top of page

The Boatmore Butcher by L.Stephenson. Review


Book Description


Three paramedics are drawn into the mystery of a bizarre spree unfolding on a quiet island town.


Devastated by the loss of his son, Liam Price, must hold it together whilst leading his team against a killer who finds new and twisted ways to prevent them from saving the lives of their victims.


But one serious mistake puts them and everyone they love in grave danger.


As the island starts to slip into hysteria, our villain goes to gruesome lengths to keep their identity a secret.


Able to hide in plain sight, the killer is out for revenge as they close in on their prey.


Can they escape the wrath of the Boatmore Butcher?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'The Boatmore Butcher' by L.Stephenson



Read and reviewed for L.Stephenson, AM Ink Publishing, Dark Ink Books and Zooloo's Book Tours.



Publication date 31st August 2023.




This is Stephenson's DEBUT novel, not that you would ever think that!!! I cannot wait to get stuck into his next guaranteed success and I just hope he is busy writing it as I write this!!!



This novel consists of 3 parts. The first consists of 14 chapters, the second has 13 chapters and the final part contains 12 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



OMG!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE ,LOVED THIS BOOK, AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, GOTHIC, CHILLING, GRUESOMME AND PAGE TURNING EXPLOSIVE MUST READ HORROR!!!



This book is extremely well written with vivid and evocative descriptions that really put you in the storyline, feeling the hair on your arms raise and putting you on the edge of your seat!!! The storyline is just as stunning as the cover!!!


The first thing I have got to say is an absolutely HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to the amazing author L.Stehenson!! I was absolutely mind blown when I had finished this epic page turner and I went to add the rest of his books to my Amazon wish list only to discover that THIS is his DEBUT novel!!! I mean just WOW fairplay!!! If THIS is what you can create for your very first book then I just cannot wait to see what on Earth (or would it be hell?) you will come out with next!! This is definitely THE BEST DEBUT book I have ever read and it is also my favourite horror book of all times!!! Just OMG!!! The gruesome, unique and I must say, extremely clever, killings, the backstory, the action, the characters, the absolutely MIND BLOWING TWISTS AND TURNS!!! This book NEEDS to be turned into a movie and I hope to God he is busy writing his next book because I need them in my life now. The looks I was getting from my partner because of the amount of times I shouted out 'WTAF!!' , 'OMFG!!' and 'No FLexking way did THAT just happen' I seriously lost count. I mean seriously I cannot describe just how AMAZING this book is!!! There are just no words. I mean I'll try but my advice is stop reading this review and GET YOUR COPY NOW!!! If you love horror, crime, unique, mind blowing, action packed ... Do you know what...whatever you like to read just give this a go and you will NOT regret it!!!

As you can tell I absolutely LOVED this addictive, explosive, creepy, horrific, chilling page turner!!! I honestly loved absolutely everything about it from the characters to the settings to the history of the characters. It was just one heck of an amazing read!!! Filled with suspense, tragedy, murders I have never seen in any other book or film, heartbreak, twists, friendship, gruesomeness, spine tingling moments, gothic settings, mystery and so much more this book is an absolutely explosive and epic book!! I absolutely love, love, LOVED the unique storyline!! I have read so many books that it is getting harder and harder for me to find a truly unique plot but Stephenson absolutely smashes it out of the park with this one!! He manages to weave the characters past and history and the present chapters together absolutely perfectly to create an absolute addictive, chilling page turner that there was no way I could put down until I had finished it. I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my kindle for a few hours!! Stephenson's evocative writing skills and descriptions really brought the storyline to life and I just cannot wait to get hooked into his next book!!! I have just never come across a book or movie anything like this one and I doubt I will again!!!! I just genuinely love, love, LOVED IT!!! This book will suck you in and keep you gripped in the pages until your thrown out at the end with a racing heart!! A truly unforgettable one in a million page turner!!!! Get ready to pick your jaw up from the floor at the many, many twists that you will NEVER see coming!!




Clear your schedules before turning a single page as this book is truly unputdownable!!! Genuinely the best horror I have ever read!!!




I absolutely loved meeting each and every one of the characters and getting to know them all and their history. I was completely invested in him throughout and Stephenson's fantastic evocative writing skills and descriptions ensured he came to life in front of my eyes. The fact that this is Stephenson's debut novel yet he has managed to create these amazing, unique and strong characters is just absolutely amazing!!! I really enjoyed getting to meet all of the characters and learning all about their histories and discovering their stories. The friendship, love, hate, anger, terror, heartbreak, fear and so, so much more flow through the characters and into your fingers as you travel on this journey into Boatmore. I just cannot wait to see what characters this amazing author comes up with next!!! Hint hint L.Stephenson 😉 !!! I genuinely loved getting to know all the characters and was completely invested throughout!! It just goes to show how fantastic Stephenson's writing skills are as he completely brought them all to life for me. An absolutely fantastic selection of unique characters that all worked together perfectly to create an absolutely chilling, gruesome , mind blowing and addictive page turner!!!





This book is the BEST horror I have ever read !!! This book really is a truly unique page turner that I picked up this morning and had completely devoured it in a few hours!!! When the hell is this being made into a film and when are you bringing your next book out as I need my next slasher hit!!!




Well done L.Stephenson on an absolutely addictive and explosive page turner and I would definitely like to welcome you on to my top 3 favourite horror author list as well as my top 3 male author list!!! Congratulations on an absolutely fantastic success and here is to what is guaranteed to be many more 🥂



Overall an absolutely addictive, action packed, horror and slasher filled, suspense packed thriller that will keep you turning the pages until you've devoured the book in hours!!



382 pages.




This book is just £7.87 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £15.73 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.



@TheBoatmoreButcher @LStephenson @L._stephenson @l_stephenson @AMInkPublishing @DarkInkBooks @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger




















Author Bio


L. Stephenson has been telling stories of killers and boogeymen to his friends and writing them on his computer since the summer before he began high school. A university degree in Film & TV Screenwriting, a handful of anthologies and a novella later, and not much has changed, it seems!

Stephenson's first short story was published as part of a Halloween-themed collection by Dark Ink back in 2018. Nearly five years later, terror just came full circle as the author has returned home to Dark Ink to release his debut slasher novel, The Boatmore Butcher.

Social Media Links





Purchase Link





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page