top of page

'Six Graves' by Angela Marsons


Description It’s a typical teenage bedroom with posters covering the walls and clothes littering the floor. But the girl lying on her bed, wearing a delicate chain around her neck, is lifeless. A circle of red stains her white vest top. How had the girl’s mother looked down at her sleeping child and pulled the trigger? When Detective Kim Stone rushes to the scene of a house fire, she’s shocked to discover it’s claimed the lives of two teenage children and their parents. But this tragedy is not quite as it seems. Each body is marked by a gunshot wound and the mother, Helen Daynes, is holding the gun. The case sparks painful childhood memories for Kim who suffered at the hands of her own abusive mother, but it just makes her more determined to uncover the truth. As Kim untangles Helen’s past, she finds a history of clinical depression. But did it drive Helen to murder her loved ones? Then Kim uncovers a tiny, vital clue in Helen’s bedroom that throws the investigation wide open. Could someone else have killed the Daynes family? Just as Kim feels she’s making progress, a deadly threat is made to her own life by a dangerous psychopath from her past. Biting back her fear, she keeps digging. And when Kim hits upon a shocking secret that changes everything she thought she knew about Helen, she realises that the remaining family members are in grave danger. Kim is under pressure like never before, and the monster circling her is getting ever closer. Four bodies already. Four graves fresh in the ground. Who will be next? Can Kim find the killer and save herself before it’s too late? An absolutely nail-biting mystery thriller that will have you gasping out loud. You won’t come up for air until you’ve reached the breathtaking final twist. Fans of Karin Slaughter, Mark Billingham and Robert Dugoni will love Six Graves.

BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Six Graves' by Angela Marsons.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Angela Marsons, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 12th May 2022.


This is the tenth book I have read by this author and it is the sixteenth book in the 'DI Kim Stone' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first 7 books in the 'DI Kim Stone' plus the fourteenth and fifteenth book which I loved and would recommend. Sadly I haven't had time to read from the 8th book until the fourteenth but will definitely be making time to as I LOVE KIM STONE!!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated 'Fans of Karin Slaughter, Mark Billingham and Robert Dugoni will love Six Graves.' I am a fan of all three of these authors especially Karin Slaughter so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this statement. I am also a MASSIVE fan of Angela Marsons and the Kim Stone series and if this is half as good as the rest it is sure to be a great read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 82 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in West Midlands, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited the West Midlands on several occasions so am looking forward to see if I recognise anywhere.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Detective Kim Stone and Symes. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Six Graves' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Angela discusses/includes strong language and graphic scenes.


OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO US ANGELA!!!! JUST WOW!!!! Seriously love, love LOVED this book!!!! Although, shouldn't be so shocked, it is Angela Marsons and Kim Stone after all!!!! Anyway, on with the review shall I....


Angela's style of writing is absolutely fantastic. She has a way in which she completely absorbs the reader into the book with vivid and graphic descriptions that have you completely lost in the plot. It is the type of book that when you finish you look around and wonder where you are and how is nobody else reacting to the bombshell that has just been dropped!!! The cover IS Kim Stone for me and the name and synopsis suited the plot perfectly.


Most heart racing, nail biting, actually stopped breathing epilogue I've EVER read!!!! I mean how on earth do you do it Angela??? Every single book is more heart racing than the next and this has absolutely smashed it!!!


The storyline is an absolute rollercoaster ride through a multi layered adventure park set in the world of horror and crime!!! There's never just one case with Angela but so much going on, not too much to get you confused but just the perfect amount to keep the pace continuous. The majority of chapters end on cliffhanger so keeps reader addicted and turning pages. Although this book is the 16th book in the epic Kim Stone series it can easily be read as a standalone. I haven't had time to read from books 7 until 14 and I cannot wait to get back to her previous books I never had any point felt I'd missed out something to do with the book. Anything that had been mentioned from previous cases were explained with just the right amount of information, not too much to bore those who have read every book and just enough so new readers know what's happened. The murders and crimes are unique and morbidly intriguing. I was on the edge of my seat, biting my nails whilst feeling my heart pounding into the silly hours of the morning as this is one book that cannot be put down so clear your diaries before picking it up. It fills you with all emotions from fear to laughter, tension to shock. I was not expecting that ending at all on both cases. I was absolutely speechless and actually shouted OMG to which my partner looked at me stupid!!! My heart was in my throat the whole way through from the epilogue to the very last sentence. I just could not believe what I was reading. Well done Angela, I'm getting harder and harder to shock but you had me hook, line and sinker!!!! I seriously NEED to see these amazing books on the big screen!!


Although this is the sixteenth book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


These characters have become like friends to me and each time I meet them it feels like I haven't been far from them for long. Kim and her fierce attitude, DCI Woodward and his stress ball, the hatred for Tracy Frost and so much more. Had me giggling straight away which is brilliant considering it's a crime novel. I love it when authors put some comedy in these novels as it lightens it up at times and Kim's attitude really does make me smile. Angela creates fantastic team dynamics with memorable characters who work together brilliantly and perfectly. Each character is unique and has strong personalities and they just are completely unforgettable. Randomly, its always important for me to like the pathologist in any police procedurals and to click with them as much as the main police team. Their relationship with the main protagonist is also important to me as reader. In this case the pathologist is Keats and how I love the sarcasm between him and the team and his attitude. Stacey and Penn are also strong team members and I love how they work so well together and yet wind each other up constantly. I absolutely love, love, loved Leanne and her and Kim together are absolutely fantastic. I genuinely never thought that anyone could annoy Kim as much as Leanne but Leanne definitely managed that one. I was in tears laughing at some of their conversations, especially the Toaster!!! 😂 😂 😂 Angela please make Leanne a more permanent member of the team I cannot wait to see these two at it again!!!


A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS ANGELA MARSONS!!! As always you have done the research and you have created what I can guarantee will be one of the best read books ever!! When are you going to bring Kim to the big screen??? I hope your busy writing cause I cannot wait to get my hands on your next success!!! Seriously what are you waiting for guys??? Stop reading this and get your copy now!!!! This is exactly why you and this series are in my favourite 3!!! You are absolutely amazing and I hope you are busy on your next success because I'm missing the gang already!!!


Overall an absolutely amazing psychological thriller of epic proportions that will keep your heart pounding all night. This is one of the best books I have ever read!!!! An absolute MUST READ!!!



Some of my favourite quotes in this book include the following:


😂 Way too many for me to include!!! I'd end up adding the whole book and giving too much away



Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Police Procedural and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of page turning, heart pounding, non stop, unputdownable crime books that will shock you!!!!



424 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVE LOVE LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AngelaMarsons @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86







https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/



Author bio Angela Marsons is the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author of the DI Kim Stone series and her books have sold more than 5 million in 7 years. She lives in Worcestershire with her partner and their 2 cheeky Golden Retrievers. She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read "Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people's". After years of writing relationship based stories (The Forgotten Woman and Dear Mother) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away. She is signed to Bookouture.com for a total of 28 books in the Kim Stone series and her books have been translated into more than 27 languages. Many of her books, including Blood Lines, Dead Souls, Broken Bones, Fatal Promise and Dead Memories reached the #1 spot on Amazon on pre-orders alone and the translation of Dead Souls, La Verita Sepolte, recently won the prestigious Primo Bancarella award. Sign up to receive information about Bookouture Deals: https://www.bookouture.com/bookouture-deals/ Sign up to Angela’s mailing list: http://angelamarsons-books.com/email/ Website: http://angelamarsons-books.com/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AngelaMarsonsAuthor/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/writeangie Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/angiemarsons/



Buy links:


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page