top of page

'The Child In The Photo' by Kerry Wilkinson


Book Description:


I stare at the newspaper article about a baby snatched from the back of a car thirty years ago, and wonder why someone would post it through my door. Looking closer, my blood freezes. The little girl in the photo has an unusual scar – just like mine. I’ve never met anyone with one like it. Is this stolen child… me? Trembling with shock, I know I have to confront my mother. My parents got me through a horrific accident, helped me find a job I love teaching art, and even with buying my own house. But was it all built on lies? She tells me the day I was born was the best day of her life, and I’m flooded with guilt for questioning her – but why do I catch her burning papers in the garden the next day? Then I come home to find a woman sitting on my doorstep, covered in bruises and claiming she knows who abducted me. I don’t know if I can trust her – or if I’ll be the next to get hurt. Because all the while, I’ve been hiding my own secret. Does whoever sent the article know what really happened the day of my accident? Desperate for the truth, I break into the house of my supposed kidnapper. Inside, I find a handwritten list of names. A shiver goes down my spine as I realise wasn’t the only child to be stolen. Then I hear a key in the lock, and I know my life is in terrible danger… An absolutely addictive read that will have you racing through the pages and questioning everything you thought you knew about your family. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Child In The Photo' by Kerry Wilkinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kerry Wilkinson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th June 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Child Across The Street' which is I would also recommend reading.


I was originally drawn to this book by its gorgeous eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.' I am a huge fan of Lisa and Shari so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Kerry and if this is as good as 'The Child Across The Street' it is sure to be a good read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 52 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in a fictional town based in England, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Kerry has based the book on.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Hope Taylor. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Well, well, well Wow!!! What an absolute cracker of a book!!! This book sucked me straight in from beginning to the explosive ending. It was very well written with excellent descriptions which put me straight into the storyline. The blog and the cover suited the book perfectly.


The storyline was fast paced and filled with drama, lies, twists, family, shocks, deceit and suspense. A sadly and scarily very believable storyline which kept me on edge throughout. I loved all the twists and turns and throughout it kept me guessing what was going on and who was doing what. I would NEVER have guessed at the ending so a MASSIVE WELL DONE to Kerry . I have read many thrillers and it's getting harder and harder for me to be surprised so great job there. I loved the storyline and just loved everything about it. It was all done perfectly!! I loved the fact that everything was tied up and explained at the end and there were no loose strings. An absolutely addictive page turner that kept my heart in my throat on the edge of the seat and absolutely absorbed me.


THE characters were fantastic, solid and completely believable, or are they?? You just have no idea who to trust and wow was I blindsighted! They all had such different and strong personalities and all suited the storyline perfectly. I really liked Hope, she had such a strong personality and never let her situation get her down, she just kept on going. I absolutely adored Mr Bonner and Stephen, they both had such HUGE personalities. They both made me laugh in several occasions, especially some of the things they came out with. Their relationships with Hope were absolutely adorable and I would love to have people like them in my life!!!


Kerry well done on another fantastic storyline!!! I hope your busy writing your next explosive page turner as I cannot wait!!!


Overall a compelling, page turning, mind blowing psychological thriller that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena and C. L Taylor.



318 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KerryWilkinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Kerry Wilkinson is from the English county of Somerset but has spent far too long living in the north. It’s there that he’s picked up possibly made-up regional words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’. He pretends to know what they mean. He’s also been busy since turning thirty: his Jessica Daniel crime series has sold more than a million copies in the UK; he has written a fantasy-adventure trilogy for young adults; a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter and the standalone thriller, Down Among The Dead Men. https://kerrywilkinson.com/ https://www.facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks/ https://twitter.com/kerrywk



Buy Links:






7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page