top of page

Something Like Murder by Ashley Brandt. Review.


Book Description


When two of Corinth’s oldest residents turn up murdered, Da Vinci and his sidekick team up to uncover the truth behind the murders.

Denali crosses paths with the newest resident in town, the gorgeous Alex Plummer and Da Vinci fears his housemate has fallen for a killer. However, as always, nothing in Corinth is as it seems, and the killer may be much closer to home than they ever suspected!



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Something Like Murder' by Ashley Brandt.


Read and reviewed for Ashley Brandt, Blossom Spring Publishing and Zooloo's Book Tours.


Publication date 20th September 2023.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Secrets Of The Deadwood' Series' but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in this series 'The Secrets Of The Deadwoods' and 'Creatures Of Chaos' and would highly recommend them both!



What an absolutely fantastic addition to this absolutely fantastic series!!!


I will start by saying that this isn't my usual choice of genre so I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about the storyline but I was looking forward to trying it out and I am very please to say I did as I thoroughly enjoyed reading it!! This is the second book in the 'Secrets Of Deadwood' series and is an absolutely gripping, chilling and page turning addition to this fantastic series. The storyline is unique, fast paced, action packed and Ashley's fantastic and evocative writing skills and descriptions take you on an adventure with Da Vinci and Denali. The storyline is filled with murder, fantasy, mystery, friendship, suspense, action and everything you could ask for in an unputdownable page turner. There was a great mix of laughter, tears, annoyance, fear and a range of emotions between the characters, some of which easily transfer to the reader. It is a short book and a very quick read with a cliff hanger ending which leaves you in suspense leaving me thoroughly looking forward to the next book in this series which is called 'All That Remains'.


Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the first book in the series 'Secrets Of The Deadwood'. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I wasn't only invested in the storyline but also the characters. I absolutely loved that one do the main characters is a talking cat that can read it's owners mind and vice versa!! I mean I am just so mega jealous!!! I would absolutely LOVE to be able to know what on earth all my Golden Oldies Cat rescue and hospice cats are thinking and feeling, even if they do have one heck of an attitude like Da Vinci in this book!!! I mean I honestly just absolutely loved him!!! I am a HUGE animal lover myself (well I'd have to be to own a cat rescue 😂)and any books with animals playing main characters is a HUGE bonus for me and for it to be a cat with an attitude, well you just can't better!!! His owner Denali is the other main protagonist and I really liked her as well. They are both just absolutely fantastic characters who make me laugh out loud with their sarcastic, love/hate relationship!!! These are definitely characters I could meet over and over again!!!


If you enjoy books that include fantasy, crime, animals, horror or just want a good read then grab your copy today!!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read an extract of Ashley's 'All That Remains' which is the next book in this fantastic series and promises to be just as gripping as this book. It is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Congratulations Ashley on an yet another absolutely fantastic novella. I absolutely LOVE the amazing things your mind comes up with and cannot wait to read the next book in this fantastic series!!! This is why you are one of my favourite authors when I need a short read or something different!! Here's to your next success 🥂




56 pages



This book is just £3.25 to purchase on kindle and £7.25 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is a good price for this book. .



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@SomethingLikeMurder @SecretsOfTheDeadwoodSeries @AshleyBrandt @BrandtB95480105 @AshleyBrandtBooks @Ashley.Brandt.9461 @ZooLoosBookTours @BlossomSpringPublishing @ZooLoosBT @blossomspring3 @blossom.spring.publishing @BookReview @BlogTour @BooksOnTour @BookReview @BlogTour @BooksOnTour @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @Bookblogger




















Author Bio


Ashley Brandt is a Paramedic and an author living in North Texas. When she isn't reading or writing, Ashley enjoys hiking, swimming and photography. Ashley is a coffee addict and spends as much time at the bookstore as possible




Social Media Links









Purchase Link







3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page