top of page

'Somebody's daughter' by Carol Wyer

Review for 'Somebody's Daughter' by Carol Wyer


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers


You can preorder this book ready for release on 9th July.


This is the third book that I have read by this author. The first being 'The Blossom Twins' which was the 5th book in the 'Detective Natalie Ward' series. The second book was 'The secret admirer' which was the 6th and this is the 7th. I thoroughly enjoyed both of these and look forward to reading this (written before I started reading).


Although this book is the 7th in a series it can definitely be read as a standalone. There are parts where events from previous books are mentioned but it gives any sufficient details needed, including in flashbacks which I enjoyed reading even though I have read the book the event happened in. I won't say much more in case readers wish to read the previous books, I don't want to spoil it for them.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the author and the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture or Carol Wyer that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 37 chapters and a prologue which are medium in length so not too bad for 'just one more chapter', like that ever happens for me, more like 3 or 4 more!!


This book is set in England which is always a bonus for me. I'm from Wales but visit England regularly on trips and holidays so have visited quite a few areas. This helps me picture places if they are mentioned in books and I have visited them.


This series has a strong female lead which is also a bonus, being female myself it's always great to see some strong females in books.


I enjoy being able to see from several of the detectives perspectives as you can read more about more of what is going on with the case, what various witnesses and suspects say and make your own decisions on their innocence or guilt.


The writing is smooth and very easy to read. The descriptions are EXCELLENT as always and I really felt that I was in the novel. I even got teary at the end!! I enjoy the fact that flashbacks are also used to show what characters had previously done that isn't part of previous books but used to complete a picture of what was going through their heads when they were doing something, E.g. what the victim was doing at certain times. It helps to show us what led to certain events.

The characters all have fantastic personalities and I love how realistic they are. Murray made me laugh on several occasions with their attitude. Lucy seemed much more serious in this book which would be a realistic description of her as she is now DI. Its good to read more about her including more of her personal life. Natalie is as strong as ever and it's great to see more of her and Mike's relationship since she has also been promoted to DCI and I'm very happy for her. Although I'll be gutted if this means the last of Natalie Ward!! You don't 'see' Ian as much in this book but there are other characters from other departments which it was nice to 'meet', all with their own querky personalities. I also love the fact that the superintendent Dan Tasker is Welsh, being Welsh myself of course. Although it's a crime book I love that there are several parts that are more light hearted and made me laugh as it mixes it up a bit, which is something else I love about Carol's books.


The storyline was fast paced, intriguing and filled with mystery, murder, red herrings, suspense, crime and deceit. A true page turning thriller.


I didn't guess what was going to happen which is always a bonus when it comes to crime novels.... Nothing worse than working it all out before your even half way through! I was completely shocked and gutted really by what happened.... Won't say more as not to give it away. My heart also did a little flip right at the end when Natalie sees someone in the car, again won't say anymore.


Overall what a heart racing, page turning roller-coaster of a book but PLEASE DON'T LET THIS BE THE LAST OF NATALIE!!!!!!


I would recommend this book to fans of murder, crime, thrillers, suspense, fans of Carol Wyer and just anyone looking for a fantastic read!! I also recommend Carol's books to fans of Angela Marsons, C.L TAYLOR and M. J. ARLIDGE.


379 pages


£2.99 to purchase on kindle. I think this is an absolute bargain for this book by a very talented author!


Rated 5/5 ( I LOVED 😍 IT) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@carolwyer @Bookouture @Bookworm1986

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page