top of page

'Stone Broke Heiress' by Danielle Owen-Jones

Stone Broke Heiress: A completely laugh-out-loud romantic comedy

Book Description


Six months ago, I was the heiress to a soup empire worth millions. Now, I’m standing in a giant dumpster.

Bella Whittington’s caviar-and-Cristal life comes crashing down when she walks in on her fiancé and best friend tangled up in page 34 of the Kama Sutra, limbs everywhere. But her plan to dull the pain with Daddy’s credit card is totalled by the news that they’ve lost the family business. Suddenly Bella’s both single and completely broke.

Shivering in her dingy new studio apartment after a traumatic incident with a homemade turmeric face mask (Hello Tangerina Jolie!), Bella realises she must pull up her Gucci socks and get a job, fast. But Dan, the gorgeous, grumpy owner of the local soup kitchen, hates the Whittingtons, so a teensy lie about her surname gets Bella through the door, and set loose on the stove… Minestrone with a side of melted spatula, anyone?

When Bella’s ex returns with a golden ticket back to her glitzy old life, should she accept? Because that would mean no more box wine and frozen pizza nights with Dan. No more singalongs to the crackly kitchen radio. No more my-heart-is-as-melted-as-that-spatula moments when he finally cracks a reluctant smile… But if Dan finds out the truth about who she really is, will she even have the choice?


An absolutely hilarious, feel-good rom com that will have you snorting with laughter. The new must-read for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Schitt’s Creek!


BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Stone Broke Heiress' by Danielle Owen-Jones.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Danielle Owen-Jones, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 21st March 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also her debut novel.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'The new must-read for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Schitt’s Creek!' I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 37 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Liverpool, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I actually visited Liverpool a few years ago so am intrigued to see if recognise any of the settings.


This book is written in first person perspective and the protagonist is Bella Whittington. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


OMG!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS BOOK.


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene for you. I could hear the Scouse accents, feel the love and smell the soup all throughout this absolutely stunning page turner. The cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely hilarious as well as heartwarming. It is the most feel good book I have read for a long time. Instead of your typical tags to riches storyline this is a unique riches to rags one. It is filled with laughter, soup, love, deceit, soup, friendship, heartbreak, soup, community and did I mention soup? I became absolutely absorbed into the storyline and couldn't stop turning the pages from beginning to end. There were moments I laughed, was almost in tears and was shouting at a few of the characters. It really felt like I was walking or dump diving next to Bella throughout the story. It also highlights the differences between the rich and poor and how the amount that one person spends on a pair of boots could feed another for at least a month which is really quite tragic. I believe that this book will help to open people's eyes more to the plight of others and for them to help where they can whether by volunteering with the homeless or donating to a food bank which is a fantastic achievement for a book. I loved exploring Liverpool again and the atmosphere was perfect.


This book would make an absolutely stunning movie which I would love to see!!!


DO NOT START THIS BOOK UNTIL YOU CLEAR YOUR SCHEDULE AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!


It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I was completely invested in the characters who were all strong and realistic. I was intrigued watching Bella's transformation from designer Queen to bargain hunter and watching her character change and develop throughout, for the better may I add. I really liked her from the start but I absolutely adored her by the end. I loved seeing her relationship with her parents and how close she was with them and most definitely watching her relationship with Dan grow and develop. Dan is an absolute sweetheart who I was really find of and I think that they would make a perfect couple. I would love to meet them both again in a future book. It wasn't just Dan and Bella I grew to enjoy a fondness with but also Susie and Elsie who were both larger than life characters and one of my favourites the absolutely adorable Herbie!!! I adore meeting pets in books and Herbie is definitely a firm favourite of mine. An absolutely amazing group of characters who worked perfectly well to make an absolutely stunning storyline.


Congratulations Danielle on absolutely STUNNING novel, one that will stay with me for a long time. If I didn't know this was your debut I would never have guessed, you have done an amazing job and I cannot wait to read your next success 🥂


Welcome to my favourite author club. If I'm ever looking for a book that makes me feel warm inside I will be hunting yours down!!!


Overall an absolutely gorgeous laugh out loud romance that will have you devouring it in one sitting!!



Genres covered in this book include Romance Fiction, Humorous Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk, Schitt’s Creek, Bridget Jones and anyone who is looking for a stunning pick me up!!!




309 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@DanielleOwenJones @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










About the author


Danielle Owen-Jones grew up in Merseyside. She started her career as a senior journalist and features writer before launching her own freelance PR and content writing business. Danielle now calls Cumbria home, where she lives with her husband, Tom, and adorable cockapoo, Poppy.

Danielle is represented by Clare Coombes of The Liverpool Literary Agency and published by Bookouture (Hachette UK). To find out more about Danielle, visit her website or follow her on social media


Author social media


Facebook: @danniowenjonesauthor


Twitter: @danniowenjones


Instagram: @danniowenjonesauthor






Buy Link


Amazon: https://geni.us/B09Q3C8MMFsocial





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page