top of page

The Bigamist by Rona Halsall. Review


Book Description:


‘I’m sorry, Sam’s not available,’ says the woman who answers my husband’s phone. I can’t place her voice, so I politely ask who she is. Her answer sends my world spinning out of control: ‘I’m his wife.’


I know I want to marry Sam the moment I meet him. After I lost my beloved mother so suddenly, this charming, softly spoken architect with his deep-brown eyes is just the fresh start I’ve been searching for.


I’m delighted to be expecting our first child before we’ve even had a chance to plan a honeymoon. I want our family to work so I try to ignore his long work trips. I turn a blind eye to the private calls he takes and I listen to his excuses about why the money keeps disappearing from my bank account. After all, he has no idea what I’ve been doing in our house whilst he’s away or how I really made that money.


Then I find out Sam’s got more to hide than I ever imagined was possible. Because my husband is leading a double life. He’s already married to someone else.


But what Sam doesn’t know is that he’s not the only person keeping secrets.


And he has no idea how far I’ll go to protect myself…


A totally unputdownable, twisty, will-leave-you-gasping story of marriage, guilt and lies. If you love Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins, you will not be able to sleep until you’ve finished every last page of The Bigamist.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Bigamist' by Rona Halsall.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Rona Halsall, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 5th July 2023.


This is the sixth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Mother's Lies', The Ex Boyfriend', 'The Guest Room', 'The Liar's Daughter' and 'The Wife Next Door' and highly recommend them all.


This novel consists of a prologue and 48 chapters set over 5 parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!!!! Well done Rona on another amazing success!!! An absolutely fantastic unputdownable psychological thriller. Extremely well written as are all Rona's books I have previously read with vivid descriptions that absorb you into the storyline. The storyline is chillingly realistic and it kept me on the edge of my seat and then on the edge of my bed until late at night as I just could not out it down!!! I really enjoyed trying to work out who was telling the truth and who was the real bigamist throughout this drama packed page turner. Just when I thought I had it all worked out, yet again, Rona proves that she is a writing legend and proves me wrong yet again!!! I will never admit that to my partner mind as he knows I am always right but a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Rona for proving me wrong!! I have read countless crime and psychological thrillers so it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but Rona manages it every single time without fail!!! I was captivated throughout and the storyline was absolutely rammed with secrets, loss, love, deceipt, suspense, tension, murder, twists , lies and red herrings all the way up until the very perfect ending. It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done, which with Rona it always is!) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. The characters were very strong and realistic but also very unlikeable!!! It is normally hard for me to enjoy a book but dislike the characters but this is something else that Rona has an amazing talent with and regardless of how I feel for her characters she hooks me in each and every single time and I cannot wait to get dragged back into another one of this amazing authors books!!



Congratulations Rona on yet another HUGE success and for, yet again, managing to shock me when many fail. This would make an epic movie that I would love to see come out!! This is the exact reason you are one of my favourite authors and here's to your next success 🥂!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Rona's 'One Mistake' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Overall an addictive, page turning, epic and action packed psychological thriller that will shock you throughout!!




318 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheBigamist @RitaHerron @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited













Author Bio:


Rona is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. She loves to turn domestic storylines on their head to keep her readers guessing what the heck is going on.


She has been a bit of a nomad during her adult life, moving around the north of England, before settling in Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her little nutter of a Border Collie, Maid. You'll find all the places she's lived in her stories!


She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she's plotting her next book. She has three children and two stepchildren who are all grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of material for new stories.



To find out more about Rona and her novels, visit her website: https://ronahalsall.com/ and sign up to her newsletter to get the latest info on new books and offers.


Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Rona Halsall here: https://www.bookouture.com/rona-halsall





Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page