top of page

'Stolen Kisses At The Loch View Hotel' by Margaret Amatt

Book Description


One hotel. One week. And a secret that could change everything.


Ever-optimistic Briony Dalgleish has watched her dreams evaporate. Now, the only way to save her beautiful hotel in the Scottish Highlands is to sell up. In desperation, she agrees to a deal with an American businessman, but when his representative arrives, Briony recognises him as someone she’d rather forget.


American sci-fi geek Zach Somerton is on a last-ditch mission to redeem himself after an epic business fail. If he messes up this time, his career is over. But Scotland’s like another planet, and Zach’s facing crazy locals, bizarre legends, and a woman who’s out of this world. When his boss forbids him to reveal to Briony the real reason he’s at the Loch View Hotel, Zach’s loyalty is tested to the limit.


Forced to work together, Briony and Zach investigate the hotel's murky past and face up to their own. But getting too close could end their careers. Can Briony and Zach find a way to let in love? Or will secrets and lies crush their chance of happiness?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Stolen Kisses At The Loch View Hotel' by Margaret Amatt.


Read and reviewed for Margaret Amatt, Leannan Press and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 11th February 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It is also the first book in 'The Glenbriar' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Leannan Press. I have yet to read a book published by Leannan Press that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 31 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in Scotland on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that Kennedy has based the book on.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Briony Dalgleish and Zach Somerton. The benefits of third person perspective with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


What an absolute stunner from the extremely talented Margaret!!! Well done Margaret on absolutely beautiful and perfect read!! This is the ideal beach read where you could sit there and turn around and just imagine the Loch view hotel.


The book is extremely well written with beautiful descriptions that completely drew me in. The synopsis and the cover match the storyline perfectly!!


The storyline itself completely swept me away. It is filled with love, disasters, drama, romance and everything you could ask for in a stunning must read. It kept me turning the pages late at night. I really enjoyed having the insights into both Briony and Zach's life's and what they got up to in the stunning Scottish Highlands. Margaret's evocative writing skills ensures the readers are absolutely sucked into the stunning storyline with the atmosphere and characters coming to life all around them.. I absolutely fell in love venturing into the Loch View Hotel and the Scottish Highlands and Margaret portrays life in a small village absolutely perfectly I became so invested in this book that it actually felt like going on a holiday and I absolutely dreaded coming to the end where I had to unpack my suitcase and get back to reality. It was an absolutely compelling and addictive heart lifting read that kept me turning the pages until late at night. I loved discovering the pasts and histories of the characters and the hotel and I was absolutely swept away in the story line. The hotel and the Highlands came to life around me and I cannot wait to return in the next book in what promises to be an absolutely stunning series. The ending was absolutely perfect and I cannot wait for the second book!! This book would make a beautiful movie!! I haven't been to Scotland for a long time but my son keeps asking to go and this book has tempted me even more. I absolutely adored the theme of second chances and the fact that there is a very naughty dog running around making Briony's job a lot harder than it already is definitely adds to this fantastic read!! I am a huge animal lover and run a cat rescue so any book that involve animals, naughty or not are a huge bonus for me!! An absolutely gorgeous, cute and addictive start to what promises to be a stunning series!!


Do not turn a single page of this book until you have cleared your schedules and when you do get ready to go on a stunning holiday you will not want to leave!!


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


I became completely invested in the characters, along with the storyline, who were all absolutely fantastic with their own individual personalities and quirks. They all started feeling like friends so quickly having got to meet and know so many of them so well. I felt like I was leaving amazing people and friends and feel quite sad about that but am happy in the knowledge that Margaret is hopefully writing her next book and bringing them alive as I write this (hint hint Margaret 😉). I loved watching how Briony and Zach's characters and personalities develop and go from strength to strength from the first page to the last. I also adored watching Zach and Briony getting closer and seeing the sparks between them. Margaret's is an absolutely phenomenal writer and her talent ensures that these and the other characters all leap off the pages and come to life in front of your eyes! I thought the fact that Zach is nerdy was absolutely adorable although is mother was not one of my favourite characters at all! My favourite character though just has to be the very mischievous Becker who I j ust cannot wait to meet again and see what he gets up to in the next book!! I cannot wait to meet most of them again in the next book in this series which I really, really, really hope is not going to take too long to come out!!!This is one of those series which could go on and on and I wouldn't get bored. Here's to meeting them all again along with the next new faces of Loch Cameron!!


Congratulations Margaret on an absolutely gorgeous success!!! Im definitely looking forward to my next holiday to Glenbriar!!! Welcome to my favourite author club and here is to your next success!!!


Overall this is a perfect, stunning, page turning beach or fireplace read with a great gang of characters including a naughty dog that will sweep you away to the Scottish Highlands from the very first page to the end!



Genres covered in this novel include Travel In The United Kingdom, Parenting & and Family Humour, Family Relationship, Rural Life Humour, Women's Romance Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Romance Novel, Humorous Fiction, Humorous Romance, Romantic Fiction, Travel Writing, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour, Men, Men, Women & and Relationship Humour, Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy, Women's Literary Fiction and Holiday Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of as well as fans of Fiona Valpy, Lucinda Riley, Barbara O’Neal., Jojo Moyes, Debbie Macomber, Susanne O’Leary, Pamela Kelly, Nancy Thayer. Amanda Prowse, Diane Chamberlain, Shari Low, Veronica Henry, Heidi Swain, Nicholas Sparks and any lovers of a book that you can float away with at the beach!!!


288 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, and free on kindle unlimited and £9.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@StolenKissesAtTheLochViewHotel @MargaretAmatt @TheGlenbriarSeries @LeannanPress @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86



https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86




Author Bio –


Margaret is a Scottish author and chocolate lover who has been writing stories for over twenty years (possibly more if you count her primary school efforts). Her early works will never see the light of day and are locked in dusty vaults on some old floppy disks. But after all those years of practise, Margaret released her first novel A Winter Haven in 2021. This is the first of a ten-book series set on the gorgeous Scottish Isle of Mull.


The stories are unashamedly romantic but with lots of drama and an eclectic mix of characters. Each book can be read as a standalone but followers of the series will enjoy catching up with previous characters.


A new spin-off series based in the Scottish Highlands is coming out in 2023.



Social Media Links –










Purchase Links











9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page