top of page

Song For Someone by KD Sherrinford. Review


Book Description


Charlotte Sapori has led a wonderful life safely tucked in the bosom of her family. Her mother, Irene Adler, is a renowned opera singer, while her father, Lucca Sapori, does important government work that frequently takes him away from them. Charlotte is close to her older brother, Nicco, and they are both doted on by their parents. All is well until her mother receives an unexpected diagnosis which shakes the family's core.

Knowing herself to be dying, Adler confesses to Charlotte things that have long been kept from her, telling her to find and read her diary. A distressed Lucca Sapori tells his daughter to read his as well. And by the way, Lucca Sapori is not his real name; in fact, she may have heard of him; he is actually the world-famous detective Sherlock Holmes.


Charlotte finds both diaries and plunges into the hidden world of Irene Adler and Sherlock Holmes as she discovers what brought them together and how they managed to stay together for thirty years, having to battle the odds.





BOOK REVIEW




Review for 'Song For Someone' by KD Sherrinford.




Read and reviewed for KD Sherrinford, Zooloos book tours and Extasy Books.



Publication date 25th November 2022.




This is KD Sherrinford's debut novel. It is also the first book in the 'Sherlock Holmes And Irene Adler Mysteries' series.



This novel consists of a prologue, 62 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO KD SHERRINFORD ON AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVELY PAGE TURNING GORGEOUS FANTASTIC READ.



AN absolutely successful unputdownable historical mystery by the very talented KD Sherrinford. I'm always a bit dubious with books based historically as I worry about not being able to 'deal' with the language used but I absolutely love how KD has written her book. The language used is perfectly suited to the era whilst being easy to read. The atmosphere and descriptions were perfect. The synopsis and cover also suit the storyline.




The first thing I have got to say is an absolutely HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to the amazing author KD Sherrinford!! I was absolutely mind blown when I had finished this epic page turner and I went to add the rest of her books to my Amazon wish list only to discover that THIS is her DEBUT novel!!! I mean just WOW fairplay!!! If THIS is what you can create for your very first book then I just cannot wait to see what on Earth you will come out with next!!!! This book is an absolutely fantastic, addictive and action packed historical mystery that grips your attention from the first sentence all the way to the fantastic epilogue!! I must admit that this is not my usual type of book but when I seen it I thought I would give it a try and I am extremely glad that I did as I absolutely LOVED IT!!! If this isn't the sort of book you would pick up then don't let that out you off, expand your literature genres and you will not regret it!!! This book had me hooked from the first page to the last. There was so much going on that I just couldn't stop turning the pages and as soon as I said just this last chapter and then bed something happened that meant I just had to read another one. It is absolutely rammed with romance, crime, mystery, drama, secrets, emotions, history, loss, friendship, family, heartache and everything you could want in a gorgeous historical page turner. I loved how the book has multiple timelines and we get to see what is going on in the present with Charlotte, her brother Nicco and her parents 'Lucca' and Irene and we then time travel back in time via Irene Adler's journal and get to meet the famous Sherlock Holmes ane Doctor Watson. KD weaved the timelines together perfectly drip feeding the reader information in just the right amounts. KD has thoroughly researched her subject, history and Arthur Conan Doyle's works and the fact that she has absolutely shines through the storyline in the settings, events and so much more!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS KD!! It is a pet hate of mine when the author fails to research their chosen topic and it is filled with unnecessary mistakes that could have been easily avoided. KD's fantastic, talented and evocative writing skills draws the reader into the storyline and brings the characters, setting and storyline to life!!! There were so many times I was so absorbed that when I looked up from the book it took me a few moments to realise where I actually was! There were many moments my heart was in my throat wondering what was going to happen next and the ending was absolutely perfect. I don't read an awful lot of historical books but after reading this one I cannot wait to get stuck into more books in what is promising to be an addictive series. I cannot wait to get stuck in to the next book in this series 'Christmas At The Saporis' which I'm off to read next so keep your eyes peeled for my review!!!!



It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.



The characters were all larger than life and realistic. KD's writing brings each and every one of them to life. My heart went out to Irene on so many occasions I lost count. I loved watching the relationships change and develop between all the characters especially between Irene and Sherlock as how it started was the complete opposite to how it ended!!! It was also lovely to see the relationships between all the rest of the characters but the one between Sherlock and Irene was the main focus. Irene was such a fighter and such an amazing and intriguing woman it was fascinating getting to know her through her journal entries. I absolutely loved seeing all the different sides to Sherlock from Detective to husband to father as well as getting to know his personality in a different light from other books. They both had fantastic chemistry and their interactions were humorous at times and dramatic at others. I absolutely loved the banter between them as well as getting to meet the other major and minor characters in the present as well as the past. They all had a part to play and they all played their parts perfectly. There were characters that angered me, others that made me laugh and many that I loved. I won't say any more about the characters as I don't want to give anything away. However, regardless of of you love them or hate them they all worked perfectly to make this such an explosive start to a promising series I cannot wait to meet some of them again and see what they get up to in the next "episode".



If you are looking for an absolutely gorgeous and addictive page turning historical then your in the right place!!



Welcome to my favourite historical author Club KD Sherrinford. A page turning and unputdownable success! A fantastic start to a promising new series and an absolutely amazing debut novel!! Here's to your next success 🥂!!




Overall an easy to read, beautiful, powerful and intriguing page turning historical mystery that will keep you up late at night.




363 pages.




This book is just £2.92 to purchase on kindle and £11.14 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@SongForSomeone @SherlockHolmesAndIreneAdlerMysteries @KDSherrinford @KDSherrinfordAuthor @KDSherrinfordAuthor.co.uk @ExtasyBooksInc @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger





















Author Bio


KD Sherrinford was born and raised in Preston, Lancashire, and now resides on The Fylde Coast with her husband John.

She was employed by Countywide for over 20 years and became a Fellow of The National Association of Estate Agents.

Retirement finally gave KD the opportunity to follow her dreams and start work on her first novel. “Song for Someone.”


KD recently completed her second book in the Sherlock Holmes and Irene Adler mystery series, “Christmas at The Saporis”,The third Meet Me In Milan will be published this summer.





Social Media Links









Purchase Links









8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page