top of page

The Child Across The Street by Kerry Wilkinson

BLOG TOUR REVIEW

Description:

Wheeling my suitcase down the familiar, hedge-lined street, I smile at the sound of children playing in the park nearby. Suddenly, there’s a screech of car brakes. I rush over to see a bent bike wheel sticking out of the ditch, and underneath, a little boy…

As I turn the rusty key in the lock of the house I grew up in, memories flood back. None of them happy. I never told anyone why I left home twenty years ago, and all I want is to sort out Dad’s funeral as quickly as possible.

Now I’m trapped here, the only witness to a terrible incident that has left an eight-year-old boy fighting for his life. But after a lifetime trying to forget my past, I don’t know if I can trust my memory, or be totally sure of what I saw today.

Sorting through Dad’s things one night – shopping lists in his curly handwriting, piles of old newspapers, dusty sports trophies – I think I hear the back door handle rattle. I tiptoe downstairs, past an open window I’m sure I locked. And a figure darts across the overgrown garden.

Someone is watching me. Someone who knows I’m the only one who saw what happened to little Ethan… or could they know the real reason why I left? Either way, I’m certain that coming back was my biggest mistake. I can’t leave, but the longer I stay, the more danger I’m in…

An utterly addictive psychological thriller that will have you glued to the pages until the early hours. Fans of The Girl on the Train and I Am Watching You won’t be able to put down the next mind-blowing read from bestselling author Kerry Wilkinson.


Review for 'The Child Across The Street ' by Kerry Willkinson

Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous

This is the first book that I have read by this author.

I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).

This novel consists of 48 chapters which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!

The story is written in first person perspective with the protagonist being Abi and it is set in the UK. I always enjoy reading books written in first person more as it feels like I'm sitting across the table from them while they are telling their story or in the book next to them.

This is a very well written book which captured my imagination immediately and sucked me straight in. The storyline flowed well and the descriptions were excellent. I loved some of the descriptions Abi uses for characters such as "the type of police officer a child might draw", it leaves me to use my imagination more when thinking about the characters.

I will say that it wasn't quite what I expected from reading the blog and I found it more of a slow burner than what I imagined it would be. However, I actually enjoyed the speed of it as it led us deeper into Abi's life, background and builds up a bigger picture than a faster storyline may have.

The characters were all well developed and believable as well as fitting for the neighbourhood described. Abi remained a bit of a mystery even at the end when it came to her constant bottle that she carried around with her.

The storyline itself is filled with lies, friendship, mystery, secrets, deceit, twists and turns and I wasn't expecting the ending which is always a bonus, nothing worse than a crime novel that you work out who did what before your half way through. Plenty of red herrings thrown into this one.

Overall a strong small town mystery that will leave you guessing right up until the very end.

Genres covered include fiction, drama, mystery, crime

I would recommend this book to fans of the above and fans of Kerry Wilkinson's books.

321 pages.

This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is a very good price for this book.

Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.

Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews #TheChildAcrossTheStreet#KerryWilkinson #Bookouture #NetGalley #BookReview #BlogTour #BooksOnTour @KerryWilkinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86

https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R

Buy Links:  



Author Bio:

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy - a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults - a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like 'barm' and 'ginnel'.

When he's short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he's not, he writes it all down.

Author Social Media Links:

http://kerrywilkinson.com

http://facebook.com/KerryWilkinsonBooks




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
まだ評価がありません

評価を追加
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page