top of page

'The Child Between Us' by Alison Ragsdale

Book: The Child Between Us


Author: Alison Ragsdale


Pub Day: Sept 28th 2022



About the Book:



My beautiful girl, you are my missing piece. You came into my life and changed everything, placing your warm little hand in mine, and looking up at me with your sky-blue eyes, so full of hope. Little did we know what lay ahead, but for a while at least, we had each other…



When I first met you, darling Marina, you were just five years old. You took my breath away, with your long, dark waves and pink cheeks. You needed me, and I instantly knew I’d do anything to protect you. When six years ago, my heart was shattered, I was left utterly broken – but I didn’t know just how lost I was until you filled that hole in my heart.



You quickly became the centre of my world, your sweet laugh my favourite sound. But then things started to change… I put my pain down to work stress, but when the diagnosis came through it was worse than I could ever have imagined.



Our world is about to come crashing down around us, little one, and I don’t know how to stop it. I’ve finally discovered the truth behind the betrayal that rocked me to my core all those years ago. The pain of my past could be the one thing that saves us – or tears us apart. We’re just becoming a family, Marina, should I risk everything to trust the one person who hurt me? They could be your only hope.


We only have each other… But if I don’t make it, what will happen to you?



The Child Between Us is a heart-wrenching story about an impossible choice and what it really means to be a mother. Readers who love Kate Hewitt, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will be utterly gripped







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Child Between Us' by Alison Ragsdale.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Alison Ragsdale, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th September 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read the first book in the series called 'Her Last Chance' and 'Someone Else's Child' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Readers who love Kate Hewitt, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will be utterly gripped.' I am a huge fan of Kate, Jodi and Diane so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Alison and if this is half as good as 'Her Last Chance' and 'Someone Else's Child' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 38 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Edinburgh and Lewis, Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Cassie Hunter. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



Well ladies and gents if you are looking for a tear jerker you have come to the right place!!! This book has been beautifully written and it completely drew me in with its vivid descriptions. The storyline and synopsis worked perfect for this book.


The storyline is stunningly devastating and it had me on the edge of my seat throughout. It is such a powerful storyline that will stay with me for a long time. It was filled with love, heartbreak, family and loss and I was completely absorbed throughout. If you have ever read 'P. S I love you', 'Me before you' or 'My Sisters keeper' and enjoyed them then this book is definitely for you!! It is a beautiful story of forgiveness, loss, love, hope and so much more!! It covers some in depth serious subjects such as mental illness, loss and grief but also compassion. I was absolutely dragged into this storyline and my heart was in my throat on several occasions while I had tears streaming down my face. Alison really does have such a talented gift in being able to write these absolutely stunning stories that absolutely absorb the reader. Every time I cam to the end of a chapter and thought I could put it down I just couldn't stop thinking about what came next and would just have to pick it back up again. Alison always writes such thought provoking books and always leaves the reader questioning what they would do if they were in that position. Make sure you clear your schedules before turning a single page on this beautifully gorgeous tear jerking page turner!!!


An absolute roller coaster ride of emotions, make sure you have the tissues ready because you will need them!!!


The characters were well defined, realistic and strong. I cannot even begin to imagine the pain, shock, suffering, grief and challenges that Cassie was going through, especially as a Mum myself, such a strong and passionate woman. However it wasn't just Cassie that was strong but also Marina who had all that to go through whilst being just a child. My heart was completely broken reading their story but where there is rain always look out for the rainbow and watching the bond develop between these strong characters was beautiful to watch. I won't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers.


This book absolutely grabbed my heart and mind and didn't let go while bringing tears to my eyes and I do not cry easily unless it comes to animals. So do make sure you have tissues at the ready!!


Although this book brought me to tears I also think that it ended perfectly and would absolutely love to see this made into a film!!! Alison this is why your my go to author for a tear jerker!!


Congratulations Alison on yet another gorgeous success and here's to your next one 🥂!!


Overall a devastatingly, heartbreaking and yet beautiful story that will leave you in tears.



Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women's Popular Fiction, British & Irish Contemporary Literature, Women's Literary Fiction, Sister Fiction, Romance Literary Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans Kate Hewitt, Jodi Picoult, Debbie Maccomber, Nicholas Sparks and Diane Chamberlain.



309 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AlisonRagsdale @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


A former marketing executive, originally from Edinburgh, Alison now lives near Washington D.C. with her husband and dog. She was educated in England and holds an MBA from Leicester University.


For more information on upcoming books go to www.alisonragsdale.com.



SOCIAL MEDIA




Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/alisonragsdalewrites/








Purchase Link








4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page