top of page

'The Company Daughters' by Samantha Rajaram

Title: The Company Daughters

Author: Samantha Rajaram

Publication Day: Oct 30th 2020


Description:


Wanted: Company Daughters. Virtuous young ladies to become the brides of industrious settlers in a foreign land. The Company will pay the cost of the lady’s dowry and travel. Returns not permitted, orphans preferred.


Amsterdam, 1620. Jana Beil has learned that life rarely provides moments of joy. Having run away from a violent father, her days are spent searching for work in an effort to stay out of the city brothels, where desperate women trade their bodies for a mouthful of bread. But when Jana is hired as a servant for the wealthy and kind Master Reynst and his beautiful daughter Sontje, Jana’s future begins to look brighter.


But then Master Reynst loses his fortune on a bad investment, and everything changes. The house is sold to creditors, leaving Jana back on the street and Sontje without a future.


With no other choice, Jana and Sontje are forced to sign with the East India Company as Company Daughters: sailing to a colonial Dutch outpost to become the brides of male settlers they know nothing about. With fear in their hearts, the girls begin their journey – but what awaits them on the other side of the world is nothing like what they’ve been promised…


Based on true history, this is a beautiful and sensual historical novel, perfect for fans of The Girl with the Pearl Earring, The Miniaturist and The Indigo Girl.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Company Daughters' by Samantha Rajaram.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 30th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and intriguing cover and intriguing synopsis. I wanted something different to my usual psychological thrillers and this caught my eye. I enjoy true stories and when I read that this is based on one I couldn't help but choose it. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 81 chapters and an epilogue and is spread over 4 parts. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Amsterdam and Batavia, Dutch East Indies, with some time spent on Table Bay.


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Jana Beil. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


Part One concentrates on Jana's hunt for work and how she finds it with Sontje's father and the misfortunes of what leads her to become a Company's daughter. It also speaks of how Jana and Sontje's relationship grows from employee/employer to what may pass as friendship. Part One is set in Amsterdam.


Part Two concentrates on Jana and Sontje's voyage on the "Leyden" and the hardships they and the other "daughters" face at sea. The cruelty shown made me feel physically sick. Part Two is set onboard the "Leyden" and at Table Bay, a natural bay on the Atlantic Ocean overlooked by Cape Town.


Part Three sees the end of Jana and Sontje's time on the "Leyden" and the beginning of their time in Batavia.

Filled with loss, love and heartbreak.


I won't go into Part Four as it may spoil the storyline for future readers.


This is a very well written novel with descriptions that really help you imagine what is going on and how the characters are feeling. The synopsis and cover of the book worked perfectly with the storyline.


The storyline itself is based on true events, is unique and very well researched which is a huge bonus. It drives me mad when I'm reading a historical novel and events are recorded inaccurately. I do believe that when you are writing a historical novel, even a fictional one that research should be done to make it more realistic and accurate. Anyway, to continue my review on this novel which HAS been well researched!! The plot is filled with love, loss, secrets and is a roller-coaster of emotions throughout. I won't talk about specific events as I do not wish to spoil anything for future readers. I did have to Google a few words as I didn't understand them but they were in relation to the language used in the countries the story was based so this didn't bother me at all. I found that by the author putting in the language the characters used the 'conversation' Jana is having with the reader is more genuine and realistic (hopefully you understand what I mean by this).


I enjoyed watching the bonds and relationships between certain characters strengthen and grow or deteriorate and dissappear as well as seizing their own individual personalities grow in strength. Jana is a real inspiration in that, although she went through so much emotionally and physically, she is a true fighter and grew stronger from what she went through. All of the characters had their own individual and realistic personalities which I enjoyed meeting and getting to know about. I love it when books include strong female models and Jana is definitely one of the strongest I have met.


This book would make a fascinating movie and I think the storyline will stay with me for a long time. I would also like to congratulate Samantha on bringing some unheard of (to me) history to light and I will definitely be looking into it more. I find it awful how events like this not only happened but were condoned and believe it is nothing better than trafficking as it is today.


Overall a fascinating and eye opening novel which is based on a true story and is an emotional roller-coaster ride.


Genres covered in this novel include Historical Fiction, Coming-of-age Story, Lesbian Literature, Biographical Fiction, LGBT Literature amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone who is interested in history or wants to learn more about past events in the form of a story .


392 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamanthaRajaram @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Samantha Rajaram spent most of her childhood in Gillette, Wyoming, where she and her family were the first Indian-Americans to live in the community. As a law student, she focused on social justice and international human rights law with a focus on female sex trafficking.


She is now an educator, and currently teaches composition at Chabot College in Hayward, California. She lives in the California Bay Area with her three

children.



Social Media links:












Buy Links:









36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page