top of page

'Ten Days' by Mel Sherratt


Title: Invisible Victim

Author: Mel Sherratt

Publication Day: June 28th 2021


Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


Description:

‘Let me out! Please!’ I shouted, banging on the door. How had I got here? What day was it? I couldn’t remember anything. But I knew I had become the fifth woman to be abducted. As my eyes adjust to the darkness, I’m filled with dread. Everything looks just like the others described: a small hole in the door, a mattress and a narrow window allowing only a small chink of light. The jewellery given to me by my loving husband has gone and I’m in someone else’s clothes. Just days before, I had interviewed the third victim for the local paper. She couldn’t stop shaking. Her story was the same as those before her: an ordinary woman, locked away for ten days then released with no explanation, and nothing – nothing she could think of – to link her to the others. Throughout the ordeal, her abductor stayed eerily silent. I tell myself I’ll be safe in ten days. But I can’t help thinking of the fourth victim who is still missing. And then I hear the voice coming through the door. ‘You said everything would be fine. But it wasn’t was it?’ It is then that I realise. If I am to make it out alive, I need to revisit a dark secret of my own that I have spent a lifetime trying to forget. An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Teresa Driscoll, T.M. Logan and C.L. Taylor





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Ten Days' by Mel Sherratt. This book was previously titled 'Invisible Victim'.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Mel Sherratt, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and colourful cover and gripping sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller with a truly brilliant twist, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, T.M. Logan and C.L. Taylor.' I am a huge fan of Lisa Jewell and C.L Taylor so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 82 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are partly or fully set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and gone on holiday in England on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of first and third person perspective and the main protagonists are Eva and Alex. The benefits of having both first and third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


OMG!!!! What a shocking, unpredictable page turner that was!!! Absolutely unputdownable!!! Extremely well written with vivid descriptions. The cover and synopsis fitted the storyline perfectly and the new name of 'Ten Days' was a great choice!!!


The storyline is unique and I was absolutely captivated from the very first sentence until the end. It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture. I love the fact that we get to see it from the kidnappers perspective. I wasn't sure

whether to mention thay in my review as I don't want to use spoilers but you discover this at less than 10% so I decided to go ahead and include it. I enjoyed that it felt that Alex (the kidnapper) talks directly to reader about why they are doing it and what's going through his mind. It gives you a much bigger picture. It is very rare that the reader gets to see anything from the perp's point of view so I found this unique and extremely enjoyable. I enjoyed being able to read the newspaper articles as again it gives the bigger picture. Mel does a fantastic job of drip feeding the reader snippets so they can slowly put the "jigsaw" together.

OMG so many twists!!!!! I LOVE IT!!! Its very rare that a book can completely shock me but Mel managed it so many times I lost count! There were some major assumption in my part and I feel several other readers will do this too. I also enjoyed the fact that not only do you get to read things from Eva and Alex's perspectives but there are also chapters from Jill Ian, Nick, Alison, Maxine, Maria, Milly and Stephanie's perspectives. The storyline is absolutely rammed full of shocks, tension, suspense, twists, turns and much more, everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller!!!


I was extremely invested in the characters and I enjoyed learning not only about Eva and the other characters but it was also fascinating to learn about Alex. I actually had quite alot of sympathy for Alex on several occasions and what they went through is sadly something that happens on a daily basis. I won't say any further than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I loved how Eva was such a fighter and a very strong female lead, I was absolutely devastated by a certain event, again I won't say more than that.


A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Mel on what is definitely a huge success. Such a heart racing, rollercoaster ride filled with suspense and tension. I cannot wait to read more of your previous and future books, especially any psychological thrillers you have coming up. Welcome to my top authour club!!!


Overall a heart stopping, unputdownable, page turning psychological thriller that will shock and surprise you throughout!!!



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller and Psychological Suspense amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of C.L Taylor, Angela Marsons, Lisa Jewell and ANYONE looking for an epic page turner



284 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MelSherratt @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


My novels take you to the heart of the crime. I write police procedurals, psychological suspense and crime dramas - fiction with a punch. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer's Association) Dagger in Library Award, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lisa Jewell, Mandasue Heller and Clare Mackintosh. To date, I've sold 1.7 million books. All sixteen of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the Kindle UK top 10 and I've had several number ones. I've also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.


I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website www.melsherratt.co.uk

Author Social Media Links:









Buy Links:










8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page