top of page

'Summer In The Scottish Highlands' by Donna Ashcroft


Title: Summer in the Scottish Highlands

Publication Day: June 4th 2021

Author: Donna Ashcroft

Description:

Escape to the gorgeous little village of Lockton in the Scottish Highlands, where you’ll discover sunshine, secrets and an unforgettable romance. It’s the perfect place to be this summer…

Thirty-year-old Paige Dougall’s life is a mess. Only a year ago she was smashing all of her life goals: handsome husband, high-flying job, cute kid. But in just under twelve months everything has gone wrong. Nursing a broken heart, single mother Paige returns to her childhood home in a picture-perfect Scottish village to try and get her life together.

Paige is too wrapped up in her worries to embrace the beautiful rolling hills and lavender-scented air of the highlands. That is until Johnny Becker, the infuriatingly cheerful chef, with his twinkling eyes and dimpled smile, steps onto the scene and provides Paige with some much-needed distraction…

Johnny challenges Paige to step outside her comfort zone and focus on the things that really matter. From food tasting, to puppy training, to mountain climbing, in every moment she spends with Johnny, Paige finds herself remembering how to live again… will she be able to love again too?

Across long sunshine-filled days, Paige and Johnny grow closer and she’s tempted to open her heart to him. But is happy-go-lucky Johnny hiding secrets of his own?

And can Paige learn to let go of her past and find happiness in the highlands?

A gorgeous, moving summer romance novel about finding joy in the small things and discovering what really matters in life. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley.

(Previously titled - Summer at Kindness Cottage)






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Summer In The Scottish Highlands' by Donna Ashcroft.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Donna Ashcroft, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 4th June 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching beaitiful cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley'. I am a fan of Sarah Morgan so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 27 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually been on holiday to Scotland on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Donna has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Paige Dougall and Johnny Becker. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


What an absolutely stunning read!!! A perfectly gorgeous book!!! The vivid descriptions left me feeling the fresh air of Scotland and the title, synopsis and cover suited the storyline perfectly.


This book is absolutely rammed full of love, choices, happiness, regrets, friendship and books!!!! I absolutely adore books that talk about books and this one is definitely one of the best I've read in a long time. It made me laugh, cry, smile and fall in love with Scotland. I just adored that alot of the plot was based around a library and books!!! The storyline was sweet, romantic, uplifting and everything you want in a heart warming romance and I completely fell head over heels in love!!! The Scottish dialect was perfect and it really made me feel like I was in Scotland. I was devastated when I came to the end and realised I would have to unpack my suitcase as I genuinely felt as if I'd been on a holiday. It was an uplifting breathe of fresh air!!! It ended absolutely perfectly!!!


The characters were all strong, well defined and realistic. I fell in love with every single one of them and was gutted when I came to the end. This book would make a gorgeous series and I would love to meet all the characters again. Paige is such a strong character and after being through hell I loved watching her form friendships and find happiness. I adored how she started reading again when she came back home. Grace was an absolute sweetheart. Johnny was an absolute hunk and I enjoyed reading his slogan of the day, nice touch!! I also really enjoyed learning about all the different members of the community and it reflected a small town community perfectly. Of course I cannot forget the adorable Mack and his mischievous ways.


Well done Donna on an absolutely gorgeous book. Welcome to my favourite authour team!!! I am thoroughly looking forward to reading more of your books past and future. Congratulations on a stunning success!!


Overall an absolutely stunning page turning romance that will make you smile, laugh and keep you up all night absorbing the pages.


Genres covered in this book include Romance and Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for an uplifting romance!!!!



273 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@DonnaAshcroft @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio:



Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager. Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017. Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she's escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she's not reading or writing she'll probably be found hoovering ... or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Author Social Media Links:






Buy Links:



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page