you are one of my favourite male authors!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first chapter of Cole's absolutely addictive 'The Perfect Suitor' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat biting your nails!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller, Suspense Thriller and Thriller amongst others.




I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Woman in the Window', 'The Girl on the Train', Lisa Jewell, ,Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn , Freida McFadden, K.L Slater, Daniel Hurst. Shari Lapeni, 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Housemaid' and anyone who loves a book filled with suspense and surprises!!



356 pages.



This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £11.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheCoupleNextDoor @ColeBaxter @ColeBaxterAuthor @Inkubatorbooks @Inkubator @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @NetGalley @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited
















Author Bio


Cole Baxter loves writing psychological suspense thrillers. It’s all about that last reveal that he loves shocking readers with.

He grew up in New York, where there crime was all around. He decided to turn that into something positive with his fiction.

His stories will have you reading through the night—they are very addictive!

 


Social Media Links:



 







Purchase Link -


 

 

 








2 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page