top of page

So Last Century by Charles Nevin. Review


Book Description



Sherlock Holmes, Butch Cassidy, Margaret Thatcher’s bloomers and a racehorse strongly resembling

Shergar feature in SO LAST CENTURY, the new collection of whimsically witty stories from award-

winning journalist and writer Charles Nevin. SO LAST CENTURY begins with Edward VII on a tricky

country house visit and ends with one of the first national lottery winners struggling with fame,

fortune and romance. On the way you will also meet two music hall comedians in the First World

War and two remarkable double agents in the Second, get raided in a 1920s London night club, take

part in some lively Coronation celebrations and discover what really might have happened when the

World Cup was stolen in 1966. SO LAST CENTURY follows the format of Nevin’s last book, the widely

praised SOMETIMES IN BATH, providing an afterword for each story which separates fiction from fact

and provides fascinating background to those breakneck, tumultuous times. And be warned: after

this, you will never view the Twentieth Century in quite the same way ever again.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'So Last Century' by Charles Nevin.




Read and reviewed for Charles Nevin, The Book Guild and Rachel's Random Resources.




Publication date 21st February 2023



This is the first book I have read by this author but it won't be my last!



This novel consists of 10 short stories each followed with a fascinating Afterword.



I will start by saying that this isn't my usual chosen genre but I'm an eclectic reader and happy to read most books. I must say that if you are the same as me and don't normally read non fiction then don't let that put you off and pick up your copy of this great book today.



Well, I must admit that this book is not quite what I was expecting!!! I wasn't sure what I was expecting at all to be honest but whatever it was this wasn't it!!! I am an eclectic reader so will give more or less anything a try although my most common read genres are crime, horror and thriller I thought I would give this book a try and am pleased I did!!! I have never come across a book at all like this and uniqueness is definitely a huge bonus!! This book consists of 10 unique, funny and definitely eccentric stories. One of the things I always enjoy about books of poems, short stories and compilations is that there is normally always something for everyone and even though you may not like some of the stories/poems there is normally several that you will enjoy and in the case of this book there were more enjoyable stories than unenjoyable ones!! The other bonus of books of short stories are that you can pick the book up throughout the day/s to pick and choose which story/stories you want to read that day or can read the whole book in one sitting. There is a great mixture of stories which start from the beginning of the 20th century and continues through the years in chronological order. Each of the stories ends with a fascinating Afterword which I loved reading as Charles gives plenty of history and information on the story just read. The stories are filled with history, laughter, entertainment, events, facts and everything you could ask for in a book!! Charles' writing talent absolutely shines through this book as he weaves fiction and fact together perfectly with a fantastic imagination that I am very pleased he has chosen to share with his readers. It had me laughing out loud on several occasions which ended up with getting a few strange looks from my partner when he was driving and I was giggling away in the passenger seat!!! Charles' really is a truly entertaining and intelligent author with great wit and humour and I'm looking forward to reading more books written by him!!!


Overall a unique, witty and fun, extremely well-written book which will have you laughing out loud at Charles' imaginative fact and fiction mixes stories!!!



434 pages


This book is £9.19 to purchase in paperback at time of review via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@SoLastCentury @CharlesNevin @TheBookGuild @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger















Author Bio


CHARLES NEVIN has written for The Guardian, The Independent on Sunday, The Daily Telegraph, The

Times, The Sunday Times,The New York Times and many others. So Last Century follows his acclaimed

Sometimes In Bath, featuring stories happy and sad throughout the city’s history. He has

also published three non-fiction books, including the highly popular tribute to the overlooked

romance of his native county, Lancashire, Where Women Die of Love.




Social Media Links







Purchase Link








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page