top of page

Such A Loving Couple by Hayley Smith. Review.


Book Description:


I blink open my eyes, taking in bright lights and a white room. A man smiles warmly at me from the end of my bed. ‘Honey, I’ve been so worried,’ he says gently. ‘Do you remember me? I’m your husband.’ My blood runs cold. I don’t know where I am, or who I am. All I know is I’ve never seen this man before…


As he packs my things, the nurses tell me Freddie hasn’t left my bedside since the accident I was in days ago. They tell me I’m lucky. We seem like the perfect couple, and together we’ll figure out what happened. So I go home to a beautiful house with a fancy marble kitchen and manicured garden that is supposedly ours. But deep down I know something isn’t right. Even though my memories are gone, this doesn’t feel like my life.


Slowly, flashes of memory come back. First the accident – the pouring rain, a swerving car, a sudden scream. Somebody whispering, ‘I’ll love you forever’. But most heartbreaking of all are the haunting memories of a blue-eyed little girl. Is she my little girl? Was she in the accident too? Or is she in terrible danger?


Freddie is determined to keep me safe and hide me from the world. But I can’t shake the feeling that we aren’t the loving couple he wants us to be, and that beyond this house a precious child needs me now more than ever. So why am I here? What does Freddie want? And how far will I have to go, to discover the truth?


An utterly gripping and page-turning psychological thriller filled with dark secrets and deadly obsessions. Perfect for fans of The Housemaid, The Family Upstairs, and The Serial Killer’s Wife.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Such A Loving Couple' by Hayley Smith.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Hayley Smith, Gandida Gubbins, Bookouture publishers, Hatchette UK, Bookouture Audio, and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 8th November 2023.


HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY HAYLEY!!!



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!!



This novel consists of 63 chapters and written over 3 parts. The chapters are medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back.



WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I was NOT expecting that lot fair play!!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE HAYLEY!!! Ooopps sorry, yes, needed a minute to get over that but I've just left you hanging there... Sorry.... Let me tell you more...


Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! This book is an extremely well written book by this amazing author and narrated by the fantastic Gandida which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and fantastically written with vivid and evocative descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline. Hayley's words and Gandida's narrative work perfectly together to create an absolutely explosive and addictive storyline that had me hooked from the gripping first chapter to the absolutely shocking ending!!!


As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in just several hours!!! I loved the setting, characters, atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! Twists after shocks after turns!!! Arggghhh... Its so hard to NOT say anything about them as it will give too much away and spoil it for future readers but it definitely left me speechless over and over!!! I have read hundreds of psychological books and it gets harder and harder to keep my interest and to shock me but these fantastic authors managed it hook, line and sinker Just brilliant fair play and all links in and wraps up perfectly!!! During the book Hayley and Gandid build the tension and suspense perfectly and lead the readers up to some extremely explosive twists that I would never have seen coming. I cannot remember the last time I flew through a book so quickly. Each and every time I went to put it down to do something my fingers were itching to pick it back up as I just HAD to know what happened next!! Hayley's evocative writing skills ensure you are sucked deep into the storyline seeing everything that is happening and feeling the tension, stress and suspense that each of the main characters are going through. My heart was in my throat throughout reading this fast paced, gripping and gritty psychological thriller! I just cannot wait to get stuck into more books by this absolutely epic author and I have added all her previous book 'The Perfect Girlfriend' to my wish list already and look forward to what she come out with next!! It is ram packed with family, lies, twists, drama ,heartbreak, twists, tension, stress, suspense and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller. I can't say more than that as I don't want to spoil it for future readers so if you want to know you'll have to grab yourself a copy!! You won't regret it!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Gandida who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Gandida did a fantastic job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Hayley but also to listening to more books narrated by Gandida!



Just like with the storyline the characters come to life with Hayley's fantastic and evocative writing skills and Gandida's fantastic and realistic narrative skills. They are well rounded, well filled out, realistic and strong making them all the more believable. They were also all very complex and the further I got into the book and the more I got to know them it felt like I was discovering more layers the more I read. My heart absolutely went out to Becka and Charlotte who went through so much between them. I couldn't abide Toby who was just an absolute bell of ends!!!! Gandida did a fantastic job narrating different voices for them and between that and Hayley giving them unique and individual personalities they all came to life. Regardless whether I loved or hated them I was invested in them all and they all created this fantastic and nail biting page turner. Hayley and Gandida really have done an amazing job constructing an addictive and explosive psychological thriller with fantastic and varied characters that you just won't be able to put down!!


Congratulations Hayley on an an absolutely explosive success!!! This is the exact reason that I would like to welcome you to my favourite author club!! Here's to many more successes 🥂!!!


Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first chapter of Hayley's 'The Ex Perfect Girlfriend' which promises to be just as addictive and explosive as this one.


Overall an absolutely page turning, addictive, gripping and explosive must read that will keep you addicted from the very start to the fantastic ending!!!



Overall a suspense and action packed drama filled with twists you won't see coming!




345 page/10 hours 2 minutes



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited, £9.99 in paperback and £20.03 in Audible or £2.99 in Audible with trial via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@SuchALovingCouple @HayleySmith @GandidaGubbins @Bookouture @HatchetteUK @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Audiobook
















Author Bio:


Hayley Smith is married with three children and lives in a north Derbyshire village. She has worked as a graphic designer, youth worker and musician, and has been involved for many years in organising music festivals and gigs. She studied English Language and Creative Writing with the Open University and is an avid reader of psychological fiction. Having a penchant for all things alternative, she often dips into the counter-culture scene for writing inspiration, producing quirky rough-edged characters and dark, unpredictable twists, turns and moral dilemmas.




Social Media Links



Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Hayley Smith here:





Purchase Link



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page