top of page

'The Cafe At Marigold Marina' by Tilly Tennant

Updated: Apr 12, 2022


Book: The Cafe at Marigold Marina

Author: Tilly Tennant

Pub Day: April 8th 2022

About the Book:

Welcome to the café on Marigold Marina, where the smell of freshly baked cakes fills the air and the boats bob merrily in the mellow evening sun. But will an unexpected meeting mean the chance to love again or a broken heart? When Rosie inherits the café on Marigold Marina after her husband’s tragic death, she is determined to pour her heart into his dream. Nine months later, as she serves coffee and cakes to customers, she is all smiles and laughter. But when the sunshine-yellow doors of the café are closed, she allows her heart to break all over again. Rosie doesn’t have much room in her life for anything but the café. But when Kit, the mysterious owner of a bookshop barge, starts to come by regularly for lunch, she finds it difficult to ignore his dark eyes, dishevelled curls and the fact that he has his own sorrows. Rosie finds it easy to talk to Kit and as they swim together in the sparkling marina waters she hopes she can help Kit the way he has helped her. But just as she is letting herself open her heart, she learns the shocking secret that the husband she loved for so many years kept hidden from her. And when she discovers that Kit is hiding things too, she fears she has been foolish to trust again. Should she close her café and move away from the marina? Or take a risk and give love another chance? An absolutely gorgeous and heartwarming read about what can happen when you leave your comfort zone and listen to your heart. Fans of Shari Low, Heidi Swain and Nicola May will fall in love with The Café at Marigold Marina.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Cafe At Marigold Marina' by Tilly Tennant.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Tilly Tennant, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 8th April 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station' and 'My Best Friend's Wedding' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Shari Low, Heidi Swain and Nicola May will fall in love with The Café at Marigold Marina.' I am a huge fan of Shari Low and Heidi Swain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Tilly and if this is half as good as 'The Hotel At Honeymoon Station' and 'My Best Friend's Wedding' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 22 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Stratford-on-Avon, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist being Rosie Ross. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'The Cafe At Marigold Marina' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Tilly discusses/includes domestic abuse.


Congratulations Tilly on yet another gorgeous unputdownable read!!!


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions that helps the reader see the waves crashing and feel the wind in their hair. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


This book is a very easy and smooth read and I completely absorbed it in one sitting. Once I picked it up I jist could not put it down so clear your schedules before starting!! I absolutely loved visiting the gorgeous atmosphere of Marigold Marina and Tilly portrayed the community of a small seaside village perfectly. This book is filled with love, loss, friendships, family, betrayal and everything you could hope for in a contemporary romance. The pace was absolutely perfect and I was devasted when I came to the end and realised I had to pack my bags and leave the cafe. I would love to see what happens in the next chapter of Rosie, Kit and Tabitha's lives as well as to see how the cafe gets on. I absolutely loved that Kit owns a book barge as there's nothing better than a book that contains any sort of subjects or characters surrounded by books whether a Librarian, author, bookseller, etc. I thought Kit's book barge was an absolutely gorgeous idea and I would love to see one in reality.


This would make an absolutely gorgeous movie thay I would love to see made!!! This book is a sweet rom com which will have you feeling warm and fuzzy inside at times and yet screaming and shouting at certain people at other times. The atmosphere was gorgeous and I loved the setting. It made this book a perfect fire place read anywhere and anytime from on the beach in the middle of the day or curled up in fire in the middle of the night.


The characters were are well defined, strong and realistic. I became completely invested in not only Rosie but in Kit and Tabitha along with many of the other characters such as Grant. I really clicked with Rosie and my heart completely went out to her but there was several times where I had to grit my teeth to stop myself shouting at her for not seeing what myself and others could see in a certain 3 characters. I won't name who those characters are as not to spoil it for future readers. However, I did enjoy watching her grow in confidence and go from a self pitying wreck to a much loved friend and strong woman. It would be lovely to see where she gets to in a few "book" years. I absolutely adored Kit as soon as I "met" him. Kit is handsome, sweet, friendly and owns a book barge!!! What more could you want in a man?? I didn't trust Nicole at all when I first met her and I thought she was quite stuck up her own butt and definitely someone who cared more about herself than others. Grant was another lovely character who had a large heart and was the pillar of the community as well as a great friend to Rosie, Kit and Tabitha. Tabitha was another character I clicked with immediately and I adored watching her and Rosie relationship develop. The only thing that confused me really is that if the cafe was doing so well and Rosie was working extra shifts then I'm sure there could have been a way around a certain something involving 2 people at the same time. I won't say more as I'm on the fence there and very close to saying too much. I can't say I was shocked when a certain person's true colours were revealed well 2 actually, I didn't like either of them from the start and my suspicions were proved correct. However, you can't love each character or it would be a very boring book. Love them or hate them each character played their role in this storyline absolutely perfectly.


I'm glad that Tilly wrote about a certain aspect of domestic abuse as I don't belive it is talked about enough. If you have read this book and recognise signs that you are going through the same things Rosie was put through please contact victim support, the police or a friend. Thank you Tilly for including this subject. It is not an easy one to include in a storyline but you have woven it in perfectly and it may help readers recognise the signs and get help.


Well done Tilly on another fantastic book!!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!!


Overall a perfect page turning romance that will sweep you off your feet and take you on a gorgeous break away.


Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Romance and Women's Contemporary Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shari Low, Heidi Swain, Nicola May, Jill Mansel and Jenny Colgan



371 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4 /5 (I Liked it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@TillyTennant @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio


Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop assistant, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and hasn't stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor and part-time lecturer. Tilly also writes young adult fiction as Sharon Sant. Find out more about Tilly and how to join her mailing list for news and exclusives at www.tillytennant.com


Social Media








Buy Links:


US: zpr.io/zqFEVfy68JhN Listen here:






12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page