top of page

The Bay Of Lost Souls By Kiltie Jackson. Review.



Book Description


Is it possible to rid to move on from a dark past or will it always lurk in the shadows?

 

 

Perrie Lacey arrives in the quaint seaside town of Broatiescomb Bay laden with luggage, two cats and a desire for six months of solitude. The remote cottage she’s rented up on the cliff-top should guarantee her that.

 

Morgan Daniels, and his five-year-old daughter, Daisy, have been managing just fine since the death of his wife and her mother two years before. He’s content with being a twosome and has no intention of changing that any time soon.

 

When Perrie and Morgan bang into each other, quite literally, within thirty minutes of her arrival, the plans she had for a quiet existence go out the window.

 

As the weeks pass, Perrie and Morgan find themselves drawn to each other despite their efforts to push against the invisible force pulling them together.

 

Perrie, however, is carrying a secret she cannot share for doing so will put her new-found happiness at risk.

  

How heavy does a secret need to be to tear you apart?





Book Review




Review for 'The Bay Of Lost Souls' by Kiltie Jackson.


Read and reviewed for Kiltie Jackson, WickedKilt Publishing and Zooloo's Book Tours.


Publication date 6th April 2024.


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in 'The Bay' series. I have also read 'A Snowflake In December' which I would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Kiltie and if this is half as good as 'A Snowflake In December ' it is guaranteed to be a page turner. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being WickedKilt Publishing. I have yet to read a book published by WickedKilt that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 54 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the fictional Broatiescombe Bay, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are partly or fully set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and gone on holiday in England on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective and the protagonist is Perrie Lacey and Morgan Daniels. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


What an absolutely beautiful, heart warming, stunning must read!!! Absolutely love, love, loved it!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this stunning, unique feel good page turner!! Well done Kiltie on yet another page turning beauty!


The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!


If you are looking for a stunning romance then this is the book for you!!


Kiltie's evocative writing skills sucks the reader seep into the pages bringing the absolutely beautiful Broatiescombe Bay and bustling London to life along with all the amazing characters. While reading this book you will kept swept away and left feeling the sea breeze on your skin, smelling the gorgeous goodies Perrie bakes and hearing George and Timothy purring away. I run Golden Oldies Cat Rescue And Hospice (Where I give older cats a home for life, mainly after their owners have passed away) and am a huge animal lover so any books that contain animals as part of their plot are always a huge hit for me and with this one having two Norwegian Forest Cats (Timothy and George) helped me to love it twice as much!! One of my rescues called Tubs and is a Maine Coon cross, not quite as big as Norwegian Forests but not too far off so while I was reading it and he was cuddles up to me it felt like I was cuddling Timothy or George several times. I absolutely loved Broatiescombe Bay and it really felt like I was whisked away on holidays so when I came to the end I was absolutely devastated to unpack my packs and return to a drizzly Wales. However, all is not lost as I discovered that this is actually the first book in Kiltie's 'The Bay' series so I just cannot wait to return and hopefully very soon (no pressure at all Kiltie lol)!! This book is an absolutely stunning read that is perfect to lift your spirits!! It is filled with romance, friendship, family, love, mystery, community, cakes and of course cat cuddles!! Kiltie describes life in a small community perfectly with everyone knowing who is who, living in a small village myself I see this all the time. I love the fact that there is a hint of mystery and some suspense weaved through the storyline as the reader discovers that Perrie is hiding a secret that could destroy her new found life in Broatiescombe. When turning the pages of this must read Kiltie takes you on a rollercoaster of emotions from heartbreak to happiness, sadness to shock, anxiety to bliss. I felt like I was next to Perrie and Morgan throughout the book from their first meeting to the absolutely beautiful ending. I devoured this book in a few hours as it is one of those that I just could not put down. there were so many times that I told myself that I would just finish the one chapter and then go back to it but that chapter ended in a way that I could not put it down and then the next one did and then the next and so on until I came to very last page. I would absolutely love to see this beauty turned into a movie and I will be at the front of the queue to go and see it!! Kiltie's writing skills will absolutely absorb you into the book and whether you are in the world you will be sucked into the world of Broatiescombe Bay the blink of an eye.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely in them all and I already miss them even though I have just closed the pages. I absolutely adored joining Perrie on her move to Broatiescombe Bay, her trips to London, her meeting Morgan and falling in love with him and Daisy and so much more. My heart broke for her so many times as we see her just trying to get away from what she is running from and get her head down but unexpectedly starts making friends and falling in love even when she is trying to avoid it all costs. I cant say too much about her as I don't want to give anything away and spoil it for future readers. I loved seeing her personality change and strengthen throughout the book and as an animal lover who looked after Timothy and George so well I also fell in love with her and I really hope we get to meet her again soon. I absolutely adored Morgan who is a single Dad who is trying to keep his business running while juggling parenting and everything else his life throws at him while still hurting from the loss of his wife. Morgan is an amazing Dad and such a lovable character as well as being very handsome and I loved watching his friendship with Perrie change and develop through the pages. Daisy is Morgan's five year old daughter and is absolutely adorable!! She is such a sweetheart and she made me laugh so many times, as well as panic on a few occasions. 'Out of the mouth of babes' definitely applies to some of the things Daisy comes out with. It was adorable to watch her calling Perrie Merida and see how she grew attached to her. Daisy is also an animal lover and falls in love with Timothy, also George but Timothy is her favourite. These are the main characters but I also want to mention are Babs Middleton who becomes a great friend to Perrie and a fantastic support to her. She definitely made me laugh when it came to Cleo and her retort to what she said to Perrie at Sarah's birthday party!!! Absolutely fantastic, Go Babs!!! I could not abide Cleo and sadly there are so many people like her in the world. However, I think Babs got her point through but whether she will change Im hoping we will find out in the next book in this series (Hint, Hint Kiltie!!). Aggie is Perrie's sister and Graham is her brother in law and I must say I am jealous!! Graham is such a sweet guy and Aggie is such an amazing support to Perrie. It is lovely to see how close they are and how they are there for her every step of the way!! Hettie is Morgan's mother in law and is another amazing character. She made me laugh out loud when she said some of the things she came out with about Morgan and is also such a larger than life and likeable woman that says it as it is and has a great relationship with Perrie. I also want to give a quick shout out to the adorable life saving Timothy and the laid back George who helped to make this book as purrfect as it is!!! An absolutely amazing gang of characters who will stay with me for a long time and I really hope I get to meet again soon (Hope your writing book 2 as I type this Kiltie!!!).


