top of page

The Bedroom Window by K.L Slater. Review


Book Description:


They say they have no children. So who did I see at the window?


My darling little boy Albie adores playing at our new neighbours’ house. And after the terrible year we’ve had, I feel so lucky that we can start over in this perfect place, with new friends who treat Albie like the son they never had. He can’t stop talking about the tree house they’re building him, and the cookies they bake together.


But as time passes, something starts to feel wrong. Why don’t they ever open the front door more than a crack? They told me they had no children, so who does the small pink tricycle I saw in their hall belong to? And why can I hear a lullaby drifting across the garden when I’m tucking my own boy into bed?


Then, one night, I see a small shadowy figure in their bedroom window…


I thought I’d learned my lesson about trusting the wrong people, but now I’m forced to wonder what this perfect couple are hiding.


And if I try to save that little helpless figure in the window, will I do what I’ve always feared most, and put my beautiful boy’s life in danger…?


An utterly gripping psychological thriller from the number one bestselling author of The Marriage and The Girlfriend. If you like Gone Girl, The Housemaid and Lisa Jewell then you will be hooked by The Bedroom Window.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Bedroom Window' by K.L Slater.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for K.L Slater, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th May 2023.


This is the sixth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Girl She Wanted', 'The Widow', 'Missing', 'The Marriage' and 'The Narrator' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'this book is 'An utterly gripping psychological thriller from the number one bestselling author of The Marriage and The Girlfriend. If you like Gone Girl, The Housemaid and Lisa Jewell then you will be hooked by The Bedroom Window.

' I am a huge fan of Gone Girl and The Houemaid which are amazing books and Lisa Jewell who is an extremely talented author so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of K. L Slater and if this is half as good as 'The Marriage', 'Missing', 'The Widow', 'The Narrator 'and 'The Girl She Wanted' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 57 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 UK. I always seem to get on with books that are set in the UK better as I am from Wales and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book. I have actually spent many holidays and days out in England so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Lottie, Neil, Charlie,. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.




OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! I DID NOT EXPECT THAT!!! MIND BLOWN MUCH!!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.


I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense, lies, secrets and omg the twists!!! I DID NOT see any of them coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS K.L Slater!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! The storyline is filled with crime, shocks, secrets, ,twists, suspense, tension, deceit and revenge. There was not one, two but at least 3 explosive bombshells I did not see coming!!! There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. Lottie, her husband Neil and their son Albie have relocated for Neils job and are looking forward to a new beginning. They move into the caretaker's cottage in the gorgeous Seaspray House where Neil has been hired as the lead landscaper. The location is perfect, Albie starts his new school and the owners of Seaspray House Ted and Neeta are kind and welcoming. However, when Lottie is being nosy one day and checking out the big house she sees some strange things that don't make sense and she starts questioning whether Ted and Neeta are the people they are making out. Is she right to be suspicious or is Lottie losing her mind?? You will just have to grab your copy today to find out won't you?! Yet again KL Slater has created an unpredictable and unputdownable, gritty, suspense and tension filled explosive page turner that will have you addicted from the first page to the last!! Her fantastic evocative writing skills brings the storyline and characters to life in front of your eyes and will keep you glued to the pages!




Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I was completely invested in both the storyline and the characters. Each of the characters had their own unique personalities and I felt differently about each of them. As always K.L Slater has managed to create several realistic, flawed, unlikeable and questionable characters that she brings to life with her creative and evocative writing skills and puts them into what should be an everyday storyline but makes the reader question everything and everyone they are seeing, reading and meeting throughout!! Lottie is an inquisitive woman who has had previous anger issues leaving her with a standoffish personality and this woman has obviously never heard the saying 'curiosity killed the cat'! There is something about Neeta and Ted that I couldn't quite but my finger on and Lottie's inquisitive nature added to this strangeness about them. This is definitely one of those books that I worry I will give too much away by saying how I feel about them having read the book. Therefore, I am not going to say anything else about any of the characters as it isn't worth the risk of dropping any hints but there was definitely mixed feelings with some of them and some major shocks to be had!! If you want to know more you will just have to click the link below to get a copy!! All in all a great mix of characters that worked well with this storyline and regardless of whether you love them or hate them they all played their parts perfectly along with KL Slaters fantastic writing skills making each of them jump out of the pages coming to life in front of your eyes.



This is exactly why you are in my top author Club K.L Slater and your book is one of the best psychological thrillers I have EVER READ!! Bring on the next one!!! I cannot wait!!! Here's to the next success 🥂


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and the first three chapters of KL Slater's absolutely addictive 'The Marriage' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, never wracking, unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!



Genres covered in this novel include Murder Thriller, Mystery, Crime Thriller, Crime, Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl' , 'The Girl on The Train', 'The Wife Between Us', Liane Moriarty, 'Our House' , 'The Woman in the Window', 'The Housemaid', Lisa Jewell and anyone looking for an explosive thriller filled with bombshells you won't see coming!!

330 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@TheBedroomWindow @KLSlater @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited





















Author Bio:


For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents but never made it off the slush pile. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.


Before graduating, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’


Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.





Social Media Links






Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from K.L. Slater here: https://www.bookouture.com/kl-slater






Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo






117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page