top of page

The Babysitters Secret by Casey Kelleher. Review


Book: THE BABYSITTER'S SECRET


Author: Casey Kelleher


Pub Day: MAY 24TH 2023



Book Description


Everything I thought I knew about my life is a lie.


My mother revealed a terrible, dangerous secret in her last letter to me. But, with her death, any chance of knowing the truth has disappeared. I’ll have to do whatever it takes to find out for myself.


Going back to the house where I was born, I find a family living the life I’d always dreamed of. And when Cecelia, the mother, mistakes me for the new nanny, I seize the chance to move in. Maybe, being in the house every day and night, I will remember more, uncover more, about the secret that haunts me…


But this family is not the happy one it appears from the outside. Cecelia is angry, unpredictable, unstable. She is not the mother these children deserve. They are scared of her, and rightly so.


As my memories start to crystalize, I am ever more determined to shelter them from harm. Because history has a horrible way of repeating itself, and I’ll do everything I can to protect these children. But how long can I stay here, undetected, pretending to be someone I’m not? And if the children end up in danger, what will I have to do to save them…?


With twists no reader will EVER see coming, this incredibly gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of The HousemaidThe Widow and The Housewarming.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW 


Review for 'The Babysitter's Secret' by Casey Kelleher. 


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Casey Kelleher, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous 


Publication date 24th My 2023.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'No Going Back', 'No Fear', 'Only Child' and 'I'll Never Tell' which I highly recommend. 


I was originally drawn to this book by its colourful  eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'With twists no reader will EVER see coming, this incredibly gripping psychological thriller is perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Widow and The Housewarming.' I am a huge fan of 'The Housemaid' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Casey Kelleher and if this is half as good as 'No Fear', 'No Going Back' 'Only Child' and 'I'll Never Tell' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture  that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 50 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in London 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited London lately so am definitely excited to see if I recognise any placed mentioned in the book. 


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Emily and Sasha. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


Wow!!!! What another absolute success Casey!! Absolutely LOVED it!!! Another very well written action packed psychological  thriller that just kept on giving. The descriptions were excellent and the setting perfect for the storyline. The synopsis and cover worked well with the plot. 

Yet again Casey absolutely smashes it out of the ball park!!!


I mean seriously how does she does It every single time!!! 

The storyline was absolutely ram packed with hair raising action which kept me turning the pages while on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happened next. The book was filled secrets,  shock, suspense, drama, tension and twists to keep you on your toes. It was also very realistic and would make an interesting and spine tingling movie if done right. This is one of those books that, as a mother myself, I found hard to read at times because it is one of a parents worse nightmares and exactly the reason I never have anyone apart from a very select few to look after my kids. Sasha returns to where she was born and discovers a family living the life of her dreams now living there. She wants to find out more about them and feel part of that so when the mum Cecilia mistakes her for the new Nanny when she knocks the door Sasha jumps at the chance to go with it. Sasha moves in with the family and hopes to gain some memories of her own childhood by being in the same home. However, things aren't always what they seem to be and you never know what goes on behind closed doors. Will Sasha discover the answers she's looking for? Are the children safe in the home? Is Cecilia as caring and loving as she seems? We also meet Emily who after leaving a psychiatric facility is now living in her own apartment with Charlotte and Louise looking after her. However, Emily likes Charlotte but believes Louise has stolen her diary. Emily wants to protect Charlotte from Louise but also continuously hears a child crying but is told she is imagining it. Is she imagining it or are her carers wanting her to end back in the facility or worse? With multiple storylines and discovering what is going on from multiple protagonists this is a book that will keep you hooked from the shocking start to the mind-blowing end. If you want to find out the answers to the above then what are you waiting for? Grab your copy of The Babysitters Secret today!!! I never would have guessed who was behind everything and what was really going on  I thought I had it worked out and then BOOM came the huge twist!!! Nothing worse than guessing who did what when your not even half way through a book but there's no worry of that here. What an absolute shocker!!! The ending absolutely blew my mind!!! I was not expecting that AT ALL!!  If your looking for a book with an explosive ending then you are in the right place!!! An absolutely unputdownable addictive page turner!!. Needless to say this would make an absolutely epic movie!!! 


Clear your schedules before you even turn a single page on this epic psychological thriller as you will not be able to put it down!! 


This is one of those books where it is extremely difficult to say much about the characters without giving any of the storyline. The one thing I can definitely say is that  my heart went out to the children as they were completely innocent in what was going on and as a parent myself I just wanted to grab Annabelle and Zachary, who were both so sweet, and give them a massive cuddle and run away with them myself!! Thanks to Casey's fantastic evocative skills the characters and storyline all came to life before my eyes and it left me screaming and shouting at my kindle, and yes catching a few funny looks at the same time!!! I absolutely loathed one of the characters and when you read this epic novel you will know which one I mean immediately. However, regardless of how you feel about any of the characters they each play their part perfectly bringing out each and every one of your emotions throughout the spine tingling, nail biting page turner!!


Yet again another MASSIVE congratulations to Casey on yet another successful novel. You managed to have my heart racing and me on the edge of my seat throughout! I loved every part of it and was sad to see it come to an end. I hope your busy working on the next book!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors!! 


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Casey's absolutely addictive 'I'll Never Tell' which is another explosive page turner and one I have read myself and would highly recommend!!


Overall another fantastic, action packed, page turning, breathtaking must read with an explosive ending by the fantastic Casey!!! 


Genres covered in this novel include Crime, Thriller And Mystery Adventures, Women's Psychological Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Women's Popular Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Murder Thriller, Contemporary Fiction, Noir Fiction, Womens Psychological, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Thriller amongst others.   


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, Rachel Abbott, K.L Slater, T.M Logan,The Housemaid, The Widow, The Housewarming. and anyone after an addictive psychological thriller. 


318 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! 


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. 


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews 

 


@TheBabysittersSecret @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited 



  



 








Author Bio



Casey Kelleher was born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, and she grew up as an avid reader.


Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up their three children together with my husband, she penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that Casey could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time. 


If you click the yellow 'follow' button, Amazon will send you an email when she has a new release, or if there's a special deal you might be interested in. It's the best way to make sure you never miss a book! Casey loves connecting with her readers, and there are plenty of ways you can get in touch.




Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign Up:  https://www.bookouture.com/casey-kelleher




Purchase Link:










2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page