What are you waiting for?!? Pick up one of my favourite, stunning, feel good page turners and get ready to get sucked in to the stunning Broatiescombe Bay!!!


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Kiltie on yet another HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future amazing books. This is exactly why you are one of my FAVOURITE authors and I cannot wait for your next page turner. Here's to your next success 🥂!


Overall an unputdownable, unforgettable, stunning romance that will put you in the festive spirit and have you staying up late at night to finish it.



Genres covered in this book include Women's Humorous Fiction, Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Women's Friendship Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Women's Domestic Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Women's Romance Fiction, Romance, Romance Novel, Family Drama, Humour, Sagas, General Fiction, Spiritual & Historical Fiction Contemporary Women's Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Women's Literary Fiction and Contemporary Romance Fiction and amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Bridget Jones, 'The Holiday', Debbie Macomber, Emily Henry, Beth O’Leary and anyone looking for a absolutely stunning festive and heart-warming read!


298 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!

Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheBayOfLostSouls @KiltieJackson @WickedKiltPublishing @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger











https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86





Author Bio


Kiltie Jackson spent her childhood years growing up in Scotland. Most of these early years were spent in and around Glasgow although for a short period of time, she wreaked havoc at a boarding school in the Highlands.


By the age of seventeen, she had her own flat which she shared with a couple of cats for a few years while working as a waitress in a cocktail bar (she’s sure there’s a song in there somewhere!) and serving customers in a fashionable clothing outlet before moving down to London to chalk up a plethora of experiences which are now finding their way into her writing.


Once she’d wrung the last bit of fun out of the smokey capital, she moved up to the Midlands and now lives in Staffordshire with one grumpy husband and another six feisty felines.

Her little home is known as Moggy Towers even though, despite having plenty of moggies, there are no towers! The cats kindly allow her and Mr Mogs to share their home as long as the mortgage continues to be paid.


Since the age of three, Kiltie has been an avid reader although it was many years later before she decided to put pen to paper – or fingers to keyboard – to begin giving life to the stories in her head.


Her debut novel was released in September 2017 and her fourth book, ‘A Timeless Lovestyle’ was a US Amazon bestseller in Time Travel Romance.


Kiltie loves to write fiery and feisty female characters and puts the blame for this firmly on the doorsteps of Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables and George Kirrin from The Famous Five.


When asked what her best memories are, Kiltie will tell you:


1. Queuing up overnight outside the Glasgow Apollo to buy her Live-Aid ticket.

2. Being at Live-Aid.

3. Winning an MTV competition to meet Bon Jovi in Sweden. (Although, if Mr Mogs is in earshot, the latter is changed to her wedding day.)


Her main motto in life used to be “Old enough to know better, young enough not to care!” but that has since been replaced with “Too many stories, not a fast enough typist!”



Social Media Links










Purchase Link









6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page