top of page

'The Backup Plan' by Jill Shalvis

Book Description


Beloved New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis returns to Sunrise Cove with a powerful, moving story.


'Perfect, feel-good fiction' Sarah Morgan


'Fall in love with Jill Shalvis! She's my go-to read for humor and heart' Susan Mallery, New York Times bestselling author


.............................................


Could an unexpected windfall be the gift of a lifetime?


Alice never expected to inherit the falling-apart-at-the-seams old Wild West B&B she once considered home, nor did she expect that she'd have to share it with two strangers.


Except they weren't always strangers. Once upon a time, they were friends.

One is her ex-BFF Lauren. The other is Knox, the only guy to ever break her heart.


Years ago, each of them independently helped the same woman, never expecting that it would link them together forever. And now Alice, Lauren, and Knox, all broken in their own ways, must find a way to get along with each other. According to the woman's will, they must renovate the inn as a team for one year, or else lose their inheritance.


Stuck together, they make a list of rules to keep the peace. The rules may not be that effective, but if they can weather the storm, they might find something they didn't even know they were looking for - acceptance, real friendship, and maybe even true love.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'The Backup Plan' by Jill Shalvis.


Read and reviewed for Jill Shalvis, NetGalley and Headline Publishers.


Publication date 17th January 2023..


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in 'The Sunrise Cove' series but can be read as a standalone.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and its hilarious sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Headline Books. I have yet to read a book published by Headline Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 26 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Alice Moore, Lauren Scott and Knox Rawlings. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


What an absolutely fantastic laugh a minute, heart warming, stunning must read!!! Absolutely loved it fairplay!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!


OMG!!! I absolutely love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous book!!! I must say it has got to be one of the best romances I have ever read!! I loved the storyline of three people who were so close in the past but have not spoken to each other for so long being forced together for a month and seeing what happens!! It is absolutely rammed full of romance, friendship, arguments, regrets, secrets, love and just absolutely everything you could want in a page turner and so, so much more!!! I absolutely adored that it is filled with lists that get added to and edited throughout making me laugh each time!! I was absolutely absorbed in this book and just could not put it down!!! There was no chance of just one more chapter and I ended up devouring it in a day!!! I cannot wait to get the first two books in the series 'The Family You Make' and 'The Friendship Pact' and just any book I can get hold of by this extremely talented author!! The setting and atmosphere was absolutely gorgeous and I loved watching the Inn getting redeveloped, learning everyone's stories and histories and watching the characters relationships change throughout. It really is one of those feel good books that is perfect to read curled up in front of a fire or lying on the beach. There was a perfect mix of tragedy, heartbreak, Romance, laughter that it definitely the go to book if you want a pick me up!! Watching the Inn transform was a magical experience and I really hope Jill continues with this series as it is one of those I don't think I could ever get bored with!! It is so much more than your everyday romance with the intriguing and multi layered storylines as there is more than just the one. I could go on and on but seriously just get your copy and get sucked in. Your really won't regret it!!


Although this is the third book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


An absolutely stunning, page turning MUST READ!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I absolutely fell in love with the three of them for different reasons and I was absolutely devastated to say goodbye. I absolutely adored watching their relationships and friendships grow and develop throughout the storyline. They each became stronger and learnt so muchnot only about each other but about themselves. I adored the fact that each one of them helped the others out during their bad times even from the beginning when they didn't get along and couldn't wait to get away from each other. Jill made them leap out of the pages and I genuinely wanted to grab them and keep them out. I really hope to meet them all again so please, please, please bring out more books in this series Jill!!! I cannot wait to get stuck in to the previous books and I hope they are in them also. I'm fact I think I'll end up crying if they are not!! Their personalities are fantastic and I don't want to go in to too much detail as I don't want to spoil or for future readers by telling them too much. However some of the things I loved about them were Lauren being vegan (most of the time anyway 😂) as I'm vegan myself, Alice's sympathy crying, Lauren working in a library, Knox being so compassionate and caring, and so, so much more!! These characters, well most of them, were one of the best group of people I've ever 'met' and they will stay with me for a long time!!



A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Jill on a HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future amazing books. Welcome to my top 3 romance author list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!


Overall an unputdownable, unforgettable, stunning romcom that will have you staying up late at night to finish it.



Genres covered in this book include Women's Humorous Fiction, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour, Contemporary Women Fiction, Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Humour, Romantic Comedy, and Rural Life Humour amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Emily Henry, Beth O’Leary and anyone looking for a absolutely stunning and heartwarming read!



334 pages.


This book is just £3.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@TheBackupPlan @JillShalvis @HeadlinePublishing @HeadlineEternal @NetGalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger










Author Bio



Multiple New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is … mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s bestselling, award-winning heartwarming and full of humor novels wherever books are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures. Her newest Sunrise Cove novel, THE BACKUP PLAN, will be out on January 17th, and THE SWEETHEART LIST comes out in June!


Social Media Links:






or email her at contact@jillshalvis.com




Purchase Link









13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page